We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Neiafu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lucky's Beach Houses
Ranked #3 of 9 Neiafu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We were in the green house which is like a little cottage. It is ten feet from the beach and allows you to cater to yourself (although I would get a few of Lynn's dinners as the portions were sizeable and quite delicious). Spent the week enjoying the sun, walking around te small viagr close by and snorkelling.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gettin_around_euro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Kurt and Lynn are phenomenal hosts. The accommodations are cute and clean. We stayed in the traditional style Fale which had a breath taking view and was an experience itself. Don't wait until the last day as we did to enjoy Lynn's cooking - she is an incredible cook. The property is located a little ways from town, however Lynn & Kurt are always more than happy to help to get you to or from town. The taxi is only 20 Pa'anga and the locals will always be more than happy to give you a ride. If you are into Kitesurfing and are an intermediate to advanced rider this is the place to be in Vava'u. You walk 10 steps onto the beach where you can launch your kite. The beach is tight and the trees are close by - watch the tide times. Low tide coral heads are sticking out at some spots however launching and landing is easier. High tide the launching and landing can be a mission but the riding is sick.
All in all a great spot to just relax or kayak, snorkel and if you are into GT fishing, Kurt is the man. We definitely want to come back here.

Thanks Kurt, Lynn & Keith.

Feli & Andrew

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felici0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent 5 nights in the blue house and found it to be very pleasant. The towels and kitchen utensils were very old but it was clean. Kurt and Lyn were very accommodating and we had a few meals cooked by Lyn. It would be lovely if they could offer beer and wine too as there are no shops nearby. It certainly is off the beaten track and very tranquil but we ended up spending a lot on taxi fares going in and out of town.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JHerlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My partner and I spent a week at Lucky's while diving and whale watching. It was much better than I had hoped for. We stayed in one of the houses with an awesome beach view and an attached shower. It is basic, and thoroughly enjoyable. The attached kitchen and porch made it feel very much a home since we could cook for ourselves and enjoy drinks in the evening with friends.

Kurt and Lynn are very accommodating and helpful. Each afternoon/evening one of the them would stop by and check to make certain that the next day's activities were arranged. They provided drop-off and pickup at the Tongan Beach Resort for diving and whale watching trips. They were always friendly and helpful. The day before our departure, Lynn called RealTonga to inquire about our flights that were delayed. It is really helpful to have someone who knows about the local way of doing things.

Lynn's meals were excellent. We had dinner one night and many breakfasts. The muffins were especially good.

Room Tip: The houses are more comfortable with a kitchen and bathroom. The fales are simple and rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Kurt and Lynn have found paradise in Tonga and are kind enough to share it with travelers. After a few days on the main island it was so nice to settle down for a few days of doing nothing except snorkeling (right off the beach in front of the property), kayaking to nearby islands and swinging in a hammock. We felt right at home in The Blue House- perfect for a couple. We planned ahead and got in a good supply of fresh fruit and goodies to go with the duty free - far better than staying in a resort, with privacy, our own facilities and hosts on hand if we needed them. Tonga's choice of accommodation is limited and we felt that we had found one the the best places on Vava'u.
Swimming with the whales is a must do! Absolutely amazing to see so close up.

Room Tip: The fales are very romantic but we preferred the blue house as it had a small kitchen and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleRiverCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a fantastically quiet chilled out time at Luckys. The Owners Kurt and Lynn made us feel most welcome. We stayed in the small traditional Fale which was an absolute bargain and perfect for our 2 night stay. The Small Fale has lights, an electrical socket for charging ipads, etc, mosquito nets and is only 10 yards from the beach. It is located in the gardens.

The other 3 huts are right on the beach. Luckys is in a lovely quiet village. Kurt ran us up to a nearby resort for dinner one night and Lynn cooked an amazing homecooked dinner on the other night.

The beach is lovely, with crystal clear water and plenty of fish and critters to see. There's good snorkelling and free use of the 3 single person kayaks. We took them for a paddle around a nearby island and enjoyed just watching the fish and coral through the crystal clear water. Amazing location and value. Thanks again!

Room Tip: The Small Fale is small and located in the gardens so if you do need space then choose one of the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_S_Hartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I had stayed three nights in the blue house. Clean and comfortable, with kitchen and shower. Very clear colorful just 10 meters away in front of you. It was so nice to have meal or drink, with beautiful view, with the lovely wave sound, with soft wind! Wonderful relax time! Lynn and Kurt are really nice couple and very helpful. It is a little bit from town center, located in a small village. It was very interesting to talk with Tonga kids when walking around the village. Anyhow just be relax there!

Room Tip: Blue house for two at max, green house for 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanpearl1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neiafu
4.2 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 16 in Vava'u Islands
112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#4 of 9 in Neiafu
64 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Neiafu
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mystic Sands
Mystic Sands
#1 of 9 in Neiafu
262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 7 in Neiafu
130 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Flying Annie Moa
#5 of 7 in Neiafu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky's Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky's Beach Houses

Address: Talihau, Neiafu, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Neiafu
Price Range: £27 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two little beach houses and a duplex unit skirt the beach and offer a lovely view of the Pacific and the surrounding islands. It's the perfect place to relax, snorkel, enjoy the ocean and sleep to the sound of waves. Lowest priced beachfront accommodation in Vava'u. There are cooking facilities for each house allowing for self-catering. Snorkeling and kayaking from our beach. Giant Trevally Fishing Charters and free shuttle to local pickup points for your water activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lucky's Beach Houses Tonga/Neiafu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing