We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super scuba/snorkeling”
Review of Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd. - CLOSED

Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd.
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are undergoing a change of ownership, apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. Activities to be confirmed.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super scuba/snorkeling”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The nice people at Fins ´n´ Flukes can help with all the small things wanted at place like Ha Appai. Very helpful indeed. We needed a boat transfer to Uoleva when no one else on the island had fuel, Brian sorted us out. Fins ´n´ Flukes had great no-problem-service and made us a great scuba diving trip. Some of us went snorkeling while others wanted to dive. This was no problem since they knew of awesome locations were snorkeling and scuba diving both were possible. Good gear, nice prices and eco-conscious operators make it great value.
Also want to mention that the people behind Fins ´n´ Flukes soon will open accommodation on the island, and if I go back I will definitely stay with them. Check them out and you will not regret it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikolai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    9
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finding Nemo”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Originally, we only wanted to rent some bikes, snorkeling gear and a boat transfer to Uoleva Island. After getting some good advice regarding the best snorkeling spots by Lifuka Island and Foa Island Brian asked us whether we'd want to try some scuba diving on our way to Uoleva - we've never been scuba diving before and we were very excited about the opportunity to try that sport in such a great location. Despite being absolute scuba diving novices, we swam nicely with the colourful fish around the reefs under Brian's careful supervision (while Sabine was guarding our stuff on the boat).
Overall, it was a great experience and Brian and Sabine were very accommodating with regards to gear pick-up and return. The gear was well cared for and the prices were fair.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice people,briliant diving”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

very good service,good equipment,pleasure to dive with them

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirek-Stotker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing scuba diving in the coral sea with great instructor - well spent money !!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

It`s beautiful place for amazing scuba diving on the coral reef. It`s possible to see under water garden heaps of colourful fish, turtles and sometime it`s possible to see whales as well (July-October). I can just recommend.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic personalised scuba diving experience”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Excellent scuba diving in clear waters with pristine coral and loads of aquatic life. Fins and Flukes offers fantastic, friendly and personalised service, with excellent equipment and knowledge and respect for the sea.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd. also viewed

 
Foa Island, Ha'apai Islands
Foa Island, Ha'apai Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing