We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing weekend a real find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The English Wine Centre, Green Oak Barn Boutique Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The English Wine Centre, Green Oak Barn Boutique Rooms
Ranked #2 of 3 Berwick B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing weekend a real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We spent a fantastic weekend here - Colin and Christine made us really welcome the food was fantastic the atmosphere really convivial and so friendly but not intrusive - everyone was really attentive and the knowledge of the wines was exceptional - we can't wait to go back again and have recommended it already to lots of people - just hope it doesn't get so popular we can't get booked in. It has been a real find and the best experience in years of travelling - well done

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for a Friday night in August and had a great time. Our room, Plum, was comfortably furnished and it's good to see from the photos that all rooms have their own character.

The weather was very warm so we had our starter and main course outside in the courtyard before moving inside for dessert. My husband had a starter of goat's cheese and vegetables which he declared to be the best he'd had in a long time. My potted salmon and trout with pumpernickel was also very tasty. For main course I chose the seafood linguine which was bursting with flavour and my husband loved the rosemary mashed potato which his lamb was presented on. We finished with an extensive cheese board and chocolate brownie, both very good. All the food is locally sourced.

Colin was a great host, bringing out a selection of reds for my husband to choose to go with his lamb. He also suggested an apple aperitif to complement the cheese board.

Breakfast the next morning was very generous and kept us full all day. We started with granola, compote and yoghurt and were then offered croissants before being served with a full English breakfast.

As the weather was exceptionally warm we would have loved either a fan or air conditioning in the rooms but that's only a very minor quibble.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire and Afandou Trapezia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Last weekend we enjoyed a stay here for my daughter's wedding, We could not have wished for a better place. The whole day was a success from our arrival to departing the following day. This is a beautiful place with a great setting for the wedding in the Oak Barn. We had a marquee for the reception adjacent to the barn on one side. On the near side of the barn on the lawned gardens the guests relaxed in beautiful weather (not guaranteed) and the transition from afternoon to evening was great. The staff were most helpful and we all managed to work to time with their help and co-operation.
The food was most enjoyable and served with efficiency. The wine which had been chosen at a tasting a few weeks previously was an excellent representation of how good English wines can be. Red and white complemented the meal perfectly.
A good night's sleep was had in a luxury room in the new Green Oak Barn.
Sunday morning was relaxed and breakfast lived up to the high standards of the venue.
A memorable weekend made all the more special because of the venue.

Room Tip: Look at the list and descriptions and choose what is suitable for you. All 5 rooms are upstairs but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_VillaThea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

What a cracking place. We discovered the centre because we're regular visitors to the charming Drusillas Zoo and Park next door, and we were always tempted by the Sunday lunch sign outside. What we found during our two-night stay was a lovely, modern boutique hotel, with beautiful accommodation and some seriously good food and wine to be enjoyed too.

Rooms are in a five-bedroom modern "barn", all upstairs with a large common space including a big table and full bar downstairs (this would suit a small-scale retreat for friends or business associates). Food is served in another, older and thatched barn next door. The decor is subtle and very tasteful, and the fittings of the highest standard. There's good coffee (and tea) making facilities in the room, and they'll bring you fresh milk on request.

We brought our young family in tow and, while I'd suggest couples and adult groups will derive the most pleasure from the place (after all, the young ones weren't trying the wine) the kids were made to feel most welcome by the owner, who also served us breakfast and dinner.

The setting, on the South Downs, is lovely. And it's very, very handy for Drusillas next door, whose animals you can hear waking up first thing in the morning from the Wine Centre's manicured gardens.

Room Tip: They're all good, although there's one very large grand room if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Completetosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

As part of a group of four couples, we spent a thoroughly enjoyable weekend at the English Wine Centre on 11/12 February.

Our room in the Green Oak Barn couldn't be faulted: it was tastefully decorated, the fixtures and fittings were of a very high standard and, as has been mentioned elsewhere in these reviews, the bed was wonderfully comfortable. Having also seen our friends' rooms, it is evident that the owners have spared no expense in creating well-appointed accommodation with individually designed rooms, each finished to a very high standard whilst still having a homely feel. We all agreed that Green Oak Barn was as good as the very best we've stayed in and is a credit to their establishment.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, the service was first class, and the owners, Colin and Christine, proved to be excellent hosts who made us feel at home from the outset.

The wine tasting was both informative and fun - both experts who were on hand clearly knew their stuff. All the meals we had there - from that with the wine tasting, the evening meal through to breakfast the following morning - were delicious.

A wonderful and relaxing stay - we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleyboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saul (Glocester, UK)
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here for one night in order to attend a friends wedding. The wner was delighted to show us around, and we found the whole experience 'one to remember', inclding a stunning 'breakfast in bed' at (seemingly!) no extra charge!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iannellieneville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at The English Wine Centre in a beautifully decorated room which was extremely comfortable. All of the amenities were to a very high standard and so much thought had been put into making our stay very enjoyable, including the lovely tea and coffee in the room.

Our pillows, always a problem for me as usually they're far too hard, were just right for both my husband and I and the mattress was wonderful - we were both exhausted when we arrived after a long journey and immediately had a siesta which was hard to end as we were both so cosy.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious and enjoyed immensely by both of us. Colin, the owner, is very friendly and couldn't do enough to assist us, even though he was very busy with a wedding taking place at the same time.

We travel a great deal and stay in numerous hotels throughout the world and we both agreed that this was one of the best places we've stayed in for a very long time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick
1.2 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crossways Hotel
Crossways Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast
Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Alfriston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Wine Centre, Green Oak Barn Boutique Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Wine Centre, Green Oak Barn Boutique Rooms

Property: The English Wine Centre, Green Oak Barn Boutique Rooms
Address: Alfriston Road, Berwick BN26 5QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Berwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New for 2011, Green Oak Barn has five beautifully appointed rooms, all offering glorious views of the South Downs. Two twins, two kings and one super-king, each with en-suite bathroom, have been created to offer luxurious accommodation, with one room modified for guests with disabilities. A choice of full English or continental breakfast is served in room. Free Wifi, Freeview TV, hairdryer, refreshment tray, iron and ironing board and complimentary Baylis and Harding bathroom toiletries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The English Wine Centre, Green Oak Barn Boutique Rooms Berwick, East Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing