We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Girasoles Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$26
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
9
32
49
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
32
49
24
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Disappointing as prices are high compared to Bolivian standards and the room we got was very tiny and dark. Pros: All rooms with heaters and hot water (definitely necessary in cold Uyuni); Cons: Value for money (unfortunately, there is a lack of good hotels in Uyuni. But as Uyuni is ugly and not worth to stay for more than some hours -> go outside
and drive to the Hotel Luna Salada en Colchani which is one of the best places in South America)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobao_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Stayed here one night before our 4-day-trip to the Uyuni desert and it was worth the penny. It was good to relax after a long busride and before going into the deserttrip. The service was ok and the rooms were clean. The bathroom was ok with warm water. It was a 10 minute walk to the main street. They ask money for the use of internet (unless most other hotels in Bolivia).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runderkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

OK, because there's not a lot of choice in Uyuni, Los Girasoles ranks as one of its best hotels. On some levels, it deserves this accolade, but it has its faults. The pluses are the stylish rooms with cactus wood furniture, central heating, the firmish bed and the bright, well-lit public areas. There's cable TV and a nice breakfast included. The negatives are the heating is turned off the morning so it can still feel cold, especially in the breakfast room (there is actually a log fire, but it only heats anyone sitting directly in front of it as the rest of the room shivers in the morning cold). Internet access has to be paid for (and it's cheaper in town), which is a pain. I don't know if this was a one-off but the staff accidentally sent my backpack with a group of Frenchmen to Potosi when I was on my way to La Paz - although they had it sent on to me, I still had to pay the cost of delivery, which was annoying as it was their mistake. On the whole, I would recomend Los Girasoles, but be careful with your luggage and try and get a seat next to the fire in the breakfast room.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
Thank dungenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Great choice for what will probably be your brief stay in Uyuni before or after a salt flats tour. Clean, really warm, friendly staff, internet (small charge), hot water, just a few blocks from the main plaza and bus terminal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BennettSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Uyuni is the launching point for the salt flats and most other natural wonders of Bolivia. The town itself is nothing more than a brown, dusty and depressing city. You will more than likely arrive here by train. All of the trains arrive at about 2 A.M. The first thing that will strike you as you leave the train is how cold it is!

Los Girasoles is by far the best hotel in town to rest your head after long, cold, and dusty trains ride from La Paz. If you are venturing further into Bolivia from here this will be your last chance for a hot shower and a warm bed for a few days. Most people are only here late in the evening and depart first thing in the morning. On our return from our 3-day trip through the dessert we stayed here for a few hours again while waiting for our train to depart to La Paz at 12 A.M.

The hotel is basic but cute with a friendly staff and a decent restaurant. You have to remember you are close to the middle of nowhere. We were happy to stay here and you will never be happier to see hot water and warm clean beds.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgh60660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews