We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved up at Lope Lope”
Review of Lope Lope Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lope Lope Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Loved up at Lope Lope”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My partner and i travelled to Santo with intention of finally getting engaged. We booked our accomodation well in advance with an offer over the internet. We were anticipating a fantastic stay at a boutique resort (NOT Lope Lope).
Upon arrival we were greeted with a credit card form instead of a smile or introduction and immediately thought 'Oh no!' We endured our wind swept 8 night stay at our 'boutique resort' only because we had met such fantastic people down the road at Lope Lope. We enjoyed our time spent at Lope Lope so much that we postponed our flights just to stay there for three nights.
The moment we arrived at Lope we could not believe that we had only travelled a short distance from our 'boutique resort', we were greeted with a smile and kindness by the staff and management who instantly started organizing all the activities that our 'boutique resort' manager seemed to be resistant in doing so. We rode the on location horses at Lope from the lodge past a blue hole and then out on the sand bank out the front of the Lodge(a fantastic experience even for a first timer), went on fishing charters and island hopping with Island Fishing Santo - filled with much insight into true Santo life with Fabrice. Not to mention the amazing millenium cave tour we experieced with the new tour guide company set up by a local family...an unforgettable day!!
Through Lope Lope we were blessed by meeting more and more wonderful people who we grew very fond of. The accomodation was complete water front accomodation in a beautiful roomy bungalow over looking the sand banks and crystal clear waters, complete with a spacious bathroom and a to die for out door shower set in your own private tropical garden. Lope Lope has the best of both worlds, there is somewhere to socialize and get to know the other guests, staff and regulars, play pool, watch rugby,recover at the bar after a fun filled day, fill your belly or let your hair down and dance your butt off, OR, you can wonder off to your bungalow and forget the world and just relax.
On the last day of our stay we were whisked off to Ais or Aese island where my partner finally popped the question, all organized through Lope Lope and Island Fishing Santo- and yes it was everything and more than we anticipated!
There is a whole community of people that we grew to love at Lope Lope who went out of their way to make everything perfect for our engagement, they really made up for the terrible accomodation we had endured before we got to Lope. The worst part of the trip was leaving this magical place and such beautiful people. The best thing our 'boutique resort' did for us was send us down the road looking for Megan at Lope Lope Lodge.
Thankyou to everyone at Lope for making our engagement and our whole Santo holiday more than we could have dreamt of...I WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK!!
Thanks again to management Megan, Colin and Ritana xo
We are still beaming a week later!
Pieta

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swetta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Hey Guys

WOW what a review Mate! To be able to make your marriage proposal so special was our pleasure, one our staff take great pride in going the extra mile for special occasions such as this... I was personally very impressed with the heart they made with local flowers in your bungalow - that was a special touch from our caring staff :)

I am glad that, after a bit of a rough start to your holiday , Lope Lope Adventure Lodge ticked all your boxes and managed to make it a time you two will never forget (it will be even more special to get you guys married here)!

I wish you both all the best for your future together and hope that your dream to buy land here can become a reality!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    21
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Although we didn't stay at Lope Lope we did spend our last day of vacation there! The horseback adventure takes you through the Lope Lope ranch, through a beautiful farm nearby, alongside a gorgeous Blue Hole, and ends with a ride through the sea at the front of the resort. My husband is not a rider and was a bit wary of my wish to ride on my birthday but Megan put him at ease and he had a ball!
We were lucky enough to also enjoy a very tasty lunch and a few beers on their oceanfront deck after the ride. Megan's love for horses (and animals in general) shows through in everything she does. The horses are beautifully taken care of and have a great life now that they are at the Lope Lope Ranch/Resort. I wish I could have stayed longer myself or at least brought Biscuit my little beauty queen back with me. Thanks again for a wonderful day! Please give the horses a pet from Corey and Peggy Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi guys,

Thanks for the great feedback on horse riding. Peggy I could understand how much it meant to you to have Corey come with you, especially since it was the day of your birthday.....I am sure if you could you would of taken “Biscuit” home in your suitcase as you really connected with her!

I hope you had a safe trip back to Australia and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Santo - Happy Travels!!

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

From the beautiful resort style accommodation to the friendly staff and local villagers, I was totally indulged during my stay at Lope Lope. My every need was taken care of to meet my expectations and deliver an authentic Ni-Vanuatu experience. Walking the sandy beaches and exploring the amazing blue watering holes along the east coast was only outdone by the delicious local beef and delectable freshly caught game fish and market fresh vegetables served at Megan, Colin and Ritana’s Lope Lope Adventure Lodge. Nestled in a beautiful ranch style setting on a private beach, horses roam freely and added to my back to nature experience. By the end of my stay, Black Label was coming to meet me each morning to say hello, followed by the rest of the herd who then made their way down to the beach and rolled in the coral sands and fresh waters. The girls at the bar provided me with a fun Friday night, with dancing and laughter and a wonderful time in town partying with the locals. I simply can’t wait to return and explore more of the history and indulge in more of the adventures that await at Lope Lope.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GStarExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Hey Jason,

Thank you for the fantastic review! Our staff really enjoyed taking you to a local birthday party while you were here.....I am glad you enjoyed the horses grazing freely around the property - I believe letting them be in there natural environment with no fences can give them back there freedom - and truly can make Lope Lope a haven for them...

I hope to see you back here in Santo in the near future and wish you all the best with your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The staff at Lope Lope are very warming and welcoming and make you feel right at home as soon as you step foot on Lope Lope. Amongst beautiful sands, sea and horses Lope Lope is a treasure on the East Coast Road and should be a "Must Visit" on any travellers itinerary.

They serve tropical cocktails and great food and the quality and standards of their accommodation are certaintly 5 star...with 5 star service and a 5 star smile...Lope Lope Adventure Resort made our holiday in Espiritu Santo and it was a great way to finish off our trip....in true style.
A big thank you to Colin & Megan for making us feel so welcome. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our tip for a great room experience is: NATAPOA
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astra528934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Hi Astra –Maya & Philip,

I am glad you found us on your last night in Santo and were able to stay with us.......I must admit you guys are a fantastic couple and I wish you all the best with your Business “THE EDGE”.

I have no doubt in my mind that together you guys will make a huge success.... see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We spent the last 4 nights of our honeymoon at Lope Lope and had an amazing time, only wished we could have stayed longer! We were greeted by Kal at the airport and really appreciated the stop-off in town to get some supplies for our stay. A welcome cocktail and sparkling wine in the fridge on arrival to our private bungalow overlooking the beach was the perfect start to our time here. There is heaps to do on Santo and Kal and Megan are ready to help you arrange your day of activities (Millenium Caves and horse riding on the beach are a must) if you can pull yourself away from the bungalow. There is snorkelling directly in front of the ranch and the use of snorkel gear and kayaks is free to guests. The bar/restaurant at Lope Lope is awesome with free pool and darts, the friendliest bar staff, and a great party with pool competition every Friday night. The only real downside was that the weather was ordinary during our stay so we couldn’t go game fishing, and that it was a little quite at times as we were the only guests. This place is great and we highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks Megan, Kal, Beez, and Fiona for a great time and say hi to Colin, Cam, and Sandy for us! Cheers Trav & Krystle

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis_W_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Hi you two!

Thanks for a great and accurate review - we must say that we really enjoyed having you at Lope Lope... it is awesome to see couples like you making your own holiday special and enjoying what Santo has to offer!

We showed the staff your review, and they are delighted that they lived up to all your expectations - and they all asked me to say "Hi and see you soon" :)! It is reviews like these that make them work harder, smarter and treat all guests in a special way. Thanks a mill from all of them.

Enjoy your travels, and hey K, all the best with the new job - hope it frees up your time for more fantastic holidays.

Cheers

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We recently stayed here for 7 nights and were pretty disappointed. We tried to leave early but were told we would have to pay the full rate ($396) for each night we had booked as our booking was preventing someone else booking the room, this was despite the fact that Lope Lope was empty besides ourselves.
There were lots of small things that contributed to the stay being uncomfortable including the bathroom door only opening halfway, the hammock breaking the first time we tried it, no shampoo and conditioner and not being able to shower without being bit by mosquitoes. Then there was the big things. We werent able to sleep a full night through during the whole stay because the waves crashed so loudly on the doorstep of the bungalow. It sounded like a freight train; we tried the airconditioner, just to mute the sound outside. Then there is the annoying stuff that you get in most places, like 4000 Vatu being stolen from our clothes when we used the in-house laundry service and the taxi that the manager called charging us double.
It was also a fairly boring place to stay after the first day, there is nothing free to do here, bar swimming in the blue hole and walking a bit. Everything else is costly and not included in the expensive room price. There is no beach to speak of and there are no recliners etc to relax in.
There is no room service except for drinks and ice. The water made me very sick, but there are no signs saying not to drink it.
The up side of Lope Lope is the local staff, they are incredibly helpful and will go out of their way for you. Megan is also great.The place is very pretty in a very rugged kind of way and a short stay would have been great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hi J & C

Thank you for posting to our Trip Advisor listing… we are pretty shocked by it, especially after you told one of our managers a day out from leaving that you were having an absolute fantastic/awesome time! It seems you may be venting some anger based on our cancellation policy and the fact that you decided to leave a day earlier to do shopping in Port Vila.

Even though your review is mostly negative, we in turn will see it in a positive light and use your valuable comments to further improve and address any possible areas we can and possibly may be lacking in. Our guests have always come first and our local staff absolutely strive for that; they get to see all these reviews… that drives them each day and provides the service you pointed out in the latter part of your review.

Anyway, a few comments/answers below aimed at answering you and any future guests wanting to enjoy a great time at Lope Lope.

Lope Lope Adventure Lodge has a cancellation policy, the same as just about any hotel or resort anywhere else in the world. Our cancellation policy is on our website, check-in forms and listed on all booking agents like Agoda, Wotif and Expedia – basically, by leaving a day earlier, you are liable for that night’s room rate unless we could sell the room on short notice and then refund you. Unfortunately that did not happen as you chose to stay the last night.

We wish you had spoken to us regarding anything that was not getting done in the rooms - we always encourage our guests to talk to us about anything to make their stay extra special. The shampoo and conditioner was something that should have been refilled daily (usually is) - when you told Kal about it on your last night he had our staff take extras to your room. However, we have spoken to our housekeeping staff regarding this issue; thanks for highlighting this isolated incident.

Our showers are outdoor showers, and this being a tropical island we do get mosquitoes that actually should not be a problem whilst having a shower though... and of course there is a bath inside for anyone who feels uncomfortable using the spacious outdoor garden shower. We do provide each room with mosquito coils for any outdoor areas that are not protected (like the front deck over the water). Bungalows inside are 100% mosquito proof, unless doors get left open of course.

Noisy… as advertised, the bungalows are absolute waterfront and while the ocean in front of the bungalows is sheltered you do get all the normal lapping sounds associated with tides going in and out. We have never had a report on this being a problem so far, but do know that in bad weather (high winds and seas) it could be noisier than expected (probably a couple of days during your stay).

We can’t really comment on the VT4,000 missing from your laundry (we cannot pin-point it), but there is every chance it fell out of the laundry into the washing machine, or while it was on the line. Our staff our very honest people and we have never had a problem with theft in any way, shape or form – once again, we have addressed it to make absolutely sure; they will check pockets now in case any guest did not prior to submitting their laundry.

We’ll find out which taxi it was that charged you more than usual and make sure to stop using their services, as they all know the rates they should charge. Kayaks and snorkeling gear are all complimentary to our guests, and of course we have pool tables and a dartboard in the bar.

However, we do encourage all our guests to explore the island and see what Santo is all about... taking tours, riding horses, visiting historic sites, enjoying meals at other restaurants etc. instead of only spending time at the resort.

Continental breakfasts are included with the room price as are airport transfers. Please see photographs of our property (ours or those taken by our guests - see Trip Advisor for those) in regards to the beach. Besides each bungalow having a small private beach, there is a big one to the right of the restaurant and another on the left of the bungalows (the one at the blue hole).

Room service is not something we have advertised as one of our amenities, but whenever any guest requested a meal sent to their bungalow we have always been more than happy to accommodate.

Water… all of us drink the water here, and we have not had any guest complaints until now – all mini bars are stocked with bottled water for your convenience. You said to the manager that you thought you had picked up a stomach bug in Port Vila the previous day, so our owner brought over medication the next night (his personal stock) and arranged for “Green Coconut” juice, a natural rehydrate that works wonders. All was at no charge. The bottom line for any traveler anywhere, is to always bring the basic medication you may need on a trip to the tropics (as we mention on our website).

We thank you for your kind words regarding our local staff. Some of these issues should never have come up such as housekeeping missing the shampoos and conditioners; as for the other issues we wish you had brought them to our attention immediately so we could have remedied the situation. We are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here…

Kind Regards

The Lope Lope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

After spending 4 beautiful days on Ratua Island we were a little nervous about our next destination Lope Lope Adventure Lodge. We shouldn't have been. It couldn't have been more different but we loved it! Its not a resort. Private beautiful Bungalows - so so relaxing and peaceful and a spectacularly beautiful location. There is also the Restaurant and Bar as part of the complex which made life easy. Meagan was fabulous a font of local knowledge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifestooshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Hi you two,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, as we certainly enjoyed your company...

Take care on your travels and we look forward to seeing a lot more of you in the future.

Kind Regards

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
0.7 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#2 of 10 in Luganville
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
168 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
112 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lope Lope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lope Lope Lodge

Property: Lope Lope Lodge
Address: East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lope Lope Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lope Lope Lodge is Santo's finest new absolute waterfront resort boasting probably one of the best locations on the island. It is a lodge built to 5-star quality standards with the same reflected in our accommodation, service, food, drinks and activities - without the price tag! Situated 15 mins from the international airport and only 11 km out of town on the newly tar sealed East Coast road, we have fast become one the most popular places in Santo to visit, whether staying with us or not. Set on 8.5 Hectares of lush tropical forest, a natural blue hole and an ice cold fresh water creek forms our northern boundary, whilst the warm crystal clear, aquamarine colored Pacific Ocean meets our white sandy beaches with nothing more than a soothing sound that is bound to lull you to sleep in your luxury bungalow...The Slipway Sports Bar & Grill combination of natural & modern design, the Slipway Sports Bar & Grill is well known for its variety of drinks and food, and has fast become the "Place to be in Santo," since our opening in April 2010. Offering free pool tables and darts on our mezzanine level, live big screen TV, free internet and comfortable couches to relax away the day. Our Accommodation design mixture of Modern and Melanesian, our upmarket bungalows are absolute waterfront with most top class amenities and finishes that will make you feel at home, especially when stepping off the deck onto your own white sandy private beach! Our 132 square meter luxury bungalows are one of a kind and designed to meet your highest expectation without losing the true island style feeling you can enjoy while staying with us! All bungalows are built to 5-star quality with a unique feeling of living in your own home - but in paradise & right on a tropical Pacific beach...* Private entrance* Thatch deck, hammock, 4 seat settee* Spacious open plan design* King Size bed (or a twin King Single)* iPod dock* HD TV* A comfortable 3-seat lounge set, Laptop desk, Walk through wardrobe* Bar fridge* Laptop safe* Twin vanities* Luxury Bath* Outside shower in tropical garden. All linen, towels & beach towels are provided. Your room is made up every day & full service every third day!Activities We offer a wide variety of activities with, horse riding trails, Hobie cat sailing, kayaks, game fishing, island hopping, sightseeing, cultural tours, blue holes etc... All at your fingertips! Lope Lope is truly "The Place to be in Vanuatu!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lope Lope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope Lope Adventure Hotel Espiritu Santo
Lope Lope Lodge Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing