We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and delicious”
Review of Mango Cafe

Mango Cafe
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Neiafu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Come and visit us for lunch, dinner or sunset drinks on the waterfront in Neiafu on the island of Vava'u in the Kingdom of Tonga.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and delicious”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

What a friendly place. We went for a surprise dinner there, meaning to go to Aquarium Cafe next door, which was closed. We were glad we came. The manager recommended the blackboard special of Sweet & Sour Fish on Noodles, and we both had that. It was lovely - cooked to perfection, and great value at just $15. The service was super-friendly. I would recommend this restaurant, and the location is right on the water so it was great watching the sun set. Thanks Mango

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    56
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay place...”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It was okay, food okay, service okay, no locals really which is always a concern for me when I travel. I like places where the locals eat usually the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank savytravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant with Friendly Service”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We ate there after a day of diving. The staff were friendly and the tuna steak was very good. They didn't have any more specials even though hey were still on the chalkboard. It was one of the few places that we really liked eating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamieson, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definitely the best restaurant in town.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Mango offers absolute waterfront, a really lovely atmosphere. We ordered some delicious sushi. There was great attention to detail, fresh cut flowers on every table and friendly service. We felt it was a bit pricey and the internet Wifi was dreadful at best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We went to Mangoes as a change from the Tongan Beach resort menu. It was virtually the same! We had fish and chips, they were very small portions of fish and chips were hardly cooked. There was a cat running between tables with a poo hanging out of its bottom. I scared it away a few times and one bloke kicked it up the bum but the staff ignored it, even when it ran into the kitchen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TenbyWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mango Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing