We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whales, whales, whales”
Review of Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd. - CLOSED

Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd.
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are undergoing a change of ownership, apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. Activities to be confirmed.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Whales, whales, whales”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you're in Tonga to see the whales then this is the place to stay. Fins 'n' Flukes is well run with basic but clean accomodation (with a great beach house feel), good priced yummy food/drinks and the location is spectacular. Brian and Sabine are friendly and helpful, and go to a huge effort to get you up close and personal with the whales in a way that is safe and friendly (for both you and the whales). A wonderful break from it all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinsNFlukes, Owner at Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd., responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Safe and friendly,

you said it in two.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    9
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Tonga Heaven”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you are looking for a remote, peaceful, quiet, untouched gem of an island with the rare opportunity of swimming with Whales, awesome diving, clean and cosy accommodation with the friendliest hosts ever then you must stay here!! Brian and Sabine have made this a haven for any traveller wanting to visit Ha'apai and are attentive to everyone's needs (including the Whales!) Even though the sun only shined for 1 day of my 8 day trip it no way affected the 8 dives I did (in 20 - 30m clear water) or the 2 days Whale Watching i went on. I was lucky enough to see and swim with plenty of whales and get that much wanted shot of mother and calf underwater :) There's no experience like it! The food cooked by Graham the chef was really really yum with several choices for each night's dinner and they have a good book selection with comfy hammocks or a gorgeous white sandy beach for those days you just want to sit and do nothing but relax. I felt extremely at home at Fins n Flukes and i think every penny spent on being there was more than worth it - im already planning a trip to go back and stay there next year if they'll have me! It was an unforgettable holiday and my thanks goes out to Brian and Sabine. I miss them already! :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisapizzapie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinsNFlukes, Owner at Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd., responded to this review, 21 August 2013
What, every penny was worth it! Maybe we forgot to charge you for something :-)

Graham gets another shout for the food, cool That man can cook!!!

We are always attentive to our guests and to the whales, you and they are the only reason we can do what we do.

Thanks for your nice words, it means a lot truely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great whale experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Swimming with whales is an amazing experience. We spent a week with Brian and Sabine and took their advice to book 3 whale swim trips. Despite some windy weather, their skilled boatmanship enabled us to be safely the water with whales on all days. Great snorkelling too, especially on the house reef (about 20 steps from our cabins). We couldn't fault our accomodation and they have a fantastic chef.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinsNFlukes, Owner at Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd., responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hey, you get out what you put in.

We recommend 3 days minimum because if you have had the courage to make it this far into the pacific already what's the point in stopping when you arrive.

Give the whales the time they need and they will reciprocate. You might luck out on day 1, you might not, you might luck out on day 2 or you might not, you might luck out on day 3 or you might not so book five days instead in case you luck out on the fifth.

Nice to get some feedback on the house reef, thanks, it is pretty sweet! Especially at night1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must for the bucket list”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The whale watching and swimming with the whales is a privileged experience made more special with Brian and Sabine whom are very knowledgable and attentive hosts. The scuba diving is also excellent which adds a bit of variety when whale sightings can be variable at the start and end of season.

Unlike Vavau Haapai is less commercialised which adds to the experience.

Definitely the best place to stay which is far enough out of Pangai not to be disturbed at night by barking dogs which is a problem throughout Tonga. In fact this was the only place we had uninterrupted sleep. The accommodation at Fins,n,Flukes although backpacker style is clean and comfortable which is perfectly adequate after a day at sea. Tonga is a poor country surviving on a subsistence basis, there are no resorts so look elsewhere if pretentious bling is you thing.

One small detractor about the boat which could be a bit perturbing for some is the lack of any toilet which could be an issue when your at sea for 6 hours. Most travellers suffer stomach upsets at sometime which gives you 3 choices.

1) wait until you return to port

2) option 1 is not feasible when your busting so more than likely you may soil yourself.

3) relieve yourself in the sea hanging onto a rope ( its bio degrade able after all)

When we were there myself and some others had to take option 3, it's really not that bad as you don't care about the embarrassment when your desperate and no one wants to look anyway

A useful tip is to take off your wet suit 1st otherwise it can be a bit inconvenient as woman found out. Despite the lack of toilet option 2 & 3 was a novelty and amusement factor.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank reverend-spock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinsNFlukes, Owner at Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd., responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Uninterrupted sleep, wow. It is true, Tonga is noisy, the culture is noisy. Thankfully we have a quiet spot and we do our best to keep it quiet, very quiet. This involves man methods of capturing and removing native animals, including but not limited to pigs, dogs, horses, roosters, chickens, chickens that think they are roosters, geckos, crickets, geckos, fruit bats, more pigs, crickets, cows, donkey's, grunting fish, local rapstar parties, goats, wild jungle fowl, thirsty cows, cars, lorries, hermit crabs, terns, giant centipedes, black and white noddies, frigate birds, did I mention cows and the thirsty ones, cats, preying mantises's, it that can even be plural, Pacific Pidgeon, Kulu Kulu, Barn Owls and whales breathing close to the beach during the hours of night?

Noise reducing headphones will soon be added to our "what to bring to Tonga" list.

Addie, splashing noises from swimming pigs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coolest place in Pangai' Ha'apai Group”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Although this is not 5 star accommodation it is the best for mid-priced accommodation and excellent situation for Pangai, Ha’apai Group. Welcoming, clean, good food, lovely sheltered beach. The coolest place on the island on the hammocks under the trees by the beach; treated to fresh coconuts by the gardener. 15 minute leisurely walk to the shops and café, just far enough outside not to be bothered by the night noises of dogs and roosters. As it’s mid-priced you get the choice of the extras or not – the other resorts have the same pricing system but they’re much more expensive and they’re a 30 km round trip to town down a bad road so your at the mercy of their food pricing. Matafonua, although beautiful, suffered from the onshore wind whereas Fins n Flukes was totally cool and calm. Poor old Brian – somebody said he’s weird – obviously never met an Irishman before! I didn’t get to do the diving or swimming with whales but its obvious these guys know their stuff and if there’s anywhere to learn to dive this is it - I would trust them completely.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinsNFlukes, Owner at Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd., responded to this review, 21 August 2013
It really is the coolest place, just keep an eye out for the Irish guy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fins 'n' Flukes Ltd. also viewed

 
Foa Island, Ha'apai Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing