We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ozark Mountain Cabins
Hector, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stellar view”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We just spent one night at the Ozark Mountain Cabins near Jasper, AR. We could have spent an entire week if we had the time. Cabin #1 was spotlessly clean, spacious, and situated on a quiet ridge overlooking the Buffalo River area. You hear nothing but the wind and God's creatures. There is a outdoor grill on the covered porch with a 2 person glider, bench, stacked firewood, and animal feed that you can purchase cheaply to feed the numerous animals in the area. When we arrived there was a roaring fire in the large rock fireplace to greet us. The cabin is built with logs and is almost entirely wood: floors, walls, ceilings. The couches are comfortable in the living area. The kitchen has all you need to cook any meal. You have to bring your food of course, but there is salt and pepper. Bathroom has a large shower with hand hold. Would have liked to have had a sprayer hose but the water is hot and plenty of it. Dining room table with four chairs and there were 2 extra chairs in the master bedroom closet. Master bedroom is downstairs with a queen sized bed, quite comfortable and I usually have problems with hotel like beds but this one was just fine. Linens are nice and soft with lots of extra pillows and 2 fleece blankets. All the linens had a wonderful smell to them. To top it off, we awoke to a nice dusting of snow. The front window in the living room is large and you have a wonderful view of the mountains and valley. My husband commented several times about how crystal clear the window was. He wondered what the owners used to clean the glass with! There is no television but the bedroom had a radio and there are books, puzzles, cards, and a few games if you cant find anything to talk about. If you must have television you can always bring a laptop and watch a video you bring along with you. Jasper is a small town, no theater but there are several restaurants that are very good, antique shops, gas stations, groceries, ect. Lots of outdoor stuff, elk watching, swimming, and floating at the right time of the year. Harrison is about a 30 min. drive away if you have to have more of the fast lane. If you desire quiet, comfort, and reasonable pricing this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We could not have been more pleased with ozark mountain cabins, it really was perfect. I looked for hours and days at different places in the area and was nervous about picking one. I was quite the hero with this choice! Cabin was great, area was perfect, and the views were amazing. You really cannot go wrong, I promise.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nallyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We spent 3 night with family over there. The place is nice but it would work better for single people or elderly couple. The cabin was nice inside, however there is no nearly place to play outside or right in front so if you need a room to spend around the house- it is not the place.
Our biggest challenge was having two extremely loud window air conditioners- the cabin was build without using proper roof insulation and all heat just goes straight in. As a result the air has to be cooled down non-stop but it was difficult to stay inside when both of them were working. We have to turn off the one on main floor so we can normally talk and enjoy the cabin.
So I guess spring or fall would be a better time to visit.

Neighbors-) You can see the other cabin through the forest and you'll be lucky if people next door don't have a party until 11 am- it is nice to seat at a porch and spot dear coming but it is not fun to hear the party for two nights in a row. It looks like not everyone rents this place to enjoy nature and privacy.

Interior was nice- towels and linens were great, however it would be great to have a mosquito net on a large window in the living room and do not see spiders in the bathroom every day-)

Location is great- it is a short drive from great swimming hole, short drive to Jasper with a grocery store and a coffee shop and is easy to find.

Anyway, the place is nice to be in Arkansas, but might not work for people who are looking for better privacy and more comfort.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin on the left from the entrance road (the furthest from owner's house)- in such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

we have stayed in 2 different cabins, 3 times, very relaxing, rustic lodging, beautiful scenery, in fall you can hear the elk bugle

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksand49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have picked this spot several times for a late fall getaway with our dogs. The cabins are cozy and spotlessly clean. We love the stone wood burning fireplace and the covered porch with a beautiful view up the Buffalo River Valley. There is nothing fancy about this spot, but the location is perfect and the owner works hard to make sure guests are comfortable and the cabins are in perfect shape. The road heads down to lovely Ozark campground on the Buffalo River, making an easy hike right out the door. The Buffalo River trail crosses below the cabin for longer hikes. The cabins are tiny...we think it is just right for a couple with two dogs. It would be a bit close for more.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webb City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The view at all four of the cabins on this property was amazing. (we stayed in cabin #2) This was a family vacation so my wife, and two boys ages 8 and 9 were with me. The cabin was just like it was described on the Ozark Mountian Cabin Website. The kitchen was small but had everything that we needed to cook for an entire week (we provided the food of course!) Only one cabin has an oven, ours did not, but we knew that ahead of time and planned our menus accordingly. There was a toaster oven that worked perfectly for our "toasting" needs. The owner had farm fresh organic eggs in the fridge that can be purchased for $2 a dozen. They were delish! The kitchen already had coffee filters, salt and pepper, a crock pot, a microwave, a 4 bunner stove, and better pot and pan selection than I have at home! The website does make reference to a gas burning grill, but it was actually a very nice Weber charcoal grill with a propane ignitor. We knew that ahead of time and brought matchlight charcoal and enjoyed the grill very much. (the owners have bags of charcoal on the porch that can be purchased "on your honor" for a dollar a bag. There is also bags of wildlife feed in a tub on the front porch for 50 cents a bag, again "on your honor system". We bought two bags and watched three whitetail deer nibble on the corn that night from our front porch! Our front porch was not a porch swing but a stationary glider. It was awesome! From our porch we watched the most amazing sunsets, we watched deer every night, we watched the hummingbirds (about 10-15 at a time) swarm the feeders that the owners refill every day. We also saw a fox, a bobcat, and bats every night!
The cabin layout was great, open floorplan on the bottom floor (living room, kitchen, bathroom with a door, and bedroom with a door). The loft is very open too with a twin size bed and a double bed. The shower was large in size but the showerhead was very short. I am 5'6'' and I almost had to squat to rinse my hair...however we never ran out of hot water even after all 4 of us showered. The towels were VERY nice, the linens were nice. The beds in the loft had a nice overlay and were comfy. The queen size bed in the master was a little firm for my liking but it was not uncomfortable. My only complaint is that when the kids were playing upstairs it sounded like a herd of buffalo were up there! I guess that happens with a loft situation! The cabin is cooled with two AC window units. Our first day there one of the AC units went out and the owners (Kelly and Jeff) came right down after I called them and fixed the situation. They were super nice and easy to reach! The cabin also has a great fireplace for the winter months as well. We were very pleased with the cabin! Did I mention the view?!
Things to do: Drive to Boxley and see the wild elk. We watched a herd of 20 elk travel across the river bottom. You must eat at Ozark Cafe (in Jasper) and at the Cliff House Inn (about 8 miles south of Jasper on HWY 7). Both places were amazing!!! The swimming hole on the west side of Pruitt Landing is a great place to take the kids to swim. The swimming hole at Ozark one mile from this cabin is great too, but it has more sand to track back to the cabin! Be aware when you are booking at the Buffalo River that the upper river near Boxley and Ponca are completely dry during July and August. We would have been VERY dissappointed had we not known that when we were booking a place. There is a small laundry mat in Jasper behind the car wash, always nice to wash swimwear and go home with a suitcase full of clean laundry. Mystic Caverns is a great place to visit, Branson is only about one hour away. This cabin is most ideal in location, in price, in hospitality and in places to make memories. You will not regret booking this cabin!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KristinalynRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

No detail was overlooked.... A rarity these days. The cabin was as clean as a cabin can be, the kitchen fully stocked, the rooms were spacious and the place was so quiet! (other than the birds, frogs, other nature sounds that were abundant!) We spend most of our time on the back porch enjoying the view. We just knew that at any minute a deer would meander by. Some of the 'extras' were the hummingbird feeder, the bird feeder, the grill (with $1 bags of charcoal available), the wildlife food (pre packaged for $2 if you felt so inclined) and the dollar game. There are dollars stashed all over the cabin, with clues to find them in the book. We had a blast finding them all and then writing our own clues. We didn't even notice until we were leaving that there was no T.V. It was not missed!! We had our own live nature show on 24/7. I can't say enough good things about this place. It was perfect.

As for location, it's within a mile of the Buffalo National River, 30 minutes from the Buffalo Outdoor Center and 1 mile from the Grand Canyon of Arkansas. Beautiful area! We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All the cabins are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LostOnLandAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
#1 of 7 in Harrison
339 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Seville
Hotel Seville
#2 of 7 in Harrison
219 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Queen Anne House
Queen Anne House
#1 of 6 in Harrison
9 reviews
15.0 mi away
Super 8 Harrison AR
Super 8 Harrison AR
#5 of 7 in Harrison
248 reviews
13.0 mi away
Family Budget Inn Harrison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ozark Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ozark Mountain Cabins

Property: Ozark Mountain Cabins
Address: P. O. Box 509, Jasper, AR 72641
Region: United States > Arkansas > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing