We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice small hotel”
Review of Hotel Bou Fares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bou Fares
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sidi Bou Said
Reviewed 3 January 2014

the courtyard is nice and the room is too simple. my friend saw a mouse running through the head of bed over him....compared to the level of tunisia, the hotel is overpriced. but the entire level in this small part of the town is higher than the other cities in the country. So not bad for staying one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yijian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

As another reviewer said, this is not really a hotel but rather a guest house. The rooms are tiny albeit nicely tiled, the bathrooms are even tinier so that no more than one person fits, there are no amenities. They do have Wifi, but not in the rooms (when we were there it only worked in the small, dark reception entrance and not in the nice courtyard as some have written here). The courtyard is indeed nice but I do not need to spend money to hang around in a courtyard whilst there is a beautiful village and sea a few meters away and you cannot order food or drinks in the 'Hotel'. Something that also bugged me was that the room had a big window to the courtyard but the curtains were kind of transparent. Because all rooms are on the ground floor, at night I did not feel very comfortable with people outside of the window able to clearly see into the room. The old man, who seemed to be the boss, was a lovely and welcoming person. The other staff member were a big apathetic, both over the phone as in person. I guess the unique selling point of this hotel is that there are simply not many alternatives to staying in Sidi Bou Said.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Has quaint old world charm until you open the door to your room and old, musty and not clean waft out...dark, dingy, which is sad because the town is anything but, however, this is not a good choice...even for the one night we were there...bathroom barely can fit...didn't even want to take a shower there...it's got a funky kind of feel, but the dusty, tired, frayed and barely any light to function make this not an option to recommend...our daughter asked to switch rooms, and the second choice was no better...for my wife and I...hard to navigate the small space...and bed/pillows, well...go elsewhere...no amenities...

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Slightly on the expensive side but nice tiled, characterful rooms around a stunning courtyard with amazing old fig tree in the centre. Good location near Cafe des Nattes. Nice simple breakfast in the courtyard but no other amenities (no bar, cafe etc). The man at reception is really nice and helpful, while other staff are fairly low key, which I don't really mind. If you like cats, look out for the young siblings who are always on the lookout for a warm knee to sit on.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

As a hotel I would classify the Sidi Bou Fares as poor and expensive as there is not hotel service provide, breakfast and rooms are really simple, etc. I believe I would give a better review considering a guest house. Still expensive as I paid more than in a 5 stars hotel in Hammamet but as there is only 3 hotels in this city it is what it is. The place is charming, you really feel you are a in Tunisia and can enjoy some quite moments where the main attraction become the cats that love to be around you. It is lovely to have the breakfast seating just out of your room near the other guests who are normally reading a book and just enjoying the feel home place. The staff was very nice to me but and just 1 min from the hotel you can find all the little shops and have a nice view of this blue city! I do not recommend it for older people as the taxi drops you down hill and I was with my mum who is 73yo so had to care both out bags up and down when arriving and leaving the hotel No help available! It is really close to the train station so you can visit the other small villages around and also reach Tunis easily for a day trip! If I had to go back there I would chose a bigger hotel in Cartage and just visit Sid bous Said for a day that is more than enough.

Room Tip: There are only 12 rooms and they probably are pretty much the same. They are charming and clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Each room has a table and chairs available to it as part of a central courtyard. Wifi only works in the courtyard area. Ours was a small bedroom with a swingdoor to the small shower room. Great hot water. Mesh over the bedroom windows would be helpful to avoid mosquitos although there is air conditioning. Acceptable breakfast. For a tourist orientated Sidi Bou Said it is an okey place to stay. Reception staff were present and that seemed to be about it. Great trouble trying to make (in French) our telephone reservation and all emails were unanswered. No immediate parking in the area and somewhat steep (with luggage) approach to the hotel. Sidi Bou Said is best around 830/9am in the morning as later it is over run by day trippers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here one night and then moved to another hotel. It was too uncomfortable here and certainly not worth the price. The rooms are tiny, with barely room for a suitcase. The bathroom is so tiny you have to keep the bathroom door open to bend down to the sink. The shower is suffocating. And this is for a double room! Also the room is dark and musty, no air conditioning and tiny windows. The only redeeming feature would be the cute tiles and courtyard. However, the staff was very curt, unfriendly and treated us like we were in a crowded grocery store check out line.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidi Bou Said
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Said
Hotel Dar Said
#2 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa Bleue
La Villa Bleue
#1 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
1.4 mi away
Dar el Marsa
Dar el Marsa
#2 of 6 in La Marsa
158 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Tunis
Ramada Plaza Tunis
#2 of 11 in Gammarth
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bou Fares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bou Fares

Address: 15,rue Sidi Bou Fares, Sidi Bou Said 2026, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Sidi Bou Said
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sidi Bou Said
Price Range: £37 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bou Fares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidi Bou Fares Hotel
Sidi Bou Fares Said

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing