We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for the region”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uyuni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Uyuni
Mamaroneck, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for the region”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Compared with other hotels in this very remote region, this is a very nice hotel : very clean, nicely decorated and recently renovated. Bedrooms have good lighting, comfortable comforters on the beds, real heating that the owner turns on at night. Bathrooms are nice and clean, with real toilets (and not 'ecologic" ones..). The food was good, warm, in a warm and welcoming dining room.
People who wrote bad reviews of this hotel should go to Los Flamencos at laguna Hedionda (same region), there they will experience what is a very bad 'hotel', ( rather call it a bad refuge..), expensive, dirty, cold, with terribly smelly toilets and awful food, and last but not least, very unwelcoming owners!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlqp, Gerente at Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your comment and for choosing Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva.

Best regards.

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    47
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
13
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I don't expect anything luxurious in the middle of a desert in Bolivia, and I was really surprised with this hotel. A very friendly staff, always trying to help us. Bedroom and bathroom were ok. After a day cruising bolivian desert, all we needed was a good bath and a warm bed, and this we surely got. They provided hot water for coffee and tea, and some bread for snacks, and later offer us a restoring dinner. The next day we were able to continue our journey trough this wonderful Country.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Backpacker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I REALLY liked this place and principally because the owner operator paid attention to our party and provided what we needed. We arrived after dark and it was COLD (and I'm from Canada). I was with a travel party of five as a single. Hot tea was ready, dinner was hearty and filling and even the wine was good. The proprietor had what I think is the best single invention for cold Bolivian nights - electric mattress warmers - which were brilliant. Look this is not a "destination" hotel but considering where it is the owner has done a stunning job.

Room Tip: Try the white wine and enjoy the warmth of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobwoodcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlqp, General Manager at Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, the commentary encourages us to keep working and improving our services.

Best regards

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Compared to the Tayka del Sal (Tahua), these owners seem to work just as hard, but the result of their efforts made for a much more enjoyable stay. The room was quite small, but each bed had an electric blanket. There was also a wall mounted room heater.
Cold in late July ???....NO, we weren't !
The cosy dining room had an open fireplace and gas heating.
For its isolation, the food was very good.
I've read the previous reviews, but we have to say that we enjoyed this place more than many other Bolivian "remote" accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlqp, Gerente at Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, commentary encourages us to keep working and improving our services.

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I don't expect anything luxurious in the middle of a desert in Bolivia, but I was disappointed with this hotel because it didn't live up to what was advertised. There didn't really seem to be much heat on at all even though this was one of the main selling points of the hotel, which made for an extremely cold stay. The only thing that worked as promised was the hot water shower. The electric blanket was also very welcome, though the fact that electricity (not just heat) was turned off at night meant that nighttime was also quite cold, although I have to say that the blankets themselves were pretty warm and I didn't feel cold while sleeping. Compared to the other hotel I stayed at on the 3 day Salar de Uyuni tour, this hotel was rather disappointing. Although I recognize that the hotel is essentially run by one family, I expected the hotel to at least live up to what it promised (heat!). The food was edible, though it was cold. The service wasn't terrible or anything, but I have to say that the family running the hotel didn't seem interested in addressing any of our concerns.

Even keeping in mind the location and the standards of living in this part of Bolivia, this hotel was a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comment, apologize for your bad experience at our hotel. Although there are many constraints in the area we are working hard to improve our services.
Best regards,
Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Uyuni hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 847 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We fully understand that in the wilds of Bolivia you cannot expect 5 star. But there is no excuse for ...... Cold rooms (the heating was put on at 7.30pm long after we had arrived) Cold food on cold plates ..... cooked earlier & served from an unheated food tray. Cold bed ..... supposedly with an electric blanket but so uncomfortable we might as well have slept on the floor. A local band from the community arrived to entertain us, but in no way did this offset this horrid experience. And that "welcoming fire" in the restaurant was so badly ventilated we spent a lot of the time outside getting our breath. Bad news is that this hotel is the only option. Good luck!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, apologize for your bad experience at our hotel. Although there are many constraints in the area we are working hard to improve our services.
Best regards

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Dreadful hotel – even bearing in mind the location. We declined the room with a rock wall – it was even colder than the rest of the hotel. The room we did take had a pointless window looking out onto the public area so the curtain had to be closed all the time. Small extremely basic bathroom. Electric blanket was very welcome. A lock on the room door but we were given no key, even though we asked for one. Security is therefore non-existent. Building work was going on in the hotel. Dreadful four piece band played after dinner and then asked for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, apologize for your bad experience at our hotel. Although there are many constraints in the area we are working hard to improve our services.
Best regards

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
99.1 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
105.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Sal
Hotel Palacio de Sal
#2 of 11 in Uyuni
333 reviews
104.9 mi away
Cristal Samana Salt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
99.1 mi away
Los Girasoles Hotel
Los Girasoles Hotel
#8 of 11 in Uyuni
117 reviews
106.8 mi away
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
98.5 mi away
Hotel de Sal Casa Andina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva

Property: Hotel Jardines de Mallku Cueva
Address: Villa Mar s/n, Uyuni, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Uyuni
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing