We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heilala Holiday Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hosts.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent a week at the Heilala Holiday Lodge and absolutely loved it. It is a fantastic getaway for couples, an idyllic spot surrounded by lovely gardens. Sven and Karolina are incredible hosts and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The facilities were clean and tidy, and the superior fale was awesome, especially having our own fridge. I would suggest taking a wetsuit if you plan on spending time in the water it averaged about 22-23 degrees, I was pleased I brought mine. There is awesome snorkeling with many species of fish just out in front of the Heilala Lodge and we even got to see a whale breaching from the beach. The Vakaloa or Vakanoa resort just down the road had a neat buffet and show. Bikes and most other facilities were free to use which was a great bonus. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Go for the superior fale the fridge and jug/ tea, coffee was a definite bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kerrin3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    99
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
69
189
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dugandan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed one week at Heilala and were just impressed with the friendliness of our hosts! Our superior fale was very cosy, romantic and clean! We loved relaxing in the hammock and just chilling at the stunning, very peaceful beach! I can't wait to get back ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maike79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed one month (the whole June) here and really liked it. The owners care for everything and the place is really tidy. There is a shared shower that is cleaned twice every day, the same with the shared toilets. The community kitchen is tidy as well and has enough cooking equipment. The next village is just a 5 minute walk away and with the free bikes it is just one minute. In de village there are a number of little stores where you can get almost everything that you need for cooking and breakfast.
If you don't want to cook in the kitchen you can have dinner in the restaurant. It is really enough to get full and tastes awesome! All they serve for dinner is selfmade and almost everything from the island. Sometimes they even try to do european dishes like "Kohlrabi".
The lodge is situated directly at the beach, which means you are there within 50 meters. You do not have to cross a street or something, just take your stuff and enjoy. There is a reef outsidee in the ocean which sometimes come out of the water on extreme low tides. Then you can walk over the corals to the reef and walk on it!
I can only recommend to stay here on your Tonga visit - I you will not find a better price for value ratio on the whole island. And that in a really friendly and family-like athmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeikoK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were looking for somewhere to relax and do nothing for a mid-winter break, and spent six days at Heilala Lodge. The setting is spectacular, with the fales set amongst tropical plants, and the beach just a few steps from the fales. The fales are simple but perfect for what you need for this kind of trip - the bathroom lighting is a bit too dim (I struggled with my contact lens in there), and the shower drain needed to be cleaned, but otherwise it was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. I spent most of my time in a hammock on our fale's porch, reading or sleeping.
An "island breakfast" is provided - for me it wasn't enough food (I need a decent breakfast to get my day started!), and some of the additional items you could purchase for breakfast were a bit overpriced (T$0.50 for a slice of bread!), but we had prepared for this and brought some breakfast items with us to Tonga. The communal kitchen is sparsely equipped (some sort of wooden stirrer would help greatly), and if several of you are trying to prepare food or eat at the same time, it's a bit challenging, but there was enough there for us to make ourselves lunch.
There is an option to preorder dinner from a limited menu (usually two items each day), which we did a couple of times, but overall we felt that, while the dinner options were good home cooking, they were a little overpriced for the serving size and food quality (especially the "mornay" - cooking something - chicken, fish, eggplant - and throwing a cheese sauce over it isn't really the most exciting meal).
The preordering system also means to you might miss out on a meal when you first arrive - we arrived just after lunch, which meant we were too late to order dinner that first night (or even get any lunch that day), so had to walk up the beach to the next resort for meals (which was fine, as their food was delicious - just not what we'd planned!).
We would happily return to Heilala in the future, although next time would pack even more of our own food supplies.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divagoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilala, Owner at Heilala Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Malo e lelei Divagoddes, Thank you for your review and our apology that you have been able to find so many faults in our services & facilities. As faults touch so many different areas of the operation we decided to gather all members of our team to discuss your points. The outcome was that there are always things that could be improved upon and many features that could be added. We have taken some suggestions on board and would also like to take this opportunity to clarify the pre-order system for meals. All meals offered are prepared by the two ladies of the house in a home style fashion (no throwing sauces over dishes we assure you ;-) and so far we have always been able to accommodated late arrivals with either a dinner meal or a transfer arrangement to a nearby Restaurant. If you arrived several hours before dinner and we were not able to accommodate, the only reason we can think of could have been that our Restaurant was unavoidably closed that night and transfers to the nearby Restaurants were offered. Hope the info's are helpful. All the best and Ofa atu, Your Heilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

On a recent holiday to Tonga we chanced upon Heilala on Trip Advisor and booked just from the number of great reviews. We were definitely not disappointed and stayed at both the beginning and end of our holiday.

The location, accommodation, beach and area are great - about 25 mins out of the main town. The beach is great for just laying in the sun, swimming, walking and snorkeling.

The breakfasts are lovely with fresh fruit, tea and coffee and toast and you can order all sorts of add-on's if you like your eggs (like me). You can also order dinner and these are very lovely and well presented in the dinning room with hurricane lanterns flickering in the evening light.

The Fales are very clean and smart, up to date bathrooms and very comfortable.

We loved the place so much that we recommended it to two other couples who changed their accommodation and booked in Heilala.

Would go back again in a heartbeat...

Room Tip: Al the Fales are lovely - the superior come with your own fridge. Note also that there were sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TFMS-Esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This time last year we stated at Heilala and I wrote my first ever trip advisor review- praising the service,setting and atmosphere at this lodge. One cannot really endorse a resort more than returning to it. We have just had another week at Heilala and on the strength of that we hope to have a third in '14.We invited friends this year and they endorsed our recommendation.

The amenities are basic but clean and tidy and very pleasant. The beach and garden setting is superb. Sven and Kalolina are great efficient and friendly hosts, arrangers of excursions and someone is a damned good cook too.

Room Tip: The bedrooms are basic and reflect the pricing but the beds are good. The fales are more private and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at Heilala Holiday Lodge for a week with my mum - we had a wonderful time; the owners were friendly & helpful and the grounds itself are lovely. The lodge is right on the beach, snorkelling equipment is provided for free and the complimentary breakfast each morning is delicious. We borrowed Heilala's bikes to go cycling most days (they have 5 - all are free to use). Would thoroughly recommend this place for a down-to-earth polynesian island holiday, we want to go back again!

Room Tip: Choose the Tongan Fales - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 926Turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tongatapu Island hotels
9.3 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
171 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
8.9 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heilala Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heilala Holiday Lodge

Property: Heilala Holiday Lodge
Address: Palm Avenue | Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island TBU, Tonga
Phone Number:
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malo e lelei from the Kingdom of Tonga! If you are looking for a relaxed, friendly, homestyle "beach garden getaway" in the Kingdom of Tonga, the Heilala Holiday Lodge on Ha'atafu Beach at Kanokupolu may just be the place you have been looking for. Over 1km of sandy beach, wave surfing, snorkeling, or simply relaxing in your hammock. All the best and we hope to welcome you in our little peace of paradise soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heilala Holiday Hotel Tongatapu Island
Heilala Holiday Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing