We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd chance was better”

James at the Mill Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
James at the Mill Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Johnson
Price range: US$13 - US$36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Johnson Exit #69 off of Interstate 540
fort worth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2nd chance was better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had been to this restaurant once before during graduation weekend for the University of Arkansas and we were disapointed as the service was poor and the waiter was rude. We tried it again and arrived early. This was a much better experience. We had the same waitstaff that did a much much better job this time. I had the ribeye and the ceasar salad which were both good. The rest of my party each had two appitizers with the crab cakes which are very good and the corn dog which was good but is a vulger presentation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cranch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    46
    18
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
“Did not live up to the hype...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

It took over 3.5 hours and the food just was not that good versus what you pay for it. The Caesar salad had way too much dressing on the individual standing Romaine leaves (sopping). The Ribeye had some wine sauce that overwhelmed the taste of the meat itself and the presentation looked nothing like what was shown on the website. There was some sort of green mash (Chimichurri Sauce?) stuck to the outside one half the meat and then there were little bits of what I believe were mushrooms on the other side. The tasting menu ended up being 3 bits each at best and just not worth 75 bucks in my opinion. I will say the Halibut was very good as well as the andouille sausage "corn dog".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevieBrew56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Four couples had a reservation on a Friday night. The restaurant was not at all crowded, as we had been led to believe it might be. 2 persons had the pork entree which was tough and didn't even taste like pork. One person had the ribeye, which was a large bone-in steak and was perfectly medium rare. Unfortunately, the adobo seasoning on the steak overwhelmed the taste of the meat. Service was not professional. It's too bad; we had heard good things about the restaurant but this was definitely not its night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I love this restaurant and the Inn at the Mill. I stayed here for business many times, now it's my go-to-getaway-place. The restaurant is an exceptional food experience and the prices are good for the quality of gourmet meals offered.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here on business twice and each meal was better than the last. Nice casual, but professional setting. Good, reasonable wine list and delicious menu.

Helpful?
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James at the Mill Restaurant also viewed

Fayetteville, AR
Fayetteville, AR
 

Been to James at the Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing