We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Villa Vicuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Vicuna
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Cafayate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Villa Vicuna was one of the best picks during our trip through Argentina. Our room was only accessible through an inner courtyard, i.e. quiet and private and offered all amenities you would expect - from a wonderful bathroom to large and comfortable beds, safe, etc. Breakfast was delicious. The location is great as it only takes a few minutes to the central plaza with all the restaurants and pubs, however it is on a side road with little traffic.
The only potential disadvantage is the lack of parking lots - but we easily found a place on the street right in front of the house.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VHei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

This hotel was centrally located in Cafayete and the rooms were clean and well appointed. Breakfast was one of the best we had in this part of Argentina. The owner of the hotel was most welcoming and kind. We decided to stay an additional night because of the gas situation (no gas in town for 3 days and hard to find in Salta and Jujuy) and were glad to be able to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Excellent location, good service, a curious mural in main courtyard, very cozy and decorate with local objects and vines everywhere which gives a warm enviroment.
Quite expensive

Room Tip: in 2nd courtyard (the one w/o a mural)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyctibius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Although we only stayed for one night, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Villa Vicuna. Although the lady at the reception did not speak any english, she found our booking right away and brought us to our room. We were positively surprised by the size of the room (we had two twin beds although it was only the two of us), everything was very clean and the room had a "cozy" touch to it. There was a safe, TV, air condition in the room. The only downside was that there was no internet connection in the whole hotel. The inner patio was quiet and the breakfast that was served beat anything we have received in comparable hotels so far in Argentina (meaning that it was the first time we saw ham and cheese). Fresh orange and pineapple juice together with a very good coffee made our day. We can definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We got to Cafayate fairly late in the day so just headed to this hotel close to the main plaza. Apart from a real hideous mural in the courtyard the décor is ok. It certainly doesn't have the style of some of the boutique hotels we stayed in but it had a spacious and pleasant feel.

The rooms are fairly large and we had one of the best sleeps on our trip here as it was nice and quiet, but there weren't many other guests staying there at the time. Breakfast was included and fairly standard Argentinian style, bread, ham, cheese, croissant.

The hotel is located very close to the centre of town so it's handy for walking around. There might be more glamorous places for a long-term stay, but for a few nights this place would be pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Cafayate is a lovely town and Villa Vicuña an excellent alternative to the boutique hotels of the vineyards, great value too. We stayed for just one night with my family over the Easter Holidays, but wish we could have stayed longer. The town was bursting with people everywhere. The rooms were incredibly neat and well decorated, same as the bathroom. As other reviewers, we enjoyed the patio scene at breackfast, very soothing. At night, after mass at their beatiful church, we had dinner at Colorado on the same block as the hotel. Great place to eat, the food is very good, serves both traditional northern argentinien food and international options with excellent taste.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed for 5 days at Villa Vicuna, which is very near Killa and the main square, and I have to say it was fantastic! A converted estate house, it has privacy, is very quiet, immaculately clean and decorated with antiques. The breakfast in the courtyard with its amazingly whimsical del Pozo-Crusz mural surrounded by grapevines and roses and lavender and peaceful music is excellent, and the staff, especially Miriam, couldn't possibly be nicer or more attentive/responsive to your needs and wants. They have a bar for evening snacks and drinks, and there are plenty of restaurants nearby, including the new and excellent Amaranthus. We had a fridge in our room, didn't see any at Killa but you may have to request it. Only complaint is that wifi is only available in the courtyard, but there is hardly a more pleasant place to sit in Cafayate.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagafemina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cafayate hotels
0.9 mi away
Patios de Cafayate Wine Hotel
1.7 mi away
Vinas de Cafayate Wine Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Sauces
Hotel Los Sauces
#8 of 20 in Cafayate
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grace Cafayate
Grace Cafayate
#3 of 20 in Cafayate
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Asturias
Hotel Asturias
#6 of 20 in Cafayate
432 reviews
8.4 mi away
Altalaluna Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vicuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vicuna

Address: Calle Belgrano 76, Cafayate A4427AEB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Cafayate
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Vicuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel started with the owners’ fascinating idea to build a family residence in this lovely town, surrounded by magnificent colorful mountains and splendid vineyards that give life to the most distinctive of all Argentine wines: "Torrontes". A few years later, the owners took on the commitment of turning their home into an exclusive and elegant Boutique Hotel with the intention of reflecting in the colonial architecture, the fine decoration and the personalized attention the knowledge and experiences gained from travelling around the world. Thus, Villa Vicuna was created to develop and expand the limitless tourism potential of the region and share this breathtaking landscape with tourists from all over the world. Set just 50 meters from the main square, Villa Vicuna enjoys a privileged location that enables you to easily walk round the historic city center and take advantage of all the possibilities Cafayate offers to visitors. The hotel has twelve (12) spacious, comfortable and quiet rooms, each one overlooking an inner courtyard. The exquisite decoration and the excellent attention provide a feeling of warmth and create a calm and pleasant atmosphere to relax and get away from the hectic pace of the city. We offer a delicious buffet breakfast with homemade jam and bread, yoghourt, cereal, orange juice, fresh goat cheese, etc. Our mission is to provide authentic hospitality and to offer visitors a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of wellbeing and peacefulness. This marvelous scenario together with the mildness of its climate and the cordiality of its people will make your trip an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Vicuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing