We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don’t’ get stuck!”

Geiser Sol de la Manana
Book In Advance
More Info
US$497.00*
and up
5-Day Uyuni Salt Flats and Desert Adventure from La Paz
Ranked #4 of 36 things to do in Uyuni
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
692 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 798 helpful votes
“Don’t’ get stuck!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was one of the big highlights of our 4 day tour from Tupiza to Uyuni. I got some fabulous photos both micro and landscape (see below). My wife wanted to put me on a lead as she was scared I would fall in, but hey…. when there is a shot to be had I can’t resist.. lol. It can actually be quite scary, and our guide told us that a child had fallen in and had both his legs badly burnt, so do be careful.
We arrived at the Geiser to find that a new driver had driven too close to the edge, and was seriously stuck in the mud (see my photos). Lucky for him our driver had a tow rope and was able to pull him out. The picture of the group sitting on the edge are from that vehicle.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    197
    69
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
335 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Highest in the world”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Having just visited the geysers in Northern Chile, this was a different experience. The smell was strong - agreed but the ability to walk up close to the geysers and feel and see the power is something else.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So cool this place !”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I was totally surprised after visiting this place early morning on our 3 days Uyuni Trip.If i had chance to go back to Bolivia i .... During this tour, you will never feel boring !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Passion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
240 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Interesting but go with a mask ;)”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The geysers are pretty interesting, coming out of land most places. The sulphur smell is overbearing, so after a few moments of admiration, i couldn't take the smell.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

No fencing or safety messages here. You can wander around the geysers fairly safely. Just don't get too close and respect nature.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geiser Sol de la Manana also viewed

Uyuni, Potosi Department
Uyuni, Potosi Department
 
Uyuni, Potosi Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Geiser Sol de la Manana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing