We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice cafe”
Review of Cafe des Delices

Cafe des Delices
Ranked #20 of 24 Restaurants in Sidi Bou Said
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A nice cafe”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

While reading other reviews of this place, I must say that my experience was very different.
It might be due to a fact that we arrived to the cafe as a group of 20 people and they were expecting us.

We didn't go outside, but stayed inside, where we enjoyed the colorful interior and hot mint tea.

The price of the tea was already included in the tour, so I don't know if it was expensive or not.

But for me, it was a lovely experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    83
    84
    85
    165
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

View is outstanding but service is bad and prices are extremely expensive,more expensive than hotel prices and service is poor,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamel z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ripoff”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, this cafe is doing a disservice to our ailing tourism industry.... the view is amazing, and you'll pay dearly to enjoy it - Prices are exuberantly and un justifiably high.

Helpful?
Thank Mourad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay away! Massive ripoff!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Anyone hoping to enjoy a magnificent view over the port of Sidi Boussaid should know that it won't be without a hefty price...on many levels.
As if having to pay obscene amounts of money for very ordinary drinks wasn't bad enough, the ever-so absent but oh-so unpleasant waiters force you to buy stuff you don't even want just because they don't think you're ordering enough food/drinks.
Just ask the waiters about the price and see their angry faces get angrier.
And don't get me started on the brown dirty glasses and the inaccessible WC.
All of it would've been forgiven had the owners taken notes of the customers' numerous complaints, but it seems they (they're not ever the real owners) are busier with spouting abuse at people criticizing their ways than trying to change matters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“bad bad bad ...”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very bad services, the highest prices ever
mauvais service, des prix flagrants
schlechten Service, hohen Preis

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahmoud T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe des Delices also viewed

Sidi Bou Said, Tunis Governorate
Sidi Bou Said, Tunis Governorate
 
Sidi Bou Said, Tunis Governorate
La Marsa, Tunis Governorate
 
La Marsa, Tunis Governorate
La Marsa, Tunis Governorate
 

Been to Cafe des Delices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing