We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Star Lodge and Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin(Bee Cave)(Great Value!)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Lakeway(Lakeway)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeway Resort and Spa(Lakeway)(Great Value!)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$179
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
19
14
13
16
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
14
13
16
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill countrynice balconydowntown austinpool areacontinental breakfasta great staycereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed for a wedding close by. Staff was great from checkin to checkout. Room was clean but outdated for the price. Pool area small for more then 24 people. No view like in the pics. Need to really trim some trees. Great for one night, but not for a vaction stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigtex378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Hubby and I and another couple drove from Houston area to play a little golf at Lakeway golf course and also enjoy a dinner at the University of Texas Club. This motel is not easy to find and you might miss it as you drive by on the highway. A quick phone call to the front desk, however, answered by a very nice lady and we found it up on a little hill. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. It looks like all the rooms face a small but adequate, clean and sparkling pool in the back courtyard. Nothing fancy here but you can sit on your balcony or patio and relax in the beautiful Austin sunset. In the morning, we enjoyed a very good complimentary breakfast. There was the usual cold cereal, muffins, small pastries, and bagels. Scrambled eggs with sausage, and biscuits and gravy were available. The attendant there also makes the Texas shaped waffle which was really yummy. The usual people who take too much are always present so the biscuits and gravy ran out - early bird gets the worm so to speak! Overall, other than one of the ice machines being out of order, we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PJGARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We were evacuated from our home near Austin during the terrible wildfires that swept through here in September, 2012. The Mountain Star Lodge was the closest hotel to us that still had some availability. We were very scared, jittery and distraught, so we called hotels.com to book our room for us.
Once we arrived, the desk clerk said he had the reservation but could not honor the rate we got through hotels.com??? Why? He didn't have the authority he said. Ok - my husband and I travel with our business and stay in hotels at least 150 days a year. I have NEVER had that happen. Was it because of the fires? Was it price gouging? I don't know. But we were too upset to deal with it. The desk clerk told us to talk to the day staff the next day. Once we got to our room, it smelled of cat urine - BAD. It was also very dirty. I would have never stayed if I had another option at that point. Luckily we had our own blankets since we were loaded down with our important things just in case our house was consumed!
The next morning the new desk clerk said they would refund us the money - since we had already been charged through hotels.com. Great! After we returned home (our house was saved thanks to the wonderful firefighters), we noticed they had not refunded the money. We called them and were reassured we would be refunded the next day. We were. A lot to deal with when something so horrible is going on in your life. I would NEVER recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The staff was very friendly at check-in and at breakfast in the morning. The place has more of a motel feel than a hotel. The rooms were extremely outdated, but a decent size and were clean. I didn't have any problems with sunlight coming in, as some previous reviewers have mentioned. In fact, our children slept in because the room was so dark from the curtains. A couple of people were repulsed that they found a scorpian in their room. Well, in that part of Austin, scorpians are pretty common and it's not a cleanliness issue. It's best to keep your bags and shoes off of the floor. We never saw any, but it's just common sense for the area. The breakfast was pretty bad. My kids loved it, but they only ate cereal. With all of the great places to eat in Austin, I would definitely skip Mountain Star's breakfast. Also, there is no wifi. All in all, it was really just ok. I probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor on the side of the building, so you don't have the sun setting on your room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdolezal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were there for a friends wedding in the Lakeway area, and were unable to book a room early due to my job. When i finally found out we could go, this was the only place with a room. They charged us $200 for one night in a so called suite! The room was old looking with a tiny tv and a very small bathroom. We didhave a balcony, but the dooralso had a spacewhere you could see light from outside. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable! I am a pilot and stay in many different hotel rooms all over the world, but for $200 a night i should have had a real suite! We were not a fan and would highly recomend staying anywhere else! Thanks for taking our $200 Mountain Star!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkentclax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews