We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic must see location! Keep an eye on the drivers though..”
Review of Salar de Uyuni

Salar de Uyuni
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Private Uyuni Salt Flats Night Tour from Uyuni
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Uyuni
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest salt plain is a popular and scenic destination for tour groups.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic must see location! Keep an eye on the drivers though..”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a fantastic 3-day tour from San Pedro de Atacama to Uyuni.

We did not make it to Uyuni though, due to a strike in Uyuni.
Therefore, a lot of jeeps payed the drivers to bring them to Oruro. We payed 2000 BOB per jeep for bringing us. Be aware that the drivers will love to do this because they make a lot of money then. This was however the only option to not get stuck in Uyuni.

The trip itself is amazing. We did the trip with Estrella del Sur.
First 2 days were in the high planes with the nice volcanoes, lagunes and flamingos.
We slept in a shack at 4200m but it was ok. You could feel the altitude though. With a sleeping bag and enough clothes on, we had warm enough. Food was ok too.
On the third day we did the Salar itself which was also amazing!
The second night, we slept in the new salt hotel (only 9 months old) which is very beautiful and has hot water.

However, we noticed that the third day, the drivers had a party the night before. The 3 drivers of Estrella were falling asleep behind the wheel and one driver even had the hiccup. Our driver was quite okay and looked 'the most responsible' one. He had problems with keeping his eyes open in the morning but didn't seem drunk anymore. Luckily, the salar is flat so we couldn't drive in a cliff. However, for this reason, we were a bit late for the sunrise which was a pitty.. One of drivers needed to check his tires before we left the hostal and therefore we were half an hour later...

Overall a top trip despite the incovenience the last day. (we had no car break-down so we were happy).
If there was no strike, we probably would have gone to the office of Estrella in Uyuni to complain about the drivers.This is possible if you have a company with offices in both countries. Many companies in Uyuni don't.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FredericGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,066
    567
    124
    43
    137
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A exceptional site well worth the visit !”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

An amazing natural phenomenon. Just 2 hrs from Uyuni town by 4x4. Can easily be arranged as a daytrip from Uyuni through one of the many local agencies.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Winny74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but ...”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Be carefull with the company you are going with, there are so many options but the guides of some of them are not interested in giving you a good time, they just drive and hurry to get it done, sometime they could leave you alone at some point without any explanation. Don't accept to sleep in Tupuna's hostel is very nasty, dirty and there is no water to take a shower or to flush the toilet. Nevertheless the place is absolutely amazing

Helpful?
Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lithium Aventura/Expediciones Collca a great tour agencies to go with!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were in San Pedro de Atacama, Chile and wanted to enter Bolivia through the Uyuni Salt Flats. We^d heard some horror stories about drink driving, driver fatigue and car accidents. We were considering skipping it but did research into the companies.

"Lithium Aventura" is a Chilean company which is relatively new and want to make a good name for themselves. They offer the Uyuni Salt Flat tour and use the Bolivian company "Expediciones Collca".

My husband and I were very happy with both companies. Lithium Aventura were very honest and gave us all the correct information. They organised the entire tour and transfers across the border. Once on the Bolivian side, we were picked up by Expediciones Collca. We were two groups each taking up one 4WD. Collca take a third car in case of breakdowns or if anyone becomes too unwell at altitude. Our guides Carpio and Orlando (brothers) were lovely and caring. Out of the group I think I had the worst altitude sickness and Carpio came and gave me some coca leaves to chew on and put some in my tea which really helped.

There was no evidence of drink driving. Both drivers drove with care and did not speed.
They were also our chefs and there was plenty of food - we never went hungry. Our first night in the refugio it dropped to negative 23degrees and our guides woke up 3 times throughout the night to drive the cars around so that they would work in the morning. Both guides were dedicated and we reaññy enjoyed this tour.

NB; if you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is not your tour. It is VERY BASIC. The "refugios" are cold. The first night there is no water for showering (they advise you of this before booking), the second night you must pay $10Bolivianos for a hot shower. The food is basic, but tasty and plenty to go around. If travelling in winter, make sure you accept their offer of sleeping bags - we never were cold in them!

This tour is worth doing - the scenery is magnificent, the salt flat is fantastic!

Lithium Aventura
http://www.travel-lithium.com

Expediciones Collca
http://expedicionescollca.com/

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank ElizabethHayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Maximise your time to get the most out of this trip ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Our trip to was arranged from Australia using a locally run operator.

Unfortunately this meant we ended up spending 3 days doing what could have been covered in one day. Ultimately this took the shine off the experience and I am not sure I would recommend the salt flats as a key highlight of a South American trip

Tips that I can share to potentially make this a better experience

If you can afford to fly in and out of Uyuni then do so. We flew in arriving at 10 am in the morning from La Paz. Having been told no flights were available to return to La Paz we took the bus. 12.5 hours later we arrived in La Paz. Our bus overtook other trucks and consequently got bogged. Luckily an earth moving tractor was out late and could assist. Other buses were bogged as well

When we arrived we were left for a day in Uyuni. There is absolutely nothing to do. In hindsight our salt plane tour could have commenced after getting of the plane.

Day 1 was a good experience driving across the planes and visiting a couple of key sights and photo taking. We started at 10 and finished at 3.45 pm. We stayed in the salt hotel which was a great experience.

Day 2 started at 11 am with a trip to the mummies and bottom of the volcano. We could have added this to Day 1 stayed overnight and got the early morning train out.

I would strongly recommend getting a confirmed itinerary from your tour company to ensure what you paid for us what you get. Ours was a private tour and after reading the other reviews I feel we have been short changed.



Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuggill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salar de Uyuni also viewed

 
Uyuni, Potosi Department
Uyuni, Potosi Department
 

Been to Salar de Uyuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing