We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bush bliss!! The best”
other traveller has booked this property
Relax in the tropical breezeway overlooking natural bush gardens with birds, wallabies and more.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the tropical breezeway overlooking natural bush gardens with birds, wallabies and more.
Air conditioned queen bedroom oozing quaintness. Bright and breezy bathroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Relax in the tropical breezeway overlooking natural bush gardens with birds, wallabies and more.
Air conditioned queen bedroom oozing quaintness.
Bright and breezy bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mandorah, Top End, Northern Territory

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo F
Northern Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bush bliss!! The best”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We spent 2 glorious dry season nights here as a family. This property is in a great spot- it feels private and secluded but it’s actually not far from everything. With 2 air conditioned bedrooms it was perfect for our family of 4. The house itself is a perfect example of top end architecture done right. The open living with the main living area under the veranda was perfect for chilling out, having shared meals, and enjoying the serenity in the hammock was the best part. The kitchen was full with everything we could ever need for our stay, to cook up our meals and stock the fridges with cool drinks that we could enjoy in our the refreshing pool. I loved how we could open up the doors and windows to create one big open space. I loved the bathroom and the louvre windows throughout kept the place cool enough to not need the aircon. We also appreciated the Weber :)
The attention to detail in the place, the impeccable cleaning, the focus on creating a variety of spaces to relax in gave us the opportunity to spend time just chilling, or spend time together.
The only thing that could have made this 100% would be having an option to keep the morning sun out of the bedrooms, maybe curtains or blinds would be better than the matchsticks. Gotta love the option of a sleep in for a holiday! And maybe a DVD player so the kids could watch a late night movie and leave us adults alone for a minute.
We cannot wait to come back and will certainly be back next dry season!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
Thank you for your review Jo and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the relaxed vibe that is ever present in our holiday house. It is a common compliment from our guests. We purposely don't provide a DVD player, essentially to encourage guests to absorb the natural surroundings, reconnect with each other and enjoy some electronic down time. Notwithstanding this, your reason for a DVD sounds justifiable. :) We look forward to your next stay. Thanks again, Chris & Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private quiet bush getaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely relaxing time for 2 nights at the beach bush retreat. For a couple looking to get away from it all it was perfect.

Chris picked us up from the ferry, dropped us off and gave us local advice on where to enjoy the beach.

If you're looking for a 'fancy resort' this isn't it. But if you're looking for a place to enjoy all to yourself (there are 'neighbours'- you are on a bush block, but they're not visible. To be honest I wandered about in very minimal clothing and felt perfectly at ease) then this is most definitely it. You'd pay the same or more for a room in a nice hotel without the seclusion.

Walk 10 mins down to the beach at sunset and you'll have the place pretty much all to yourself. It's absolutely magical (and rare). You get a bit of an insight into remote community living too.

Take your books/zines, some CD's, games and ALL the food you want to eat + drinks and you don't need to go anywhere (except the beach), it's bliss! You can get reasonably priced beer and supplies at the store too.

We loved the open air dining and couches, everything was clean and comfortable, and with the mossie coils we didn't get bitten.

The pool/cold spa was gorgeous and lovely lazy-making lying about listening to and looking for birds and wallabies. Of course the biggest delight is seeing the blue-winged kookaburra hanging about and diving for his lunch!

We loved cooking simple meals in the fully-equiped kitchen looking out onto the bush, so much light via the corner windows! You wouldn't want more than 2 people cooking in there, but even if you're 4 staying how many need to be in the kitchen at the same time?

Finally we really enjoyed waking up surrounded by the sounds of the bush. The bed was comfortable and the matchstick blinds give the bedroom a bit of a Bali feel. I'm not sure why you'd want to block that out? It's not too bright in the morning (and we are NOT early risers) and we didn't hear much noise except birds and the occasional dog bark.

Overall we'd highly recommend the bush retreat for a private truly Northern Aussie getaway. Unique and relaxing. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again whenever you are back in the Territory.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pulse8
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This property comfortably suited four adults. There is one queen bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the other, both with air-conditioning. The house flowed very nicely and had a great atmosphere, especially in the alfresco area. The pool was fantastic to be in and was a nice, intimate size, but unfortunately the pool light didn't work, despite various attempts, which was a shame because we looked forward to using it in the evening. Whilst swimming, we had a beautiful Blue Winged Kookaburra visit us from the bushland, which seemed quite tame around people. The property has laundry facilities with a clothesline which was functional. The kitchen was also functional, albeit not what you'd call an "entertainer's kitchen"; it would welcome a dishwasher and a draining board if it were to have future inclusions.

All in all it was a great experience and we'd happily stay here again if we return to the area in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandate...
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise is across the harbour”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have been coming to Wagait Beach Bush Retreat for the last few years and it is always a total delight of a weekend and getaway from Darwin.

This time was no different! I think you start to relax as soon as you walk in the door. Sue and Chris make it so nice - this time they even left a note and a bottle of champers wishing me a happy birthday - something they remembered from last year! This thoughtfulness is characteristic of the entire experience. The kitchen is perfectly equipped - even a blender to make smoothies. It's immaculately clean, the pool is spotless and there's even a resident blue winged kookaburra who comes down most nights to keep you company.The beds are comfortable and there's air con in the bedrooms but it's still a lovely, open tropical house. Wagait Beach seems a quiet place, but there's actually a lot to explore - beautiful beaches to walk on, WW2 plane wrecks, 4WD tracks and fishing for the more intrepid. Otherwise you could just lie in the hammock and read a book all day, watching the birds and the wallabies. Divine. Thanks Chris and Sue!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thanks for staying with us again, we love how you enjoy it so much. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you choose us for your birthday next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMS1323
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This place was wonderful. A peaceful little place perfect for a quick getaway.

Half of our group rode our bikes and caught the ferry across the harbour, and met the rest of our group there who had driven around from Darwin.

The property was well equipped for our group of five, with everything we needed from linen to kitchen utensils.It was also very good value for money when sharing with a group of friends.

The outdoor living area is perfect for the tropic, the pool was great for an afternoon dip, and the proximity to the beach meant it was ideal for an evening walk to catch the sunset.

Chris and Sue were very accommodating and friendly. So too was the local wildlife, with wallabies, blue-winged kookaburras and a few frogs also paying us a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Set up of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“A real hidden gem and the ultimate getaway!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I recently got married on the beach in Mandorah and upon looking for accommadation found that the Wagait Beach Bush Retreat was our only option.
We booked it as a place for the bridal party to get ready in and didn't actually intend on staying there.

Upon arrival we were instantly in awe of the property and really had not expected something so beautiful and unique.

The layout of the house is so welcoming and homely that you don't feel like you are in a stuffy hotel, but it is also simple enough that you don't feel there is any clutter or stress. There is everything you need to have a relaxing getaway.

The kitchen has all the basic appliances and crockery needed which are in good clean condition. Something that would have turned me off in this kind of environment would have been dirty or used crockery and cutlery but everything was perfect :) There is a gas oven and stove top, microwave, a clean fridge/ freezer and a beautiful breeze and view of the natural bush gardens out of the louvered windows while you are cooking/ preparing :)
The only thing I would suggest is if you are staying for a period of time to bring some disposable chinese containers for leftovers as there is no tuppaware to store in the fridge. All this is available from the shop if you aren't prepared though :)

On from the kitchen is the open deck/breezeway which was my favourite part of the house and where we spent most of our time! It has a sturdy hammock overlooking bushland, a big beautiful solid dining table, a day bed that folds out, a stereo and a tv. We spent most of our days lounging in the hammock or bed, reading books, watching tv, listening to the radio or even just the sounds of the surrounding nature. We had green tree frogs visiting us daily and even a beautiful Kookaburra coming in for scraps in the evening. It was so great to be able to relax without being cooped up indoors.

The bedrooms are simple and tidy. Made for a comfortable nights sleep. The aircons work well or if you want a natural breeze the louvered windows are big enough to open up and still get a cool nights sleep. I can honestly say that the bed in the main room is far more comfortable than my bed at home!

The bathroom is clean and tidy. The bath/shower has a big louvered window overlooking the pool and bush. Lovely if you are by yourself but if you are with friends then perhaps don't shower while others are swimming ;)

Outside of the bathroom is a small laundry and clothes line. Again, great for if you are staying for longer periods. Be sure to bring some laundry powder.

Outside features a decent sized plunge pool, bigger than your average spa. Deck chairs and a large wind up umbrella. Also a clean new bbq and outdoor table under the shady trees. Again, i would have shied away from the bbq if it was used/ dirty but it was perfect and simple.

We stayed there the night before our wedding with our 3 year old who had an absolute ball. We couldn't get her out of the pool all night. On the wedding night we offered it to some of our guests who also loved it.

Besides staying at the house we found plenty of other activities to do around Mandorah. We went for walks along the beach and explored the rockpools. We visited the nearby war plane crashsite. We went fishing on the jetty (Didn't catch anything :( but all the local fishos down there did and were lovely for a chat) We wen't to the local club for a night out. The lady in the kitchen cooks beautiful home cooked meals at a great price and if you go on darts night (Thursday) you will get to meet all the locals who are very friendly and more than happy to have a chat with the newby's :)
Chris and Sue are also the perfect hosts and you can find them at the shop almost any time to answer any questions while you are there, whether it be about the house or just to gain some local knowledge on things to do and places to see.

Leading up to our wedding we hadn't really organised a honeymoon. We were planning on just waiting until we got home and perhaps jump on a flight to Bali for a few days.
Instead we went home, dumped everything in the house, packed a bag and went back to Mandorah :D We booked in for 2 nights and once that time was up we booked ANOTHER night as we just couldn't bring ouselves to leave! It was the best decision ever! We plan on returning every year for our anniversary.

I will admit the price is maybe a bit high and had it not been our wedding we maybe wouldn't have spoilt ourselves that much. But I'm glad we did as we gave ourselves the chance to fall in love with the place and will have no doubts coming back in the future.

Do yourself a favour and forgo your 13th annual trip to Bali. Have a look in your own backyard, this place is Australia at it's best! Even catching the ferry over will give you that feeling that you have really travelled somewhere away from Darwin.

Thanks again Wagait Beach Bush Retreat, we'll see you soon :D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at Wagait Beach Bush Retreat. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyDarw...
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“peaceful and divine bush retreat”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

If you are looking for a getaway to sit back, relax and enjoy the lovely bush surroundings this is the place! A ferry ride from Darwin or you can drive there (about an hour from outer Darwin) once you arrive it's time to chill out. Located near Mandorah, Wagait Beach is essentially a country town. If you drive over there are lovely beaches and scenery to enjoy. If you ferry over you will need to be transported to the retreat. There is a well equipped shop where you can pick up supplies and even get a cappuccino
Then it's time to relax, enjoy the pool and surrounds. We went with two couples and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing