We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for Tetepare”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tetepare Island Eco-lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Munda
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Tetpare was interesting though not very comfortable with respect to beds and being bitten by mosquitoes, as the nets all had holes in them. The snorkeling wasn't as good as Wilderness or Uepi.
Be prepared with a torch ( no lights in leaf huts) and walking shoes. We were glad we wern't there for more than 3 days as activity options are fairly limited.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingstonTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Tetepare is not for the feint hearted but if you want a unique experience and are prepared for adventure with clean, basic facilities then Tetepare is definately worth a search. This is an opportunity to help conserve a region while thoroughly enjoying yourself at the same time. Read about it then consider your feelings about a chance to stand up and be counted, to make a difference in the world. The activities are amazing. We swam with turtles,dugongs, hundreds and hundreds of different fish species, we took part in the Coconut Crab monitoring scheme, saw schools of Spinner Dolphins, crocodiles, monitor lizards, megapods, many rare birds, had lunch on a remote island and visited a local village. By sharing all meal times with other guests we made interesting new friends and were fortunate to be a part of an impromptu concert put on by the Staff to celebrate a surprise engagement. One slight hiccup is the food which is extremely basic, next time I will supplement with some nuts, dried fruit, muesli bars. I thought the food was boring, lacking taste and very bland. On the last night lovely Mary (a local) told us about some customs and kept us entertained with old stories and legends, whileToumi her husband was a marvel when explaining local bush medicines. All in all we were sad to leave and hope to return one day. If you have any queries, I am happy to help.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jt2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Incredible experience, the two hour boat ride from Munda is an experience in itself! Upon arrival we were helped to our room - basic accommodation with no electricity (however, this was expected). Went out snorkelling, with lots of sharks, turtles, bump-headed parrot fish and pretty much every other underwater sea life you can think of (except dugongs, they proved elusive). The walk to Crocodile Lake is well worth it, as is the visit to the Bat Cave (thought not if you're claustrophobic!) . The food is basic, whatever they can get at the markets, but very nice. Need a minimum of 4 days to really enjoy it all!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trueman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This place has the potential to be great but poor management may lead to its downfall. We enjoyed our stay - very rustic and basic with beautiful natural charm but we were let down by poor communication and transfers. No one met us at the airport and we were left to organize our own accomodation in Munda. We found out later that the boat that took us there was not authorized to do so and had no life jackets for a two hour trip. That is just crazy!!! Our accomodation was clean and basic - don't expect any mod cons here - even has a flushing toilet though!! Food was plentiful but limited - they ran out of a lot of staples even though they knew we were coming.
There was an unrest with the staff which made it uncomfortable for us. We travelled there with someone who had dealings with tetapare previously and I felt like we were not made as welcome as we should have been.
Don't let this place decline because of corruption and mis management. It deserves better than that.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Flowergirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Tetepare was an amazing adventure! Absolutely the highlight of the trip. We saw crocodiles, dugongs, sharks, fish, and baby leatherback turtles. Beautiful island and great food. Great people who work there too! Only con is that it is hard to get to, but it is worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blakey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Tetepare was amazing and a big highlight of our holiday. We went snorkelling with dugongs, swimming with turtles, saw stingrays, crocodiles and coconut crabs. As well as feeding the sharks and hundreds of fish. We went on a lovely bush walk and even went to the nearby island of Rendova for a sunday church service. My children (aged 3,5 and 6) had a lovely time playing with the local village children (in Rendova) and we bought some local carving and weaving. Our guide (Nelson) was lovely and formed a special friendship with my son, swimming with him and taking him out in the dug-out canoe while we went snorkelling. The food was also nutritious, plentiful and always ready on time.
With all the untouched nature also came a range of spiders, mosquitoes, strange bugs and a large centipede on the toilet roll. Accommodation was very basic (no electricity, cold water, outside toilet) but it was still comfortable.
What really made our trip was the guides. They were so friendly and went out of their way to make our trip an memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank my_travelling_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

rent a mask and you will find: dugongs, turtles, sharks, rays, big and curious fishes without fear, crocodiles ... just like heaven in the sea!

the isalnd itself is full of birds and primal forest. and there is a very small pristine beach with two hammock. the perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sugus3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munda
0 mi away
Agnes Lodge
Agnes Lodge
#1 of 2 in Munda
64 reviews
0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
20 reviews
0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 8 in Honiara
312 reviews
0 mi away
Coral Sea Resort & Casino
0 mi away
Fatboys Resort
Fatboys Resort
#1 of 3 in Gizo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tetepare Island Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tetepare Island Eco-lodge

Address: P.O.Box 131, Munda, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Munda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Munda
Price Range: £23 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tetepare Island Eco-Lodge Solomon Islands/Munda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing