We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Lo de Chichi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

There's nothing not to like about this hostel. It's right by the bus station, a block from the square, and the guys running it will do absolutely anything to help you out. Every night, someone staying at the hostel will offer to cook for the entire hostel, after which everyone will sit around the fire, and the guitar, drums and some of the most phenomenal voices I've ever heard will come alive.

Put simply, you'll stay for a few days and seriously consider staying for a month!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    20
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
20
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miraflores, Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

okay, apparently the location and the owner are really nice. our room was dirty though. especially my bed wasnt clean. i spotted few long hairs on the bed.... The ambience was good(even though we were the only foreigners there. 99% was argentinians. but somehow it was nice cuz they played guitar and danced..... i liked it very much) but, after two nights of staying we were covered by insect bites but we had no idea what those were. we thought they were mosquitos. but no, it was chinches, bedbugs, and they made the rest of my trip miserable... some hostels denied to take me in when i told them i might carry bedbugs with me(i had to be honest because i didn't want other travellers to go through same kind of situations)... 3 weeks have passed but still im in extreme pain caused by scratching. i'm heading to buenos aires earlier than i planned to go to hospital. i put all my stuff in the sun twice and did laundry few times but it didn't help. the hostel told me they fumigate the room but still, just so you know. we had suffered enough and i would never wanna risk to have bedbugs again. i loved everything else about the hostel. just the bedbugs were unforgivable....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to lay your head but that is clean and safe with a beautiful view, I'd highly recommend Hostel Lo de Chichi. We are from the United States and stayed here in July with 15 secondary students plus us (two group leaders) and a tour guide. It was very cold outside. However, they started a bonfire for the students and talked with them for hours, helping them with their Spanish, gave us extra blankets and mini heaters and were extremely kind and hospitable. A magical place in the north of Argentina. Thank you for the great memories. Suerte

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rami425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I was there: Hostel Lo de Chichi.
It was a magic moment for me and my girlfriend.
Awesome people, amazing new friends, incredible city and good price. I have no words to describe.
I would like to thanks a lot to Claudio, Tony, Nico.
I dont met Chichi, but in next time i will.
I traveled about 20 days in argentina and Cafayate with De lo chichi was the BEST part of all trip.
Highly Recomended !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuiGo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichi C, Owner at Hostel Lo de Chichi, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. Our goal is that people had a great time, enjoy our stay, people and music. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Cafayate is a weird place for backpackers, in certain times of the year, there is a wave of no-budget tourism and the things becomes hard for backpackers, but there is a place, a nice place called "lo de Chichi". The owners are well known in the town. They are really kind people although the hostel could be better in terms of beds quality. It is cheap, is well located, they help you with the activities that you can do all around and your stay there will be really funny. If the party is planned for the night, you can not be out of there, even if you are not a party guy!!! they are really funny and peacefull, jajaja. I spent there only 3 nights because I had bus tickets, otherwise, I could spend there more nights. Cafayate has a lot of things to do. Higly recomendable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmlegisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichi C, Owner at Hostel Lo de Chichi, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. Our goal is that people had a great time, enjoy our stay, people and music. Our desire is to improve day by day. We hope to see you again.Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cafayate hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Asturias
Hotel Asturias
#6 of 20 in Cafayate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Patios de Cafayate Wine Hotel
0.3 mi away
HOSTEL RUTA  40
HOSTEL RUTA 40
#11 of 20 in Cafayate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Sauces
Hotel Los Sauces
#9 of 20 in Cafayate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Arbol
Casa Arbol
#2 of 31 in Cafayate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cafayate Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Lo de Chichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lo de Chichi

Property: Hostel Lo de Chichi
Address: Calle Mitre 166, Cafayate A4427AYD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Cafayate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Lo de Chichi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing