We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What I Was Looking For”
Review of Cliff House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff House
Ranked #2 of 4 Jasper B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in the Wolf Cabin of The Cliff House six miles south of Jasper, Arkansas. The main purpose of our trip to north Arkansas was to view the Fall Foliage and check out the Elk Herd on the Buffalo River near Ponca. The Wolf Cabin will sleep six comfortably so we had more than enough room for the two of us. The cabin was clean and stocked with everything we needed except for the food and snacks we brought. There was plenty of wildlife to photograph right outside our cabin and if you will walk about two hundred yards in front of the cabin you have a wonderful view of a beautiful canyon. Cliff House is located on Scenic Highway 7 and it is only six miles into the small town (Pop. 498) of Jasper where we ate at the historic Ozark Café. It was fourteen miles to Ponca where we photographed elk from the roadside and I hiked the Ponca to Steel Creek trail. The owners are very nice and helpful and we will definitely stay with them again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BankguyArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

we were so pleased by our entire experience at Cliff House...Mike McLaurin and his wife Becky (or their son) are always there with assistance...whether it be directions...suggestions on things to do...or using their many contacts to make arrangements for kayaking or horseback riding.

The small town of Jasper about 5 miles has some neat cafes...i really liked the breakfast at the Ozark Cafe

really good food in their small cafe at very reasonable prices...and a varied menu from liver and onions to tender steaks.

we rented two of the cabins...Wolf #1 and Eagle #3...both were very clean, with plenty of towels and adequate supplies in the kitchen.

the views to the west across the meadow and towards the Ozarks produced some great sunsets. there were three deer that we nicknamed "the kids" that hung around a lot of the time of the three nights that we stayed there...one night even electing to sleep about thirty feet from the cabin in the yard.

a trip to the Lost Valley area to see the elk is very worthwhile...we were there during the rutting season and were able to see and hear the main bull elk trumpet and herd his group of about 50 cows...always on the defensive and watching for potential interlopers

all in all, i look forward to my next opportunity to go back to Cliff House...very good Christian people run the place who seem to really enjoy what they do.

Room Tip: best morning view...#3 Eagle...best sunset Wolf #1... best for a couple #1...best for 4-6 is #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I were traveling on scenic highway 7 from Branson Missouri heading to Russellville which was simply a stop on our trip heading to Hot Springs Arkansas. It was late afternoon in September and we took Scenic 7 to enjoy the views of the Arkansas Grand Canyon area that we had heard about. The drive was beautiful. Just outside of Jasper we saw a billboard about the Cliff House Restaurant and Inn. I immediately googled the website and of course checked Trip Advisor. The reviews were very good and the view in the pictures gorgeous! About 20 minutes later we pulled in the parking lot of the Cliff House Restaurant. The view was as spectacular as advertised. But .. A closed sign was in the window ....however I went to the door anyway. The sign on the door stated the restaurant was closed but if you were interested in a room or cabin to ring the doorbell. I am SOO glad I did. They had a cabin available. I asked to see the cabin before I rented. We drove about a mile down the road to the cabin and knew we had found a super neat place to enjoy the sunset and beautiful scenery. The price was soo reasonable and the cabin so perfect. It was totally cabin-like from the rustic furniture, wooden interior walls and cabinets and the cabin smell. Everything you needed was thoughtfully provided. There is a queen bed downstairs. upstairs had another queen bed and two built- in twin beds. Both bedrooms have the cutest makeup table with a heart shaped mirror. There are no closets but hooks on wall to hang clothes if you need to. Fully equipped kitchen which we used. The porch has a slider on it and a love seat just outside the porch on the lawn. The view superb. Total privacy from the other two cabins on the property. The AC was greatly appreciated as the temperature was in the 90s . The TV got a nice range of channels. We sat on our porch and watched the sun set and moonrise. The smell was clean and pure and there was total silence except for the nightlife. If you have an opportunity to stay in one of these cabins you should take advantage of this rare find. We are already planning our return trip.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JeanP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

this is our favorite place. whether spring, fall, or summer it doesn't matter. the mikes are friendly and make us feel ay home. the view is amazing, food great and people are the best. highway 7 is one of the most scenic drives in america so that adds to our vacation. rooms are comfortable and extremely clean. we love you guys and can't wait for fall colors.

Rich & Vera

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 334burt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed in the Eagle Cabin for two nights in May. The cabin is extremely comfortable and has everything you need. There is a queen bed downstairs and a bed and two twins in the upstairs area. The kitchen is fully equipped. There is a table and chairs, a sofa and a rocking chair. There is cable tv. There is central heat and air, as well as a fireplace. You can sit on the porch in a glider or chairs and enjoy the view of the canyon. It is a very quiet location. Our only issue is that it is rather remote from the Buffalo River and the hikes we were here to enjoy. It is located on Scenic Highway 7 south of Jasper and south of the Cliff House Restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KanOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

For a low cost, nastalgic motel that meets the basic needs of a traveling nature/ cultural enthusiast, this is the place. It is within walking distance to eating establishments, historical sites, and a city park with the Buffalo River flowing on one side. The proprietors were very friendly and informative regarding the area.
My husband and I occupied a room that was clean, comfortable and decorated in 1940's style furniture and accessories ( including hobnail bedspreads). There was a small color TV(several channels available), comfortable chairs, sturdy metal rack for hanging clothes, and a small bathroom with a shower.
Our room was next to the street and my husband remarked that he heard traffic during the night. For our next trip, we will request a room further from the road.
A surprise find and great treat for us!

Room Tip: Rooms further from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank naturebuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at Gordon's motel on memorial day this September with a group of friends. The owner was very friendly and advised us on activities in the area, so we went to the Bluegrass festival in Jasper! The rooms are very clean and comfortable, regarding to the price we paid!
I will definitly recommend Gordon's motel if you are looking for a cheap room!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank makinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House

Address: 206 E Highway 7, Jasper, AR
Region: United States > Arkansas > Jasper
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing