We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tetepare Island Eco-lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Munda
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Tetepare was an amazing adventure! Absolutely the highlight of the trip. We saw crocodiles, dugongs, sharks, fish, and baby leatherback turtles. Beautiful island and great food. Great people who work there too! Only con is that it is hard to get to, but it is worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blakey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Tetepare was amazing and a big highlight of our holiday. We went snorkelling with dugongs, swimming with turtles, saw stingrays, crocodiles and coconut crabs. As well as feeding the sharks and hundreds of fish. We went on a lovely bush walk and even went to the nearby island of Rendova for a sunday church service. My children (aged 3,5 and 6) had a lovely time playing with the local village children (in Rendova) and we bought some local carving and weaving. Our guide (Nelson) was lovely and formed a special friendship with my son, swimming with him and taking him out in the dug-out canoe while we went snorkelling. The food was also nutritious, plentiful and always ready on time.
With all the untouched nature also came a range of spiders, mosquitoes, strange bugs and a large centipede on the toilet roll. Accommodation was very basic (no electricity, cold water, outside toilet) but it was still comfortable.
What really made our trip was the guides. They were so friendly and went out of their way to make our trip an memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank my_travelling_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

rent a mask and you will find: dugongs, turtles, sharks, rays, big and curious fishes without fear, crocodiles ... just like heaven in the sea!

the isalnd itself is full of birds and primal forest. and there is a very small pristine beach with two hammock. the perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sugus3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Our team of nine have just returned from a fabulous Solomons ADVENTURE, the most amazing experience of which was a two night visit to Tetepare Island Eco-Lodge. Get there as soon as you can, before the word gets out !!! Dudongs, turtles, sharks and crocodiles, not to mention giant monitor lizards, crabs and snakes, spiders and gheckoes as well - something for everyone. Accommodation in sago leaf houses, one cold shower [ cold is a relative term ] and two flush toilets. The food, prepared by Margaret, was the most delicious Solomon Island village fare, and in good quantities. Rangers and guides are passionate and knowledgable about their island and proud to show us all we wanted to know. Currently applying for World Heritage Park recognition, this is a place not to miss. Great service from all the crew, who live on Rendova, and easy boat travel from Munda and return ; only two hours each way, but we enjoyed dry weather and easy seas. No open seas, an easy run across to Rendova and then down the coast, passing the many logging ramps where timber is being exported. Help Tetepare preserve something unique in the world !!! Visit them and share the wonder.

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same, but any overflow could find themselves on a mattress on the floor. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judenrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Its all true, terribly late boat transfers, basic ammenities, snakes in your hut, weird sounds in the night BUT if you want to visit a beautiful & raw island, be surrounded by fireflies and thousands of stars, snorkel with Dugongs then this is a great place to visit. Definitely not for everyone, dont expect luxury (and bring a torch). The food was great (local cuisine) and the staff were always lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Datalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I and our 7 year old son just recently returned from a week in The Solomon Islands as part of our Australasian Adventure as well like to call it. In Februray 2011, we flew from Brisbane to Honiara in the Solomons. We missed our connection out of Honiara to Munda and ended up spending a night in Honiara which turned out to be a happy accident and inspired us to hire our taxi driver as a guide the afternoon of our return trip. We were greeted promptly by Tetepare Eco-lodge representatives upon arrival in Munda and escorted by them to the boat which would carry us the last 2.5 hrs on open ocean to Tetapare Island. The staff on the island were unbelievably helpful and welcoming and the daily rates belie the level of service and attention to detail we experienced. That is not to say it wasn't extremely rustic (thatched roof sleeping huts, outhouses, the most basic showering facilities) but we still felt as though we were catered to beyond our expectations. Fantastic meals were served to us wherever we may be whether that meant on a moonlit, black sand beach waiting for a leatherback turtle to come lay her eggs or on a postage stamp sized coral island around which we had been snorkling for the afternoon. As one of the youngest visitors to the island our son received special attention in the form of his own personal ranger/lifeguard/wilderness guide. The bond that was forged between them through kindness and chats in broken English resulted in a teary goodbye between friends and a promise to return one day to this very special place.
Headhunting and dysentry drove the people of Tetapare from their island 200 years ago. It was a privilege to experience an environment that has been undisturbed by manfor all this time and to see how the descendants are working to protect their land and its history.

Getting to and experiencing Tetapare could seem daunting to some but if you are up for the adventure of a lifetime then this is your place. You will never forget this experience!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yyzvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This place was just amazing, beautiful and scary all at once. Arrived from Munda via a 3 hour boat journey in a tinny with a small outboard motor on the High Seas of the South Pacific which was pretty hairy. Be warned this place is not for the faint-hearted and pretty basic too - no flush loo and one cold shower between 13 - also food, although tasty was basic, mainly rice, with tuna when the rangers caught any. That said it was amazingly beautiful and peaceful with all the staff so so friendly. Awesome snorkelling , watching rangers jump out of boats to catch green turtles with their bare hands, climbing through rainforest to see croc lake and ancient headhunter sites.

If you are prepared for the travel and to rough it you will be well rewarded with experiences you will never ever forget. Special thanks to Tetepare Sue, Margeret and Johnson who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StuartHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munda
0 mi away
Agnes Lodge
Agnes Lodge
#1 of 2 in Munda
64 reviews
0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
20 reviews
0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 8 in Honiara
312 reviews
0 mi away
Coral Sea Resort & Casino
0 mi away
Fatboys Resort
Fatboys Resort
#1 of 3 in Gizo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tetepare Island Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tetepare Island Eco-lodge

Address: P.O.Box 131, Munda, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Munda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Munda
Price Range: £23 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tetepare Island Eco-Lodge Solomon Islands/Munda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing