We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Lodge”
Review of Mkuze Falls Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mkuze Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mkuze Falls Lodge
Muscat
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First Class Lodge”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and i would say this is the most exotic hotel that i have ever stayed in. the beautiful chalet with balcony facing a lake which is lit up in the night. you can spot the crocodiles and hippos from your room.. beautiful view from the room with a plunge pool and the shower facing the lake are fabulous. Restaurant is good and they serve one game meat in dinner. The boma dinner was excellent. As we were Indians the chef tried to serve indianish meals to us which i appreciate. the hotel provides 2 complementary game drives each day, one in the morning and one in the evening, apart from that one can choose a bush walk or fishing. internet is complementary and the staffs were very friendly. as the hotel has very limited rooms the staffs were able to take personal care of us. I rate this as a 5* and i will strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barani007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We had such a wonderful time here. The service was more than 5 star, the best we have ever received anywhere, with attention to every detail. We were in Chalet 5, and it was so beautifully decorated and clean with privacy and a wonderful view of the falls.
The entire lodge was clean and decorated so well with attention to every detail too.
The food was wonderful, but we ate way too much as we are always being served something delicious.
The game drives we so good, We was 4 of the Big 5, missing the leopard....but the 4 cheeta brothers made up for that. We were shown how they actually track the animals to find them for us to see. It was really awesome.
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GojiAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We had a most enjoyable time here. The whole site is well run - excellent game drives with skilled and responsive guide and tracker who know the huge reserve intimately and make every effort to satisfy their guests, good and comfortable accommodation, and a restaurant/bar amongst the best we have experienced on game reserves. Great all round.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

For our 4th trip back to SA we added Mkuze Falls to our itinerary. I blanched a bit at the price, its not cheap but the combination of the big 5 and the views from the rooms over the falls won me over.

Was it a mistake? No!

From the minute you park the car the place is quality. The staff are charming, the decor is everything you want an African Bush Lodge to be. You half expect to bump into Clark Gable in the lounge!

The bedrooms are stunning each with its own balcony overlooking the falls and an outdoor tub and shower.

Meals are nicely pitched, not too fussy but great flavours and presentation, served in the atmospheric dining room or out on the terrace. (With gaslights and quite a lot of bugs!)

The game drives are a highlight, superb guides and superb scenery. Plenty of varied habitats. We hoped to have great wildlife encounters, but it was even better than that. Cheetahs, large prides of lions, baby giraffes..... I won't go on but it was brilliant, the best of the 5 reserves I have visited.

The sundowner drinks are the best I have had, off the back of the jeep as the sun sets its one of life's great experiences.

And when you return nice touches like warm towels and a hot bath run for you.

All in all I can't recommend Mkuze Falls highly enough, if I could afford it I would stay for a week every year.

This is a quality resort you should really try!

Thank you all at Mkuze, as someone in the hotel trade I take my hat off to you, its great.

All the best from the Malcolm's

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

I'm really surprised at the one or two negative reviews that I've just seen as Mkuze Falls Lodge was in my view the most fantastic experience I've had on any holiday. Having been to a number of game reserves in the past (when we lived in SA) , I expected to see the odd lion in the distance, lots of impala and possibly a couple of elephants. The game drives absoluted blew us away! The guide knew just where to go and how close to get, With the exception of leopards, we had fantastic sightings of the other 4 of the big 5. The tented lodge had little in common with a tent and the food and service was great!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Our South African son in law booked our trip. There were eight of us (all seasoned travellers) and we all agree that this was the best holiday/trip that we have ever had. My wife and I like some luxury in our accommodation and we love good service. We certantly got both at Mkuze. The game drives were so exciting and made more so by the knowledgeable staff, comfort, snacks, hot chocolate/coffee. I could write quite a lot of positive comments about Mkuze, however I think it best to just say that we will go back and considering that we live in eastern Australia, it is quite a trip (2 days) for us to get there, that is some recommendation..

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank survivorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I must agree with all the POSITIVE remarks form other visitors, My wife and I were really spoiled by EVERYONE at MKuze Lodge. I cannot fault it in any way. There were a number of overseas visitors (from UK, USA and Germany) and they were all thoroughly impressed and swore that they were going to come back come hell or high weather! I was asked several questions about various places in South Africa especially the Kruger National Park. I told them that nowhere would one have such excellent close views of Lions and Elephants as in MkuzeFalls Game Reserve. Having been a keen birder for many years I was impressed with the bird life and also the knowledge of our guide, Jabulani.All in all a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WimJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze Game Reserve
22.8 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
386 reviews
22.4 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
7.3 mi away
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
#1 of 11 in Pongola
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
24.2 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mkuze Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mkuze Falls Lodge

Property: Mkuze Falls Lodge
Address: Mkuze Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mkuze Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mkuze Falls Hotel Mkuze Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing