We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Neiafu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lucky's Beach Houses
Ranked #2 of 9 Neiafu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Kurt and Lynn have found paradise in Tonga and are kind enough to share it with travelers. After a few days on the main island it was so nice to settle down for a few days of doing nothing except snorkeling (right off the beach in front of the property), kayaking to nearby islands and swinging in a hammock. We felt right at home in The Blue House- perfect for a couple. We planned ahead and got in a good supply of fresh fruit and goodies to go with the duty free - far better than staying in a resort, with privacy, our own facilities and hosts on hand if we needed them. Tonga's choice of accommodation is limited and we felt that we had found one the the best places on Vava'u.
Swimming with the whales is a must do! Absolutely amazing to see so close up.

Room Tip: The fales are very romantic but we preferred the blue house as it had a small kitchen and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleRiverCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a fantastically quiet chilled out time at Luckys. The Owners Kurt and Lynn made us feel most welcome. We stayed in the small traditional Fale which was an absolute bargain and perfect for our 2 night stay. The Small Fale has lights, an electrical socket for charging ipads, etc, mosquito nets and is only 10 yards from the beach. It is located in the gardens.

The other 3 huts are right on the beach. Luckys is in a lovely quiet village. Kurt ran us up to a nearby resort for dinner one night and Lynn cooked an amazing homecooked dinner on the other night.

The beach is lovely, with crystal clear water and plenty of fish and critters to see. There's good snorkelling and free use of the 3 single person kayaks. We took them for a paddle around a nearby island and enjoyed just watching the fish and coral through the crystal clear water. Amazing location and value. Thanks again!

Room Tip: The Small Fale is small and located in the gardens so if you do need space then choose one of the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_S_Hartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I had stayed three nights in the blue house. Clean and comfortable, with kitchen and shower. Very clear colorful just 10 meters away in front of you. It was so nice to have meal or drink, with beautiful view, with the lovely wave sound, with soft wind! Wonderful relax time! Lynn and Kurt are really nice couple and very helpful. It is a little bit from town center, located in a small village. It was very interesting to talk with Tonga kids when walking around the village. Anyhow just be relax there!

Room Tip: Blue house for two at max, green house for 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanpearl1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I spent two nights at Lucky's and wish I could have stayed longer.
The beach front was absolutely wonderful and kayaks are available to guest free of charge.
Kurt and Lynn definitely make the difference. Lynn's home cooked meals were the best I had on the island. The first night I was there after one of Lynn's fine meals I sat out on the dock with Kurt and was amazed by the starry night sky.
While the small fale is quite small (room for two twin beds only), the outside cooking area is around the corner and clean bathroom facilities are across the yard. The larger cottages have their own facilities.
I had two wonderful days/nights of fun and complete relaxation. Visiting Lucky's is a must if you are headed to Vava'u. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My husband and I spent 4 amazing days at Lucky's Beach House. Kurt and Lynn were fantastic hosts and a wealth of local knowledge. The free kayaks gave us lots of freedom to explore Swallows Cave and other near by islands. We snorkeled off near by Mala Island, and had some up close experience with a school of Jelly Fish, fortunately from the safety of our kayaks. My husband meet a boat at the beach bringing fish to the market and bought crayfish about as fresh as you can get it! We highly recommend Lynn's cooking, fish enchiladas made with homemade tortillas is worth the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Nice atmosphere and location. Lynn and Kurt are excellent hosts, and Lynn creates really delicious evening meals. We stayed in the blue fale, and it was clean and well appointed with a shower and kitchen. Interesting Islands just off the beach to explore by the canoes or snorkle (bring your own snorkeling gear or, as I did, at least a pair of swimming goggles).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

If you want to experience Tongan architecture first hand but still get a good night's sleep, whilst staying on a safe beach with a great view - then lucky you are reading this review. Lucky's large fale is as close to traditional design as you are likely to find in Tonga, maybe with the exception of Tiana's on Uoleva. The fale is cool, has a real bed (a concession to palangi expectations), a net, and is absolute beachfront. The sound of the sea is your lullaby and can drown the sounds of the church bells (the price you have paid for coming to Tonga in the first place). Hosts Lynn and Kurt could not be kinder, and the kitchen fale has everything you need to cook all those goodies you brought from town. It's easy to swim across to nearby Mala Island, or there's free kayaks if you prefer. Coffee on the jetty first thing... a great place for a few days. Lucky old us!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvafox59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neiafu hotels
2.2 mi away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
64 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 7 in Neiafu
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Neiafu
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mystic Sands
Mystic Sands
#1 of 10 in Neiafu
252 reviews
0 mi away
Hilltop Hotel
Hilltop Hotel
#8 of 10 in Neiafu
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky's Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky's Beach Houses

Address: Talihau, Neiafu, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Neiafu
Price Range: £28 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two little beach houses and a duplex unit skirt the beach and offer a lovely view of the Pacific and the surrounding islands. It's the perfect place to relax, snorkel, enjoy the ocean and sleep to the sound of waves. Lowest priced beachfront accommodation in Vava'u. There are cooking facilities for each house allowing for self-catering. Snorkeling and kayaking from our beach. Giant Trevally Fishing Charters and free shuttle to local pickup points for your water activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lucky's Beach Houses Tonga/Neiafu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing