We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best island holiday ever!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ha'atafu Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Tongatapu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best island holiday ever!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My hubby and I came here for a total holiday of relaxation. We were not disappointed! We will be booking to go again next year. Hola, Moana, Steve and the rest of the team are amazing hospitable people. The food is incredible and the accomodation is gorgeous. Surf was cranking so husband was happy and the sun was shining so I was happy! We will bring the kids next time as the snorkelling is amazing! Back to basics at its best!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
87
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We came back for a second time because we enjoyed the first experience so much and we were not disappointed. The included meals- breakfast and dinner- are consistently absolutely delicious. The accommodation is excellent. The location is awesome and if you are a surfer- its fantastic as there are so many different options especially if you are happy to go out in the boat. The reef in the lagoon out the front of the resort is amazing- was surprised the second time around with how many different fish there were as I had forgotten! If you like kayaking, you can use the resort kayaks for free to get a different perspective of the lagoon. The atmosphere is so friendly and we have made new friends each time we've been.

Room Tip: If you prefer having your own bathroom and screened rooms, choose the premium beachfront- it is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great stay with family, nice beach for laying on, warm water to swim in lagoon. had some good waves too. great friendly service, very chilled. good food.

Lots of kids for daughter to play with.

Loved the trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went over to Tonga to visit family but at the last minute decided to get away for the night, Steve (the owner) was really accommodating.
If you have travelled around the pacific and stayed in other resorts you cant compare Ha'atafu with them, theres no staff in uniforms or a pool with cocktails and as nice as those things can be Ha'atafu offer a real personal service and family atmosphere which we loved.
There was something for everyone, I got to lay on the beach, my husband got to play in the surf and our 11yr old boy had made great use of the snorkels and kayaks.
One of the things I did appreciate the most about the resort is their care for the environment, encouraging to reuse plastic bottles etc.
Next time we go back to Tonga we will be booking in the stay at Ha'atafu for more then 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Friends had recommended this family run resort but even then, it surpassed our expectations. Ha'atafu is a great place for a blobby break, when you really feel the need to step off the rat race of life. Not much to do on Tonga tapu except rest, read and swim. Don't stay here however if you like to keep to yourself as the communal dining promotes inter-mingling. The breakfasts and dinners are great, food never ran short and shared facilities are kept exceptionally clean. It's a great place for families as the kids run free and the lagoon swimming is really safe. Highly recommended, will return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Local_Lizl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narooma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently stayed at Ha'atafu Beach Resort as part of a large group (21). Hola & Moana were gorgeous hosts, nothing was a problem, even for a large group like ours. Rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable, food was delicious and catered for all tastes.We had no bathroom, but was not a problem, after swimming all day, you only needed a quick rinse at night. After 10 days it felt like we were leaving as family friends rather than guests at a resort. It was lovely for the kids to be able to play and interact with the staff's children. The perfect getaway for relaxing, reading a good book, snorkling, surfing, fishing or paddleboarding. Easy having such a kiddy friendly lagoon right out the front. Really enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeiMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights en-route to Vavaú, in one of the two premium fales (#11). The view to the water and the sound of the water at night were very pleasant, and the overhead fan was whisper quiet. Meals were quite good, and the friendliness of the staff was great. Would also recommend Holty's next door for meals and drinks.

Room Tip: The two Premium Fales are joined and equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongatapu Island
10.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
9.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
171 reviews
9.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
11.4 mi away
Fafa Island Resort
Fafa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fafa Island
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha'atafu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha'atafu Beach Resort

Property: Ha'atafu Beach Resort
Address: Ha'atafu Beach | Ha'atafu Beach, Tongatapu Island n/a, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tongatapu Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, locally owned and family operated resort offering limited occupancy and catering for our resort guests exclusively. This ensures our guests enjoy a quiet, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere around the resort. Established in 1979 and located on the beachfront at Ha'atafu Beach .... Tongatapu's premier swimming, snorkelling and recreational beach. We welcome families with children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ha`Atafu Beach Hotel Tongatapu Island
Ha'Atafu Beach Resort Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing