We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing snorkelling, good food and friendly tour guides

I had a great day out with Ben and Pat on Hakau snorkeling tour. They are extremely friendly and... read more

Reviewed 10 January 2017
Jeri L
An amazing underwater adventure!

We went snorkelling with Don and Pat in September and had an amazing day. We spent most of our time... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2016
Mandy H
Read all 62 reviews
  
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
60
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
1
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We had an amazing day with Don, just my husband and I . He paced the day very well for us so we got to see a variety of Tongan underwater life.This was the best coral life we have seen and my husband having been bought up in Fiji was extremely impressed. Don was a consummate host and we loved being left on a deserted beach to enjoy our lunch, have a wee rest before exploring more of the area. We highly recommend his tour, as he was very safety conscious and professional at all times. A very reasonable cost for this experience and well recommended.

Date of experience: January 2013
2  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had a wonderful day out seeing all the sights and under water magic. Lunch was simple but enough and in a beautiful spot. This was well planned as he avoided the crowds from other tours by going at the opposite time they would.
Great value for a full day out.

2  Thank lynlitvack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

My family & I went for a day's snorkel trip in Vavau with Don at the end of October 2012.
This was by far the best day we spent in our two weeks in the Tongan Islands.
We visited Swallows Cave, coral gardens and other numerous snorkel sites. My seven
year old daughter got to help drive the boat on the way back to Mystic sands where we were
staying, which next to the snorkeling really made her day.
The boat is excellent for this type of trip and has a canopy for sun protection & can be taken
right up to the sand extremely safe we even took our 16 month old baby on the trip.
We had lunch at Nuku island which is absolute paradise.
Highly recommend to anyone travelling to Vavau, great value, great lunch great blue water and
great company. also Don has a strong knowledge of the local history.
will come back again one day.

Date of experience: October 2012
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

By far the best snorkel trip that we have ever been on! Don was an absolutely fantastic host, very knowledgeable, friendly and fun. Going on the tour was a last minute decision and i'm certainly gald we made it, the day we went out with Don was perfect.
Don certainly has this trip down pat; the length of each snorkel and the distance between each snorkel was timed perfectly. The 5 spots Don took us to were magical, and the visibility amazing.
Lunch was served on a beautiful tropical beach, again timed perfectly, and a last little snorkel after lunch perfect before heading home.
We also really appreciated Don posting a CD of pictures taken throughout the day on the underwater camera, previously we have been charged for this service but Don was more than happy to dp this free of charge.

All in all we had a wonderful day and this is a must do in Vava'u; we will be reccomending this trip to everyone we know!

Date of experience: November 2012
2  Thank louisejanewilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We were in Vava'u at the end of the whale season (late October) and even though we got to see the whales with one of the whale operators Don's snorkel tour was the highlight of our trip. We had an excellent host (Don), snacks, lunch and plenty of water. Don also let us use his underwater camera and then made us a disc to take home the next day. The only regret I had was not having a wetsuit as I get cold easily and wanted to stay in longer to continue revelling in the underwater aquarium.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank Londonkiwi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews