We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
3
12
3
1
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
12
3
1
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We arrived into Tupiza and decided to stay here since it appeared to be an ok place. The owner seemed friendly and raved on about the quality of the beds, told us the WIFI was down for 15 minutes but would be working soon. They are smart enough to take your money first so that you are stuck there when you realise that there actually is no internet because they are either changing the passwords frequently or just turning off the routers. When we asked again and again, eventually they just said that they have a problem with the WIFI but this wasn´t until midnight when it was too late to leave. We had to plan our Uyuni tour so this was extremely inconvenient. The bathrooms are so ridiculously small that when you take a shower not only do you get a shower but so does the toilet, the toilet paper and any clothes or towels you have in there. Oh, but before this happened we actually had to ASK them to provide towels and toilet paper for us. At 5AM we woke up to a group of tourists speaking loudly to the owner and he returned the favour by conversing loudly back at them for 40 minutes, totally disrespectful to 99% of the customers sleeping there. These people are con-artists. They lure you in off the street and the rooms look okay from first glance but spend a few minutes and you´ll realise this place is actually really, truly awful.

Room Tip: Best advice? Keep walking to the next hostel.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ErinNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

Had a great stay here for 3 nights. It was cheap, comfortable and friendly. The showers were always hot when I came to use them and the location in town is great. A muh better option than some of the other hostels in Tupiza. The main downside is that the kitchen is not really well equipped.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before and after our salt flats tour. For the price we paid, this place was decent and we got a good night's sleep. Wouldn't want to spend an extended amount of time in the room though. Showers were very hot. Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Krista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I realise that 70B for a double room is unbelievably cheap but the owner is what really lets this place down. Stayed for 3 nights as we were stranded in Tupiza because of the Uyuni strikes.

Had a double room - no heating as expected try and get a room facing the sun as bitterly cold in the shade at this time of year. Hot showers which were clean.

The owners only put wifi on when they wanted and changed the password daily then refused to give the new password.

I can't out of the shower in a towel at 8am - check out was at 2pm and the owner started screaming at me about paying for another night. After paying we got harassed again saying we hadn't paid. They didn't keep a record and tried to increase the price each night we renewed.

Better places for the same price in Tupiza.

Kitchen is filthy - no washing up liquid, no towels and a chicken had been left out the entire tim we were there. Kitchen supposed to open at 8am. They open it when they feel like it. No breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ameliabeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I slept there with a friend one night (our last night at tupiza), the manager and the recepcionist were very nice and helpfull, the hostel is quiete cheap - 35 for dorms with good wifi, hot shower and fairly clean toilets

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Itay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews