We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bergland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Colonia Tovar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Bergland
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Food was so good we went for lunch and dinner.
Specially recomended:
Twice cooked duck
Tropical salad
Tomato soup
Onion soup

Dishes are very well served!
Just pointing out....

Area is really beautiful, parking lot is ok. For staying you must book at least a month in advance, that's why we just went to the restaurant

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PietroAlberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    48
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
73
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

In Colonia Tovar you will not find luxury hotels, so this is not a 5 star hotel, but it is clean, comfortable, nice, and it has a great restaurant (my favorite). The service is excelent. Deniteley the best option in Colonia Tovar.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We recently visited the famous restaurant form Bergland's Hotel and we love it, the variety of things to choose is very good, i tried a nice carpaccio and shrimps made on the grill with a rissotto, no words to say how good was it.! from the restaurant you have a panoramic view to the mountains. We took a nice bottle of argentinian whine, deserts are very beautifull decorated. they accept credit cards form payment. Our experience was very excellent, but is a bit far when you are walking so ask the locals how to arrive, is not in the center of the Colonia Tovar.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeneTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I stayed there in jan 2012 for one night. The rooms are confortable and nicely appointed, clean bathrooms. Great view from the balcony. It's fair to say that this is a well mantained 3-star property. This place is apparently well known for its restaurant, it was very crowded at all times. The dinner was by far the best we had in Venezuela, not fancy but delicious , fresh and plentiful. The service is good. Breakfast was simply great, it's served at your table and you dont have many things to choose but it's fresh and tasty. The freshly baked bread and homemade berry jam were amazing, the cold cuts and the cheese are locally produced.

We only regret to have stayed only one night.

Room Tip: High floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesyp_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Bergland Hotel is one of the nicest hotels in a crazy colonial outpost of all things German, Colonia Tovar. The colony, founded in the mid 1800s and then promptly forgotten by everyone, was inaccessible until about 80 years later when a road was being built into the mountains. Lo and behold, the Venezuelan engineers found a whole village full of blond-haired, blue-eyed German speakers (whose ranks were no doubt swelled after the Second World War).

The town has built its fortunes on tourism since then and it is more German that most Bavarian villages. I stayed here for two nights with my cousin in October, 2011, and then for another night with colleagues. My cousin's initial reaction was, "I can't stay here!" True, the rooms are spare and functional -- the Fairmont this is not! Once I told her that this was this nicest hotel in town, she relented, especially when she saw the gorgeous view from balcony. A glorious mountain panorama of lush, verdant vegetation and twinkling lights from the valley below spread out before us. Especially thrilling was leaving the balcony doors open as clouds rolled by and filled the room with heavy, most air.

So the rooms are what you would expect in a rural motel. It's all clean, it's functional, and occasionally you can find a movie on TV in English if your Spanish isn't that good. The biggest attraction at the Bergland, however, is not the room; it's the food!

The restaurant is about as German as you can get. The food is top quality and oftens a good variety of meat and sausage, as you would expect, but also salads and fish if that is more your speed. The desserts are as heavenly as the views from the window. The chocolate mousse served with a creme brulee and a scoop of mocha ice cream was one of the best desserts I've eaten anywhere in the world -- anywhere.

Getting to Colonia Tovar can be tiresome. The road is in typical condition for Venezuela: bumpy and ridden with potholes with the occasional landslide to keep things interesting. The average ride from central Caracas is about 2.5 hours. However, after the insanity that is the capital, Colonia Tovar is a haven of tranquility and good food. The accommodation is adequate, but the food is to die for!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main block have outstanding views. The cabanas, above the restaurant, don't al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miccodxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This place is awesome - the views are beautiful, the food is tasty and the service is pretty good too. I stayed just one night and I would have liked to stay longer. A great weekend get away from Caracas.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view. The cottages do not have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

My wife and I love this place,excellent view,great comfort and the food is the best of the best.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarugon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Colonia Tovar
23.3 mi away
Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande
23.2 mi away
Eurobuilding Express Maracay
24.6 mi away
Eurobuilding Express Maiquetia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
215.5 mi away
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
#5 of 8 in Punto Fijo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergland

Property: Hotel Bergland
Address: Sector El Calvario, via La Victoria, La Colonia Tovar, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Central Region > La Colonia Tovar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Colonia Tovar
Number of rooms: 198

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing