We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Uyuni
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very unique!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Cool hotel that definitely has character. The views are amazing since the hotel is right on the edge of the salt flats. My room was comfortable and hot showers felt great after a day on the salt flats. The gentleman at the front desk is super helpful (thank you for squeezing me into that sunrise tour last minute!) Definitely worth checking this place out for a night or two. Only drawback is the cost of taxi to get to and from the hotel. It cost about 300bs to get from Uyuni to the hotel. And the food wasn't great. Breakfast was included which was nice, dinner wasn't very good.

But the great service, amazing sunset views and uniqueness of the hotel outweighs the drawbacks. Try it for at least one night!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stormcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    279
    91
    37
    23
See reviews for
138
330
72
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights and absolutely loved the hotel and the room. Somewhere completely different and quirky. Just a few small issues.

Our room was fantastic. Huge, comfy and warm bed. Lovely modern bathroom. And amazing views of the salt flats. You could actually walk to them from the hotel, but we didn't due to lack of time. Even though the room felt modern, the toilet seat had come completely off and the heater we were provided with didn't work.

The guy on reception (sorry, forgot his name) was lovely and friendly and very helpful.

We didn't experience any issues with hot water, like in some of the other reviews, but the wifi was extremely painful (hardly ever working, then slow when it did)!! We're not the type to go away and spend the whole time on the net, but we had counted on this in order to book some transfers for the next part of our travels.

Food in the restaurant was ok. It was edible and tasted fine!! Breakfast was 'ok' as well. Not a great selection. They did kindly provide breakfast for us on the morning of our departure as we left at 5am, however, whilst they had left tea and cereal and bread, they hadn't left any cutlery or mugs/bowls, so we couldn't actually have anything anyway!!

We tried to arrange a transfer from the airport to the hotel on our arrival, and this was a painful process. We didn't get responses and when we did, they did not address the request. In the end I used google translater to email them in spanish and finally got through, albeit the day we arrived is when we had a response!

We booked a private tour guide through the hotel and whilst the guy who took us was lovely, I can't help but feel we got ripped off. The 'tour' consisted of the driver taking us to the mummies (2 skeletons in a stone hut), the salt museum (a hut with a salt heater in it) and then the afternoon on the salt flats (which was fantastic). We then got dropped back to the hotel for a few hours, then collected later to watch the sunset, then stay to look at the stars. We were provided lunch, which was relatively good quality and 2 drinks (we were told we'd have 6). The cost was $400 for 2 of us, really not great value for money. This did however include a transfer back to the airport in the morning.

Location was great, as per previous posts, 40km from uyuni, however, for us, this was not an issue as we loved being so far away from everything.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it, however, I think Luna Salada need to work on the value for money. Either a lower price, or higher standards.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MeetTheEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

OK, so... pros and cons to make this very clear:
Pro:
Absolutely GORGEOUS place. You should go see it if you happen to be driving by.
Great views of the salt flats from your room.
EXTREMELY kind and helpful front desk staff.
GREAT bed. Great linens.
Cons:
The worst food ever. Yes, I know it's Bolivia. It's literally awful.
Electricity turned off for 10 hours a day (8am-6pm) this means no hot water, no wifi, no convenience whatsoever.
They insist on booking you on a private tour of the flats. You will watch loads of people having a blast drive by you as you sit in your car with a guide you may or may not be able to communicate with.
Thirty minutes from civilization. You're literally stuck here if you stay here, which you shouldn't.
It cost $100USD to do my laundry here. (read that sentence again).
It's an extremely quiet, not fun whatsoever hotel I felt like tip toeing in. Not fun.
Truly prohibitively expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photographeronthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It's not located in downtown of Uyuni. Salar de Uyuni and the downtown are 40km away from each other.
Their restaurant is okay. Some oxygen prepared.
If you like "Salar de Uyuni" very much and need a repeated access, this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisen247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were very much looking forward to staying in this place. It has some good reviews and looked like an interesting place to stay on the Salt Flats.

We were prepared to pay the money as we had been staying in more budget hostels for the rest of our trip.

Firstly, be aware it is NOT in Uyuni- it is 40kms from Uyuni...It is much closer to Colchani than it is to Uyuni. We didn't know about this when we arrived from Potosi. It was very difficult to get a taxi to take us out to the hotel from Uyuni- It was a BOB270 ($40) trip...A lot of the taxi drivers did not want to take us because of the road condition...I think this needs to be advertised better in the future.

I found it very difficult to communicate with the hotel before we arrived. We decided that we wanted to stay an extra day before we arrived and I emailed the hotel about this but I received no reply. After calling numerous times I gave up and we just hoped that they would be able to accommodate us for an extra night. In the end they could, but trying to make the reservation and ask questions about the hotel was nearly impossible as a independent travelers. We found out when we got there that the hotel is mostly booked through agencies and tour groups- so I guess this is why we found it so hard to reserve rooms- Their main office is in La Paz so you basically can't phone hotel directly.

Once you are there, it is in a great position over looking the flats. Unfortunately there was construction going on at the time, and this affected the view from our room but despite this the scenery is lovely. You are obviously stranded there if you are not with a tour, but this is sometimes not such a bad thing- in the end we quite enjoyed the isolation.

The bedrooms are interestingly made, but at times services like hot water didn't work. Our room wasn't serviced but we requested this and it was done.

The restaurant was pricey and the food OK, nothing special. Because of the isolation they can charge what they like and we felt that they did.

We enjoyed the table tennis and pool table.

Overall we thought it would be more luxurious for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We found that we thought we were nearing our Hotel after a really long drive from Potasi ,only to be told it was another 40k to go was a real pain.
Saying that we really enjoyed our stay at the Salt Hotel and would recommend it for a nights stay.
The Wi Fi did not work at all but they were helpful in giving my husband the oxygen to help Altitude Sickness.The beds were comfortable and warm.
I agree with a previous review that the bedroom floors should be tiled like the Bathroom as they are messy and hard to walk on when you are getting ready or come out the bathroom the mats get covered in the loose salt.
But it has a nice feel very relaxed and the food we had was fine,I would definitely stay hear when visiting the Salt Flats

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
334 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This had been written up as a great experience, yes the view over the salt lakes is great and the hotel has a superb location. The entire building is constructed from local materials mainly salt, I did however find it a little off putting that the entire floor / s were also from shaved salt cuttings. The food was not particularly brilliant and heard several guests commenting that it was tasteless. We also had a problem with a hair dryer that did not work, was replaced quickly, only to appear to overheat and had to be given 5 minutes to cool down before it worked again. Anyway not so much of a problem until we had a knock on the door at 9.45 asking whether we would like the heating turned on. Yes we would - would it work - No, but the staff said they would come straight back to fix it, did they reappear? No they didn't.
All together - quite disappointing, particularly given the efforts made in some of the other more basic hotels we had stayed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lunasaladahoteldesal, Front Office Manager at Hotel de Sal Luna Salada, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,
First all we are deeply sorry for all the inconveniences you had to experience during your stay at our property. However were glad you gave us this review so we can improve and work on the things you've mentioned.Regarding the food issue we strive to provide the best products and food service around the area and were actually working on a training program for all our personnel for them to deliver a better service. Once again thank you for your time in making this review and we were very pleased to have had you as a guest.


Andrea Lora
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Sal
Hotel Palacio de Sal
#2 of 10 in Uyuni
323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cristal Samana Salt Hotel
16.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Los Girasoles Hotel
Los Girasoles Hotel
#8 of 10 in Uyuni
116 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel de Sal Casa Andina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jumari
Hotel Jumari
#2 of 17 in Uyuni
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Sal Luna Salada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sal Luna Salada

Property: Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
Address: A Orillas Del Salar de Uyuni | Salar de Uyuni, Uyuni 0000, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Region: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Uyuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Sal Luna Salada 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Salada Hotel built purely out of salt blocks, offers a  high-level Andean Cuisine, Free Wi-Fi internet access in the Lobby, free parking and a very complete buffet breakfast. A Unique hotel offering rooms with stunning panoramic views of the Uyuni salt flats, which are finely decorated with salt blocks and handicrafts of  the area, also equipped with heating, seating areas and private bathrooms. Luna Salada is situated on the edge of the salt flats and the small town of Uyuni is 25 km away, where the Joya Andina Airport is also situated . The restaurant offers regional and international dishes. You can request lunch and dinner for a fee. You can enjoy reading a book in the fireplace area or as well book an excursion to visit the salt mine. There is also a games room with pool tables and ping pong. In addition, it offers a bicycle rental service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Sal Luna Salada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Luna Salada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing