We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mkuze Falls Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mkuze Game Reserve
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Ghost Mountain Inn(Mkuze)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayete Zulu Boutique Lodge(Manyoni Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp(Hluhluwe Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
114
19
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
19
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesthe riveroutdoor showergame reservehigh teaother guestsbirthday cakelow seasonelusive leopardfood is excellentour night stayyou will not be disappointedpolite staffgreat knowledgeamazing sightingsbig gamedining area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spend three nights here.
We have seen over sixty game reserves and lodges in Africa but Mkuze Falls Game Lodge reached the top.
The level of management, staff efficiency and quality is definitely worth an example to many other places in South Africa and even right up to Kenya.
From arrival until we left, we were looked after without disturbing us in our privacy.
Each chalet is built in such a way that it does not see the other chalet. They have a splendid view over the Mkuze River and Falls and make you feel as if you were alone in the bush. The service are definitely outstanding. Clean, missing nothing, even the bathwater was filled in just before our arrival into the room from the game drive. We did not find a single spider cob in any of the facilities although everything is thatched.
All staffs are naturally friendly, educated, well qualified and competent.
The food is definitely not boring, varied, well prepared and with a great choices.

The morning and late afternoon game drive were marvellous; wildlife is great. The rangers are very knowledgeable, attentive to our interests and wishes, pleasant and keen to satisfy us.

The lodge is small with a few chalets only and that is exactly what makes everything personal and “cosy”! Each guest is treated in an exceptional manner and everybody has time for you. They is no rush or sorry I have to,……!

We met everybody from the cleaner to the Manager!
We can only recommend that Game Lodge but advise you to stay a minimum of two nights.
Thank you, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All chalets/rooms have something special. Any stay shorter than two preferably three nights, is a waste of time!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great Hotel, Great View, Good Food and Drink, , the view spectacular and the staff did such an amazing job at making sure that we were well taken care of and comfortable.

The Room and Bathroom are beautiful, huge and clean and when we checked in a hot bath was prepared and waiting for us

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monicaVini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Despite many luxury game lodge options available, we find ourselves going back to Mkuze Falls Private Game Reserve (not to be confused with the state owned Mkuze Game Reserve). On each visit, we have managed to see Cheetah, lion, elephant, buffalo as well as the elusive leopard. The rangers are amazing; they are friendly, keen to share information and very knowledgable. A morning game drive and an evening game drive offer two different experiences. The food is world class and the accommodation is amongst the best you will find in any game lodge. Being a 'small' lodge with limited rooms, each guest is given special treatment. I can't wait for my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Took my husband here to celebrate his 60th birthday and was rewarded with the experience of a lifetime - or certainly the first sixty years! We spent three nights here, took advantage of all of the twice daily three-hour game drives, and enjoyed every minute. Our rangers, Pen and Norman, were phenomenal: knowledgeable about flora and fauna, and with incredibly keen eyesight. Not only did we see all of the big five, but they also spotted amazing little creatures, like a chameleon sitting on the branch of a tree that we drove by...how incredible is that?! ALL of the staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful, and their warmth and smiles made our stay feel extra special, and were even more impressive than the accommodations, which were gorgeous and luxurious in a style entirely appropriate for safari. The only thing that wasn't to our taste were the sauces on the food at dinner - too sweet - but this is trivial compared to all our enjoyment, and is only mentioned in case some alternatives can be offered in the future. We would DEFINITELY stay here again, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are a limited number of chalets, which keeps the number of guests very small, which only adds to the overall enjoyment. Every room feels secluded and private.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beckaboo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Heavy rains Prior to my arrival meant not only the the lodges name sake, the Mkuze Falls, were in full flow, but the bush was also lush and thick. This I thought would make game viewing difficult. However the skills of Jabulani, our ranger and Mbuso our tracker meant that we got to see so much. Even elephants are not easy to spot but we encountered several including one particularly big bull in musth. In very long grass a pair of cheetah were spotted. They did not to be botthered at all by our presence and only lifted their heads to check us out. When navigating the reserves airstrip there was always something to see. Bird life including Plovers, Guinea Fowl and Whalbergs Eagles were there during the day. Warthogs, zebra and impala plus jackals were also present in numbers. As darkness fell it was a different story. With three lions appearing from the long grass and laying down close to our vehicle it explained why no other animals were present. The lodge itself has a rustic outer appearance and luxurious interiors. My room was big and looked over the falls below. There was also a private plunge pool and outdoor shower. The food was excellent and includes, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. I did feel a little guilty about having impala for dinner but it was excellent!

Room Tip: All rooms come with a great view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SafariKZN-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews