We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heilala Holiday Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Ha'atafu Beach Resort(Tongatapu Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Banana Beach House(Tongatapu Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Little Italy Hotel(Nuku'alofa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Lodge(Nuku'alofa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loumaile Lodge(Nuku'alofa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterfront Lodge(Nuku'alofa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
269
104
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
104
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior falecommunal kitchenfishfree bikesisland tourtropical breakfastevery morningbeautiful beachpapaya jamfresh fruitreef shoesother guestsother resortsrelaxing holidaydrinking waterstandard roombeach towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stunning place the nicest people you can imagine running it. The rooms were beautifully looked after. The food was amazing every night. Stunning breakfast to start the day. I can't say enough good stuff about the place. Only thing I would recommend is bringing duty free because the beer is very expensive and hard to find there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at Heilala in April 2013 and had a wonderfully relaxing time. If you are looking for somewhere quiet to stay where you can snorkel, swim, read a book, relax in a hammock then this is a top spot. It is a fair way out from Nuku'alofa so not the place to stay if you are working in the town centre, but it is the perfect place to stay if you want a holiday. I thought the food was great and I loved going to sleep listening to the waves rolling on the beach. Great service and great value for money, wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eats_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just back from 8 nights at Heilala Holiday Lodge where we had a nice relaxing holiday.
We stayed in a superior fale which was clean and well equipped with all the basic requirements, a nice hot shower, reasonably comfortable bed, fridge and jug etc.
We did eat most of our meals in the restaurant and while there was not a huge selection we did think that what was on offer was well prepared and presented and at a reasonable price.
Breakfasts were included and were sufficient but you could order more also at very reasonable prices if required.
The orientation trip into Nukualofa was appreciated and we were impressed that we were not pressured to ensure they made every last dollar out of their guests as is the case at some places.
We mainly go for the snorkeling and while there was not a lot to see just offshore it would satisfy most people who are not totally into snorkeling.
We did manage to get through the surf and out beyond the reef on two occasions and that was great, plenty of blacktip reef sharks, reasonable coral and loads of fish.
You do however need to be very confident of your ability if you venture outside the reef and really be in tune to the conditions which can change quickly.
Thanks Heilala for an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smandkjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

In April 2013 I stayed at Heilala with a few of my friends for 7 nights and it was again FANTASTIC! This is paradise with its warm, clear water, the beautiful garden and the comfortable fales. This time we knew we could bring food from NZ which makes things a lot easier as the communal kitchen is there for everyone to use, although the dinners offered in the restaurant on site are very yummy too. We were very lucky with the weather and swam EVERY day, read books in the hammock, played games and had lots of laughs! The best is the tranquility - pure bliss!
Thanks again Sven, Kalo and your team for making our holiday perfect!!

Room Tip: I would recommend paying a little more to have the Superior Fale which has a fridge and a table as well as tea/coffee facilities in the fale and a shelf in the bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mecki22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at Heilala for 5 nights in April 2013. We were lucky to have 6 days of 29C and sunshine. We stayed in a Superior fale (fridge and coffee facilities) but this is not necessary as you can use the communcal kitchen too. Fales are 30 seconds from the beach - not much to do but that's the attraction. Spent our days swimming, on the beach or in the hammock. One day we did an island tour which was excellent - saw the main sights - the blowholes and the cave swim being the best. Nuku'alofa is really not worth a visit in itself but I'm glad the tour stopped by so we could have a look.

We did the Friday night buffet and Tongan show evening at the resort just south (400m) of Heilala. Had a good time. Try the Brown Eyed Girl cocktail.

Bring food and drinks with you - snacks, cheese, wine etc. We ate dinners at Heilala (chicken, fish variations with rice or potato done Tonga style - tasty).

If you're into surfing the waves were pretty good on the reef. I just snorkelled and kayaked in the lagoon. High tide is best as it gets quite shallow.

Will definitely go back to Heilala for some R&R. Sven and his staff were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BradAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews