We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, a hotel made of salt!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Sal Luna Salada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Uyuni
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow, a hotel made of salt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place was an amazing stay after a full day of 4wding from La Paz. Very beautiful and just simply very cool that everything is made of salt, including the bed. We only stayed for one night and were completely happy. A unique experience we shall remember and the perfect introduction to the salt flat tour (where accommodation was definitely on the basic side!).

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similar. Big hotel very quiet and had a great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiEm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    270
    87
    35
    21
See reviews for
134
313
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is very unique given its construction and is deceptively huge. We stayed in a beautiful room with great views over the salt flats. It was freezing at the time but the room had plenty of blankets. The staff were not overly helpful and we had issues with the wi-fi but the dinner was lovely and the room was very cosy. It was nice to explore Uyuni during the day then retreat to the hotel at night. It was also a very easy point to start the salt flats tour the next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chamd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel itself is amazing, lovely structure and great ideas with the salt. And if you don't get a room facing the salt flats, don't worry! They have several common areas with fire places and great views.
Not only the hotel is awesome, the staff is great, friendly and super helpful.
And to top it all, the food is great, we preordered lunch and the chef came out to talk to us, know what we liked and prepared something special for us.
All and all it was a great experience and worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook Norton, Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a very good hotel by Bolivian standards and offers clean accommodation in a spectacularly beautiful area. We stayed in a salt room where everything, the bed, tables, even floor, are made of salt. This sounds charming but in reality a salt floor (think big pieces of rock salt) is hard work: it's uncomfortable underfoot and gets everywhere. The bathroom was OK: clean but basic. We always had plenty of hot water though, which was good!

My main criticism is that it's freezing! The rooms had a heater in them, alongside radiators that didn't work, but even with the heater we never managed to warm the room up that much. The corridors outside are completely unheated and were bitterly cold. The restaurant had a little heating, but I ended up walking around in fleece and padded, down jacket every time I left the room. Saying that, just about everywhere in Bolivia, other than in La Paz,, seemed to be unheated.

The food was great, especially considering how remote this is. Breakfast was plentiful and dinner, a buffet, enjoyable with lots of choice.

If you're visiting Uyuni this would seem to be the best option. I would avoid the town itself which looked horrible and more than a little unsafe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_and_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is made of salt and it is on the edge of the desert. The location and the atmosphere is very unique. If you want to have a unique experience, you may choose this hotel. You can even walk to the desert from the hotel. It is a bit expensive and cold and most of the staff can not speak english. Wifi connection was very bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bülent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived at the luna salada after an incredible day on the salar. The outside appearance of the building is not attractive, yet the magic starts as soon as you open the door and enter the reception area.

Salt constructions give a unique atmosphere (especially the salt crunchy floor) and you see immediately that comfort is at a much higher level than most hotels in Bolivia.

Comfortable alcoves with heating everywhere to enjoy the stunning view on the salar, nice rooms (spacious, well arranged, clean, hot water any time), nice restaurant area. Very decent food at the restaurant (make sure to spot the burgers on the snacks page of the menu) and good service.

Definitely, avoid uyuni if you can and try this one.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ground floor have direct access to the heated alcoves with view on the salar while some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed one night in this hotel and despite them loosing the travel cards, it was pleasant.

It is such a strange place, with the majority of things being made of salt, even the beds. The views from the little alcoves in front of the rooms are great, and the sunset is fantastic.

The staff seem to run everywhere, but are friendly. The food was good and the chef also did his best for vegetarians.

The rooms were very cold, but had a gas heater and electric blankets. Wifi was very weak.

Room Tip: Get one on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colins5286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Sal
Hotel Palacio de Sal
#2 of 10 in Uyuni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cristal Samana Salt Hotel
16.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Los Girasoles Hotel
Los Girasoles Hotel
#8 of 10 in Uyuni
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel de Sal Casa Andina
16.4 mi away
Tonito Hotel
Tonito Hotel
#3 of 17 in Uyuni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Sal Luna Salada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sal Luna Salada

Property: Hotel de Sal Luna Salada
Address: A Orillas Del Salar de Uyuni | Salar de Uyuni, Uyuni 0000, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Region: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Uyuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Sal Luna Salada 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Salada Hotel built purely out of salt blocks, offers a  high-level Andean Cuisine, Free Wi-Fi internet access in the Lobby, free parking and a very complete buffet breakfast. A Unique hotel offering rooms with stunning panoramic views of the Uyuni salt flats, which are finely decorated with salt blocks and handicrafts of  the area, also equipped with heating, seating areas and private bathrooms. Luna Salada is situated on the edge of the salt flats and the small town of Uyuni is 25 km away, where the Joya Andina Airport is also situated . The restaurant offers regional and international dishes. You can request lunch and dinner for a fee. You can enjoy reading a book in the fireplace area or as well book an excursion to visit the salt mine. There is also a games room with pool tables and ping pong. In addition, it offers a bicycle rental service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Sal Luna Salada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Luna Salada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing