We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lope Lope Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lope Lope Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
wollongong
2 reviews
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We found this place on a cruise stopover in January. It was absolute paradise i wish we had found it earlier on in the day we would have spent the whole day there. Megan was so kind to let us have a 30min horse ride on the beach which has always been a dream of mine. As it turned out we have a mutual friend in NZ. Thanks Megan we will come & stay in one of the bungalows one day the resort is absolute paradise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytimesWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback! I am really happy that you enjoyed your horse trail,and yes I remember that you said this was something you have been wanting to do all your life...

As you know our horses are so special and always enjoy the last bit of the trail through the water in front of the restaurant - I think they just love the attention they get from all the other guests taking photo's - lol...

I look forward to seeing you guys again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    21
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
112
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fitzroy, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were staying nearby, and on the spur of the moment found ourselves at lope lope's restaurant for dinner. We'd heard about it from some of the locals and thought it would be worth a try. As stunning as the setting and building may be, it turns out that this is really just a big local watering hole - the flickering of the huge screen and rowdy upstairs crowd of expats on the pool tables overwhelms any prospect of potential fine dining.
The menu read well - that is until the waiter came over and told us there were no prawns, lobster or potato chips - and we fared little better with the wine list as the first and second choices were unavailable either. After an inordinate amount of time, the food arrived ... all palatable but nothing exceptional and if memory serves me correctly, it was the most expensive meal for the whole time we were in Vanuatu. Luckily the waiters were nice, but we left not caring if we ever visited this place again...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank denmother62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for visiting us at Lope Lope - we appreciate the feedback even though it seems negative, we in turn will see it as positive criticism and use this post to improve where we can.

The Slipway Sports Bar and Grill is not a “fine dining” venue, but a restaurant that caters for the widest variety of entertainment, foods and drinks on the island.

Friday night is our busiest night of the week, where local expats and guests from other resorts come out to enjoy themselves at our “Pool Competition & Party Night”. We are the only venue on the island that can offer this great service, hence the extremely busy and popular Friday nights.

Living on a remote island locale does provide our industry with a few challenges, one of which is a steady and consistent supply of imported items. Unfortunately, we are at the mercy of local grocery stores, shipping companies and the weather, and sometimes we simply have to do without as in the case of your visit. Our wine list suffers the same consequences as our supply of imported potatoes and as such we are forced to adapt our wine list to what is readily available.

We pride ourselves in the good service our wait staff provide, so are glad to hear they were up to standard. Our apologies that you left with such a lackluster opinion of our restaurant.

If you find yourselves in Santo again be sure to stop by and we’ll be happy to make amends, but make sure to call and reserve if you want to have a quiet dinner (stay away from Friday’s though).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have just returned from an amazing trip to Santo, Vanuatu. We spent 6 nights at the Lope Lope Adventure Lodge set right on the water. There are just three burres – each with its own private beach. Waking up each morning to breathtaking views and ending every day in exactly the same way was the most wonderful experience.

Lope Lope also has a great bar and restaurant and the most considerate and obliging staff we have ever come across Megan and Calvin went out of their way to make our holiday the most unforgettable experience. Chatting when we wanted company, leaving us to ourselves when we wanted to be left alone. They went above and beyond what one would expect – no request was too hard.

This place has something for everyone, horses, watersports and a lot more for the adventurous or you could just relax and take it all in like we did. We would definitely recommend this resort with its well appointed burres, spectacular views and amazing staff. We would definitely return to Lope Lope on our next trip to Vanuatu.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Our stay at Lope Lope was absolutely amazing we spent 7 nights there in late October 11. We
arrived 2 hours before the RWC Final Kick Off and there was a big crowd in the
restaurant/bar area, being a keen AB's supporter I immediately thought we would need to
stand somewhere to watch the game, but as soon as we arrived we were taken to reserved
tables right in front of the big screen (Gold Start with the cream on the top being the
AB's win).

There are just 3 bungalow's at Lope Lope so it was very private and peaceful, with your
own private beach out the front, warm water 24/7, in actual fact we had a couple of nights
with just myself and my girlfriend as the only guests that in itself was a very cool
experience!!! The bungalows' themselves are new and the finishing's and designs are
immaculate, we have travelled a number of times to Vila and stayed at Breakas, Iririki and
Le Lagon and whilst you can't compare directly to these resorts the bungalows here at
Lope Lope are of a very high quality and even have an outdoor shower giving you the real
feel of being amongst nature!!! (Loved the Pure Blondes in the Mini Bar!!!)

Above everything the staff were amazing, Megan, Kelvin and the team really looked after us
and everything was very personalised from entry to departure, the guys were just awesome.
What we liked about this holiday here is you were really forced to relax which was exactly
what we needed, above this though there were the activities available at our disposal so we
had the pleasure of Megan taking us out on the horses (All of the horses there are rescued
horses) through the jungle and out on the beach absolutely priceless, then we had a day with
Sandy seeing all of the hot spots in Santo. We will definitely come back to Lope Lope in
the future and have recommended it to all our friends, we miss the beautiful mornings
looking out at the horses on the beach and hanging out with Boston!!!

Room Tip: There are only 3 bungalows each with a private beach so all are equally great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My boyfriend and I visited Lope Lope for a day of horseriding fun. The guys that took us were really great- pointing out lots of local features and letting us stroll horseback through the crystal clear water. Megan was abosultely wonderful in showing us around and letting us hang around the lodge for the day when our flight was delayed! She really added something special to the place (including her temporary pet baby bird nestled under her pony tail :) The food was great- one of the best steaks i've ever had, and the sports bar had a great atmosphere. We will definatelty be back to stay in the beautiful lodges in one of the most idyllic places in the world.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John, Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Wonderful burres right by the sea & done with all the right touches, but there are only 3 rooms. Big huge bar & restaurant & lots of toys to play with, but it is a little lonesome being the only people there.
A stable with horses, 4 wheel quads, hobie cats, kayaks...but the real adventure is the island of Santo & we spent most days away from the lodge.
Great food...how they keep a chef for 3 rooms is beyond me. Hope this place makes it...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We spent a 1/2 day at the Lope Lope - about 10 mins north of Luganville. A beautiful spot with views to nearby small islands. The girls riding horses through the neighbouring farm, bush and into the water and the boys in the kayaks. Lovely lunch, very friendly staff. Excellent hang out for the local ex pats (we were there during the Rugby World Cup). Megan, one of the owners, was very hospitable and gave us a lot of insight about the local way of life. We really appreciated that. She has done a terrific job of re-homing horses from around the island - and boy what a wonderful life these horses now have. She deserves a medal. Megan and her ni-Van staff really know how to respect these beautiful creatures. Although we didn't stay in the bungalows, the quality of the buildings for the day stayers (for the adventure activities) was of a standard not seen in our 2 visits to Vanuatu to date. A fantastic large bar / restaurant area. Separate showers and change areas for day stayers. Lope Loper is a well thought out concept in holiday facility. Would love to stay sometime.

Room Tip: we weren't staying overnight so can't comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwilanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
0.7 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
0.7 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
#5 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lope Lope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lope Lope Lodge

Property: Lope Lope Lodge
Address: East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lope Lope Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lope Lope Lodge is Santo's finest new absolute waterfront resort boasting probably one of the best locations on the island. It is a lodge built to 5-star quality standards with the same reflected in our accommodation, service, food, drinks and activities - without the price tag! Situated 15 mins from the international airport and only 11 km out of town on the newly tar sealed East Coast road, we have fast become one the most popular places in Santo to visit, whether staying with us or not. Set on 8.5 Hectares of lush tropical forest, a natural blue hole and an ice cold fresh water creek forms our northern boundary, whilst the warm crystal clear, aquamarine colored Pacific Ocean meets our white sandy beaches with nothing more than a soothing sound that is bound to lull you to sleep in your luxury bungalow...The Slipway Sports Bar & Grill combination of natural & modern design, the Slipway Sports Bar & Grill is well known for its variety of drinks and food, and has fast become the "Place to be in Santo," since our opening in April 2010. Offering free pool tables and darts on our mezzanine level, live big screen TV, free internet and comfortable couches to relax away the day. Our Accommodation design mixture of Modern and Melanesian, our upmarket bungalows are absolute waterfront with most top class amenities and finishes that will make you feel at home, especially when stepping off the deck onto your own white sandy private beach! Our 132 square meter luxury bungalows are one of a kind and designed to meet your highest expectation without losing the true island style feeling you can enjoy while staying with us! All bungalows are built to 5-star quality with a unique feeling of living in your own home - but in paradise & right on a tropical Pacific beach...* Private entrance* Thatch deck, hammock, 4 seat settee* Spacious open plan design* King Size bed (or a twin King Single)* iPod dock* HD TV* A comfortable 3-seat lounge set, Laptop desk, Walk through wardrobe* Bar fridge* Laptop safe* Twin vanities* Luxury Bath* Outside shower in tropical garden. All linen, towels & beach towels are provided. Your room is made up every day & full service every third day!Activities We offer a wide variety of activities with, horse riding trails, Hobie cat sailing, kayaks, game fishing, island hopping, sightseeing, cultural tours, blue holes etc... All at your fingertips! Lope Lope is truly "The Place to be in Vanuatu!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lope Lope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope Lope Adventure Hotel Espiritu Santo
Lope Lope Lodge Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing