We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a dream for nature lover”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tetepare Island Eco-lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Munda
Reviewed 13 January 2012

rent a mask and you will find: dugongs, turtles, sharks, rays, big and curious fishes without fear, crocodiles ... just like heaven in the sea!

the isalnd itself is full of birds and primal forest. and there is a very small pristine beach with two hammock. the perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sugus3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Tetepare Island Eco-lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

Our team of nine have just returned from a fabulous Solomons ADVENTURE, the most amazing experience of which was a two night visit to Tetepare Island Eco-Lodge. Get there as soon as you can, before the word gets out !!! Dudongs, turtles, sharks and crocodiles, not to mention giant monitor lizards, crabs and snakes, spiders and gheckoes as well - something for everyone. Accommodation in sago leaf houses, one cold shower [ cold is a relative term ] and two flush toilets. The food, prepared by Margaret, was the most delicious Solomon Island village fare, and in good quantities. Rangers and guides are passionate and knowledgable about their island and proud to show us all we wanted to know. Currently applying for World Heritage Park recognition, this is a place not to miss. Great service from all the crew, who live on Rendova, and easy boat travel from Munda and return ; only two hours each way, but we enjoyed dry weather and easy seas. No open seas, an easy run across to Rendova and then down the coast, passing the many logging ramps where timber is being exported. Help Tetepare preserve something unique in the world !!! Visit them and share the wonder.

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same, but any overflow could find themselves on a mattress on the floor. B...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judenrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Its all true, terribly late boat transfers, basic ammenities, snakes in your hut, weird sounds in the night BUT if you want to visit a beautiful & raw island, be surrounded by fireflies and thousands of stars, snorkel with Dugongs then this is a great place to visit. Definitely not for everyone, dont expect luxury (and bring a torch). The food was great (local cuisine) and the staff were always lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Datalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I and our 7 year old son just recently returned from a week in The Solomon Islands as part of our Australasian Adventure as well like to call it. In Februray 2011, we flew from Brisbane to Honiara in the Solomons. We missed our connection out of Honiara to Munda and ended up spending a night in Honiara which turned out to be a happy accident and inspired us to hire our taxi driver as a guide the afternoon of our return trip. We were greeted promptly by Tetepare Eco-lodge representatives upon arrival in Munda and escorted by them to the boat which would carry us the last 2.5 hrs on open ocean to Tetapare Island. The staff on the island were unbelievably helpful and welcoming and the daily rates belie the level of service and attention to detail we experienced. That is not to say it wasn't extremely rustic (thatched roof sleeping huts, outhouses, the most basic showering facilities) but we still felt as though we were catered to beyond our expectations. Fantastic meals were served to us wherever we may be whether that meant on a moonlit, black sand beach waiting for a leatherback turtle to come lay her eggs or on a postage stamp sized coral island around which we had been snorkling for the afternoon. As one of the youngest visitors to the island our son received special attention in the form of his own personal ranger/lifeguard/wilderness guide. The bond that was forged between them through kindness and chats in broken English resulted in a teary goodbye between friends and a promise to return one day to this very special place.
Headhunting and dysentry drove the people of Tetapare from their island 200 years ago. It was a privilege to experience an environment that has been undisturbed by manfor all this time and to see how the descendants are working to protect their land and its history.

Getting to and experiencing Tetapare could seem daunting to some but if you are up for the adventure of a lifetime then this is your place. You will never forget this experience!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yyzvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This place was just amazing, beautiful and scary all at once. Arrived from Munda via a 3 hour boat journey in a tinny with a small outboard motor on the High Seas of the South Pacific which was pretty hairy. Be warned this place is not for the faint-hearted and pretty basic too - no flush loo and one cold shower between 13 - also food, although tasty was basic, mainly rice, with tuna when the rangers caught any. That said it was amazingly beautiful and peaceful with all the staff so so friendly. Awesome snorkelling , watching rangers jump out of boats to catch green turtles with their bare hands, climbing through rainforest to see croc lake and ancient headhunter sites.

If you are prepared for the travel and to rough it you will be well rewarded with experiences you will never ever forget. Special thanks to Tetepare Sue, Margeret and Johnson who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StuartHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Tetepare was an unforgettable highlight of our 6 month trip in the South Pacific. It's a unique eco-tourist haven, brimming with wildlife, marine life and fauna and utterly unmissable if you can cope with a more basic lifestyle for a few days. It only has solar power and that's limited and there's no cold beer, but the staff will make you feel like unbelievably comfortable and there's nothing they won't do to help you. Even the Princess (wife) survived 5 days and we had to drag her onto the boat because she didn't want to leave!! (Lol)

The guides/rangers and particularly knowledgeable about the rainforest, herbal medicine, marine and other wildlife. They'll take you on walks and the boats will pick you up at the end, often with a picnic lunch if requested.

We cannot recommend this wonderful place enough. If you are in this part of the world, make sure you visit Tetepare. You will never forget the experience and want others to share in it.

Martin and Lucinda Tunnicliffe-Squirrell

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martzdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We travelled to the Solomons in July 2009, and booked a seven night stay at Tetepare. We flew from Gizo to Munda - Munda is a very small village - but unfortunately no one was there to meet us. This was probably the only negative point in our whole stay - we understand that there were problems with the booking system which have since been rectified. Luckily an Australian volunteer happened to be there watching the plane land, and he assisted us and made sure we got to Tetepare. We had a quick breakfast at Agnes Lodge, then squeezed onto the boat for the two hour trip to Tetepare. Be sure to bring lots of sunscreen and have a hat handy! The boat trip is very scenic and pleasant, although we did have perfect weather when we did it! Just outside Tetepare's lagoon we were greeted by a large pod of dolphins - a beautiful start to our stay! We cruised past baby reef sharks to the pier, where we were welcomed to the island and shown to our rooms. Even though there was the booking mixup, the staff quickly adapted and made sure our room was ready.

The rooms are certainly basic, and wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea. But we were very happy - the bed was comfortable enough, with a mosquito net and small balcony area and table. Clean linen and towels were provided. The bungalows are all built from local materials and really fit in with the ambiance of the island. The whole resort is in a small clearing in the dense jungle - it was absolutely amazing to sleep listening to only the sounds of the jungle and the waves on the outer reef! They don't run a generator on Tetepare, which adds to the sense of wildness and peace. Solar power is available for charging batteries etc, and guests are given oil lanterns at night. There is a central lodge building with a large table for dining and an upstairs area with information on the projects and different plant and animal species of the island.

Meals were generally served when guests were ready to eat, and we found the food plentiful, fresh and enjoyable. They do seem a little more limited in their choice of ingredients, but overall it was great. Usually there were several dishes for lunch and dinner, with veggies, rice, fish etc. There was also a dessert and lots of tropical fruit. We loved Mary's bush lime - it was the best! And the lime leaf tea! Breakfast was usually great - banana pancakes were our favourite! So long as you are not too fussy and eat fish, veggies etc, I think you will be very happy with the food! For the price per night, we certainly thought the meals were great value. Everyone eats at one big table, which is nice, and after dinner the rangers would often join us for a chat and a coffee. This was lots of fun - it was great to be able to talk to them about the island and we learnt how dedicated they are to caring for Tetepare. They had lots of questions for us too!

Without any doubt, the most wonderful thing about Tetepare is the rangers. At first I thought it might not be as fun as doing things on your own. But when we arrived I was so glad that the rangers came with us for the activities! We learnt so much from them when we were snorkelling in the lagoon, or going on walks in the jungle. They are really friendly, professional and fun and I can not fault the service they provided. Often when my partner and I were snorkelling, two or three rangers would come with us and look out for interesting species. They are extremely knowledgable and I learnt a lot of different fish species from Tumi! Without the rangers' we wouldn't have enjoyed our stay nearly as much. So a big big thank you (again!) to Tumi, Roy, Johnson, Sikua, William and all the others rangers - you did a wonderful job!

There is no diving at Tetepare, only snorkelling, which we were actually glad about. It seems more pristine somehow! The snorkelling in the lagoon was, in our opinion, by far the best in the Solomons. Especially as we had the rangers to come with us as guides. A few highlights were:
- Early morning snorkelling with the eagle rays. So beautiful!
- Playing around with the baby blacktip reef sharks in the shallows.
- The large variety and number of rays
- Many green turtles
- Late afternoon with the schools of giant bumphead parrotfish and barracuda
- Beautiful coral and hundreds of fish species
- Tumi taking us out in the late afternoon to snorkel with the dugongs! We got lucky and saw them on two days, even a mum and newborn that came really close to us!
The lagoon is magical and pristine, and the beach is gorgeous. It truly is a tropical paradise!

However I can see that this might not be the place for everyone! You do need to be aware that it's pretty basic and very remote. There's no hot water, which was fine for us. Also there is a lot of wildlife! We loved it but others might not! In our bungalow we had a resident small boa (very easy-going snake!) as well as the occasional brown tree snake. Also a wide variety of large spiders, beetles etc! And a few land crabs on occasion! They didn't bother us at all as you can tuck in the mosquito net and not worry about anything falling on you! But it is important to realise that this is a wild place with many wild inhabitants! It's quiet, peaceful and pristine and really unique due to its lack of overdevelopment.

We did many other activities with the rangers - you can really do anything you want whenever you want! We walked to the crocodile lake with Johnson and saw a big croc! We also walked up into the canopy, which was pretty tiring exercise! I really enjoyed walking with William and Roy and learning about the traditional medicinal plants of the island. The turtle tagging was really fun too, it was great to learn about the turtles and meet them close up! The coconut crab walk was fun too. We also were lucky to be there while two Australian volunteers were there - Anthony and Michaela - and we had fun snorkelling with them and hearing about their experiences.

Overall, I can't emphasise enough how amazing we thought this place was. I almost didn't want to write a review - just to keep it a secret! But it really deserves support as it's wonderful work they are doing. I've been to many islands in search of that magical "tropical paradise" and for me, this was it. We hope that the association continues to manage the island in exactly the same way, and nothing changes! We will definitely be back - we would love to visit when the Leatherback turtles are nesting as that sounds wonderful. Thanks for a truly special experience - it was out of this world! The Solomons is a beautiful and unique country - we had a great time at every place we stayed. I highly recommend a visit - if you have any questions please feel free to contact me.
Kind regards, Meredith and Greg

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank neareststar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munda
0.0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agnes Lodge
Agnes Lodge
#1 of 2 in Munda
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 8 in Honiara
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#5 of 8 in Honiara
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fatboys Resort
Fatboys Resort
#1 of 3 in Gizo
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tetepare Island Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tetepare Island Eco-lodge

Address: P.O.Box 131, Munda, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Munda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Munda
Price Range: £24 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tetepare Island Eco-Lodge Solomon Islands/Munda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing