We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI Salar de Uyuni Hosteling International

HI Salar de Uyuni Hosteling International
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uyuni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
HI Salar de Uyuni Hosteling International
Ranked #17 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Uyuni
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We booked online thinking that being an HI hostel it would be nice, but it's not. When we arrived it took ages for anyone to open the door then inside we found the place to be dark and deserted with the water turned off and a sign on the shower door saying you need to ask the staff to unlock the door if you want to use it (but as they are impossible to locate - good luck with that).
We decided that although we had already paid, we would prefer to stay somewhere else and actually found two much nicer places just around the corner, one of which was cheaper and much better than this hostel.
I was really disappointed with this hostel as I though HI affiliation meant there would be a certain level of quality, but unfortunately not.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicasola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    4
    9
    23
See reviews for
1
6
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

It was not AWFUL but it was far from good. The lady who was something like a receptionist was incredibly rude and she was always checking on us really suspicious and even "accusing" us of stealing a towel, what made us feel really uncomfortable. There was no breakfast and not even dishes in the kitchen so we could cook and eat properly. We could only take showers from 9 a.m. to 6 or 7 p.m. There was no bathroom in our rooms and the bathroom we could use was not really good and there was no toilet paper. I asked a man who I think it was the owner if they could give me some and he said we should buy it!!!! At least they had towels, $10 bolivianos each. The shower was weird, also. There was no shower stall so the bathroom got all wet (and it got worse as more people came to take their own showers). There was almost no water, but at least it was hot. It didn't happen to me because I kept turning off the tap to wash my hair, but my friends told me that after only 4 or 5 minutes on the shower the woman started knocking the door like crazy telling them they should turn off the shower because they were spending too much water (and considering that the waterjet was really weak, 4 minutes were nothing). At night she kept looking at me suspicious because I opened the kitchen to charge my cellphone. And around 10pm the water turned brown. There were no plugs inside the bedrooms. The beds were ok, but the mattresses were obviously old and really worn and the blankets did not felt clean. The walls were peeling and the floor was dirty, At least the hostel was almost empty, because I cannot imagine how bad it would be to share that 2 dirty and wet bathrooms with a lot of people. The bad thing is that after walking around Uyuni and going in some other hostals, I don't really think there is something much better than this. And on the bright side, that got us prepared to go to the Salar and sleep in hostals that were not very good and that had no showers at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrícia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Uyuni hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Unfortunately we stayed here while we were in Uyuni... The water was turned on once a day, showers were not available and if the were they were cold, toilets had to be flushed with a bucket, rooms were freezing, beds were like sleeping in a canoe, no power in the rooms and where there was power the host didnt allow us to use it, kitchen was a gas bottle and a sink ( but no water ). All in all, no one should stay here and Hostel International should be ashamed!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sn0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Okay, where do I begin... I know that we should expect service to be not as efficient as we are used to at home... But this was something else.
- We had to wait 10 minutes for the lazy to open the door when we arrived.
- 40 minutes for a hot shower... and you are only allowed to shower in the afternoon for 5 minutes and pay for an extra shower.
- it was externally cold at night and the host refused to get us another blanket simply because she didn't want to go upstairs to get the key
- we asked if she was going to be there to let us in after dinner and we still had to wait 15minutes in the freezing cold.
Don't go here. There is a better hostel in the walking mall b

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phildot_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were booking this hostel one day before, our train from La Paz arrive at 11pm to Uyuni, we have been ringing in front of the door and the lady on reception was quite strange. Hot water is only throughout the day, and the main gate is accessible only when they open to you. But you have to sleep somewhere before going to Salt flats

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here while visiting the salt flats of Uyuni. The location is good, especially when arriving late at night with the train. The people welcoming us were not the most friendly and serviceminded. The hostel it self was cozy enough with a livingroom where the floor was covered in salt etc. The showers were not exactly found everywhere, and you only got to shower for 5 minutes. They explained us that there wasnt enough water.. Cold at night, our room (a private one) was not heated at all - but the room was equipped with a lot of blankets.

The hostel is not bad, but I believe you can find others ones with greater value for your money!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggimaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Room was dark and dank and beds sank in the middle. Hostel is dark, receptionist is actually a young boy with little english. NOWHERE to charge cameras and our cameras died on the first day of salt flats tour. Have to pay for extra shower. Only allowed to shower in 1 shower which happened to have a massive gap to allow people to see in from the top floor. Television room was from the 80s.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
14.4 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Sal
Hotel Palacio de Sal
#2 of 10 in Uyuni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
14.0 mi away
Cristal Samana Salt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
0.7 mi away
Le Ciel d'Uyuni
Le Ciel d'Uyuni
#7 of 17 in Uyuni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Reina del Salar
Reina del Salar
#4 of 17 in Uyuni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Salar de Uyuni Hosteling International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Salar de Uyuni Hosteling International

Property: HI Salar de Uyuni Hosteling International
Address: Calle Potosi esq. Sucre, Uyuni ., Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Uyuni
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing