We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overflow house...think toilet”
Review of Arkansas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arkansas House
Ranked #1 of 4 Jasper B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were first in the house on the river shown in the website. Then we were moved to the "overflow" house since we only wanted one night.
When you hear "overflow".... think toilet. Originally a 3 room shanty house with a trailer attached & unified.
The one bathroom is accessed going through a "bedroom" . Kitchen is minimal & the coffee pot makes 2 cups. If you have questions, we can furnish pictures...

Room Tip: If "overflow" house is mentioned...think toilet & say "no thank you".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtnme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was our third time to stay in the Garden Suite at the Arkansas House. We also stayed in the river house once. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The AC works very well, which is important in Arkansas in the summer. The bed is comfortable and the room has a jacuzzi tub. The Arkansas House is on Highway 7 but we have never had any trouble sleeping, the highway doesn't seem to be very busy at night. The rates are higher than the two little motels in Jasper but lower than renting a cabin. We have always had a pleasant experience here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richkat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

we stayed in the back house and were very surprised how well it was stocked. Sleeping 8 was no problem the only possible complaint I would have is that it only has 1 bathroom. Other than that, the house was well suited for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flagg32874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at the Arkansas house for a family reunion for the weekend. We stayed in the honeymoon suite. It was the cleanest place. The owner was very kind and he was waiting for us, knew our name from the reservation, which was such a nice gesture. The room was decorated in an old fashion theme which gave it a unique feel, much different than our modern places to stay. There is a restaurant attached which we didn't get to eat at but the menu has some great options, the place is quiet and the grounds are kept tidy. If our family reunion is held here again, we will be returning to the Arkansas house. I was fully pleased and had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Every time we go to the Buffalo River we have to come here to eat. They have great healthy food and it is delicious as well. You will not be sorry if you include this place to eat in your plans when visiting this beautiful part of Arkansas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 46,749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Really nice and clean place. Friendly helpful staff. Awesome great room in the back with tons of movies. Really good restaurant attached to it. All kinds of organice food that actually tastes good. Freat elk burger. Comfortable beds, the suites are very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cludog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The inn is nice enough and clean. It's a B&B type property, rather than motel. I stayed in "Mother's Room", which was nicely decorated and had a huge bath area. I don't stay in many of this type of inn, so I'm not sure if the price ($70 on a weekday) is high or low. Seemed reasonable. The staff was efficient, although the one I spoke with wasn't overly friendly. The one problem, and it is a big one, is that the property is very close (like 20 feet) from Hwy 7. The noise from the road was unbearable in my room, which was on the front of the house. Rooms on the back of the house may be different, but the traffic went well past midnight and started again around 6:00 am. The windows are single pane and the road noise comes right through. If you don't hear well, maybe it's not an issue, but it was very, very LOUD.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank erik337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Arkansas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkansas House

Address: 215 East Court St, Jasper, AR 72641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Jasper
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkansas House Inn, Cabin and organic and wild food cafe' is the landmark resort in the upper Buffalo River national park. For those interested in lodging in classic Ozark architecture along with local, wild and organic food, this is a must stay property. Located on the banks of the Little Buffalo river, this 82-year old masterpiece of masonry is the place for climbers, hikers, floaters and other outdoorsmen and women, and people who want to just drive around to see the beauty of the mountains, enjoy watching our wild elk herd, and enjoy a great meal at our nationally-famous cafe'. Our cabin rents for 125-150 per nite, our suites are 85-99, our rooms 70-100. We even have a salon on site to pamper you after your outdoor adventure in the highest mountains between the Rockies and Smokies, the Artic & Arkansas River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing