We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wifi not working”
Review of Hotel Marith

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uyuni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Marith
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Uyuni
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It is definitely not the best place to spend the night, but the double room was clean and it was safe. Unfortunately, the wifi has not once worked, they told us all the time later will be work, but in this 3 days it was'n working at all.
it seems that the staff does'nt care about the guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hostel One Way ... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

Uyuni town is really horrible. Dirty and dirty and ... dirty.
This hostal, after the "basical" hostales in the tour, is nice...
Yes, nice...because the others are really awful.
There is good breakfast, a nice coutyard and hot water.
You cannot ask more.

Room Tip: Wifi only in the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fulviofazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We arrived like most people off the over night bus, very tired. We checked in straight away and went to sleep. I must admitt the rooms are disappointing along with the bathrooms. On the positive side the rooms al face the courtyard so good for meeting other guests.

We went on the salt flats with Andrea Tours who were very helpful but ensure you have an english speaking guide if thats what you need.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We arrived late by bus from Potosi and the Taxi driver (who was connected with this hostel) promised us a warm, private room with private bathroom and hot water for 100 Bolivianos. When we arrived the unmotivated staff told us otherwise: 120 Bolivianos for a room with no heating, icecold water and a leaking toilet. Mind you that's the temp here drops below zero at night and when we exited the room the next morning there was ice all over the ground. Breakfast was not included and we choose to book the next night in a different hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilyaslijters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Overcharged 120 B. For a cold cramped room. Changed rooms twice, no hot water, although was promised there would be. Shower cut out every two minutes. Staff uninterested. Many better places to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilesfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We arrived in town after one of the world's worst bus rides - La Paz to Uyuni (preceded by one of the best - Copacabana to La Paz). To mis-quote Nike - "Just DON'T Do It". Take the train instead. La Paz to Orouro is okay but from Orouro it was brutal beyond description.
We had to find somewhere clean and quiet to recuperate. Hostal Marith fitted the bill. We stayed one night (whilst arranging a trip across the Salar with one of the many agencies in town) and found it very basic but comfortable with plenty of hot water. (The same could barely be said of our first night's accommodation in the Salar, and as for the second night.....Hostal Marith was 5-star luxury in comparison). There weren't any hooks on the en-suite bathroom door but I bought some from the local street market. The hostal's rooms are arranged around a courtyard and what little laundry we did soon dried on the courtyard line in the sun and the breeze.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JakTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

As far as flexibility goes, this hotel was awesome! We found the hotel in our backpackers guide for international hostels around S.America. Called to make a reservation and were happy to find they could accommodate us even though we were arriving around 3am!

CONS
There was no running water in the bathroom (they should have told us this when we booked a room with a private bathroom). It only runs at 7am, so we had to wake up 4hrs after going to bed to make sure we got some water. But then the water was freezing cold and we had to shower in the shared bathrooms. Not so bad, as they were clean, however these showers were also either freezing cold or boiling hot!! Not great :(
No breakfast was offered, although this allowed us to go exploring and we found a great little indoor market a few blocks down with a cafeteria at the top where we had delicious toast and eggs and coffee!

PROS
The owner was willing to give us a discount for all the trouble we were experiencing. She also provided useful advice with a tour company (non-english speaking unfortunately) that could take us on a one day tour of the Salt Flats the same day we arrived. Finally, her staff also helped book our bus tickets to La Paz while we were busy on the tour, so we didn't have to waste time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s0nalpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
14.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Sal
Hotel Palacio de Sal
#2 of 11 in Uyuni
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Girasoles Hotel
Los Girasoles Hotel
#9 of 11 in Uyuni
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cristal Samana Salt Hotel
16.3 mi away
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
0 mi away
Reina del Salar
Reina del Salar
#4 of 19 in Uyuni
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marith

Address: Potosi 61, Town center, Uyuni, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Uyuni
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing