We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place gives you a real chance to unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lope Lope Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lope Lope Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place gives you a real chance to unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Lope Lope is a fantastic place. Espiritu Santo is not as developed as Port Vilia which is a good thing. We later learnt you can fly direct to Espiritu Santo from Brisbane Australia rather than Melb. to Port Vilia (stay a night). to Espiritu Santo. The rooms are spacious and right on the water, they feature beautiful out door showers, lovely decking looking out over the water and fitted with all the mod cons. The owners Colin, Megan, the staff and the locals are amazing people, so friendly and caring. The food is some of the best I have ever tasted; I especially loved the steaks and seafood. This place gives you a real chance to unwind. We will never forget the special time we spent there. Regards James, Isabella and Steve.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, all as private as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hi Guys

Thanks for the review!

It was a pleasure having you around - you and the entire family (parents, brothers and the rest) where awesome! I cannot remember how many birthdays there were, but it was great entertaining all of you on those days :) ... even though some nights were real late, it was good chatting away about everything...!

See you back soon, and take care of that beautiful daughter of yours!

Btw - we have since named a shooter after your stunning family yacht...

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    21
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrack Heights
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Can highly recommend. I heard about Megan's horse riding lodge from FB and I started emailing Megan with my enquiries. I found her very helpful and a pleassure to deal with. This followed through to our day trip to the lodge. Megan picked us up from the ship and was very welcoming to me and my family. The lodge is amazing. Such an amazing location. Very clean and beautiful. The staff were great and spoke good english. I can highly recommend the fresh food also. Definatley want to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hi There

It is always a pleasure to meet and ride with a confident horse lover/rider..........It means a lot to me when I get a personal email thanking us for the great day and that the whole family was entertained while “Mum” was away riding....

Cruise ships are always entertaining and sometimes trying but to know that we can still deliver a personal service to everyone is very rewarding!

Once again thank you for your support and review - see you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

My partner and I recently visited Lope Lope for the second time. We stayed last year and loved it, so that's why we decided to come back instead of trying another resort, and you could understand why if you've been before. We arrived on the night of a 60th birthday party for one of the expats living on the island, the bar/restaurant was full of excitement and entertainment and to top it off we had an international acrobatic show, a big bonus! What we loved most about it last year was the personal experience with the staff. They all remembered us, due to the fact that you get to know them quite well, which is a plus because you learn about the culture so much faster. As always Megan, the manager, does such a great job of making sure we are comfortable and settled in and have everything we need. A great thing about Lope Lope is that you never really have to leave the resort, as it's got all you need. Waking up to the sound of the ocean, diving into the water on your own private beach, then starting the day with a delightful continental breakfast is amazing. The the activities: We did Horse Riding, went on the Hobie Cats, played Paintball when the cruise ship was in, lay on the beach, snorkeled the reefs, got set up with local dive operator to dive the President Coolidge, and best of all, had a trip up to Champagne beach! I highly recommend Lope Lope for your next stay in Santo, food and drinks are amazing, customer service is second to none, and the amount you can do is just satisfying. A++++++

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DjVenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Oi, DJ & Dr!

Was really great to see you two back - the staff still love you I see!

Dr... your man was not bad on the horse riding considering the fact that he grew up in the city where the only thing he could do was ride a bike (I believe)... well done DJ and especially braving a first time on a Hobie Cat in 15 knots of wind on a busy Cruise Ship day!

Yes the 60th birthday was absolutely awesome and a night to remember - that is what we do for our patrons... nice work on the music that night - thanks a tonne for your input that night.

You guys have a great time - see you next time.

Cheers
Ps. We showed your review to our staff - they loved it and told me to say hi and they will see you back again next time - actually Bissend said she will send you guys out to get a better "tan" next time - that must have been be a private joke you guys had... get out of the luxury bungalows and get a tan???!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I've stayed here twice now, and if I had to choose only one holiday location for the rest of my life, this would be it.

From the moment the team picks you up at the airport, the friendliness of the hosts and the warm welcome from the staff really sets Lope Lope apart. And then there's the location -- picture-perfect beachfront bungalows with water literally lapping at the shore metres from your porch. The outdoor garden showers are divine and everything in the spacious rooms is beautifully appointed and furnished.

The food is a definite high-point. Both times I've stayed I've been lucky enough to have freshly caught local fish.

Tours of Espiritu Santo - including beautiful beaches and historic sites - are reasonably priced and can be organised directly through the resort.

Thanks Megan and the team for a fantastic trip. I will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMargaret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Hi M!

It was great to have you back... thanks for the review - we showed our staff and they had smiles painted all over their faces... lol - they love it when they know they have achieved what we have trained them for... "Personal service to perfection with a free smile!"

They now do all that naturally!

See you back soon and have a great Christmas!!

The Lope Lope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were lucky enough to be told about (lope lope) and spent Sunday 23rd of sep there on our last day of our p&o cruise :) we were made very very welcome and Megan who was extremely busy that day was able to accommodate me and the 4 kids in for 50 minute horse ride which was fantastic :) I must say the service and food was absolutely beautiful and the surrounding... Well the just Speak for themselves :) we were in a large group of people and all of us can not speak highly of this resort and will most defiantly we go back there for a holiday at the lope lope resort :) The two hosts are very lovely and we look forward to seeing you both again :) many thanks to you both for our fabulous day at your paradise island :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Hi There,

First of all thank you for the wonderful review!

Cruise ship days can always be hectic but I am so glad that I could fit in the children and yourself for a horse trail.....It was hard to believe when you asked to see me and then brought out this little bit of paper with” Megan Lope Lope” on it from a lady you met in Melbourne, as a must do!!!!!

It just shows word of mouth is still strong especially when you provide good old fashion service with a smile!

We enjoyed having your large group at Lope Lope for the day and truly hope you will revisit our little bit of paradise again in the future....

Happy Travels & see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have recently returned from our stay at Lope Lope and I just had to write a review because this place is absolute paradise! From the moment we got off the plane , we were picked up by Megan and taken back to the lodge. Just the service from all the staff during our stay and smiling faces makes this one of the best places we have ever been too. The bungalows are amazing - very spacious and private on the water with your own private beach listening to the waves each night will send anyone off to sleep peacefully.,.. they also have an very beautiful outdoor shower . We had a good look around Santo on our stay and believe Lope Lope has the best accommodation on offer . You can do as much as you want here or as little, the choice is yours. Megan is a wealth of knowledge and sat down with us and explained everything that was on offer. We decided to do the full day tour of all the highlights of Santo ( Port Olry - amazing! , Champagne Beach - amazing, Blue Holes - breathtaking ,Million Dollar Point) We had a Phillip our driver for the whole day and he was awesome and gave us a great insight into Santo. This tour is a must ! The next thing we decided to do was the Mt Hope Waterfall Adventure . This is run by Greg from Oyster Island and is truly a great experience! We were picked up from Lope Lope and taken into the jungle through remote villages up to a farm called Mt Hope. From there we put our lifejackets on and jumped into a refreshing meandering river and floated all the way downstream until we got to the most beautiful waterfall. Greg was great and definately a character and makes this tour that extra bit special. We were then dropped off to Oyster Island for lunch - food here is to die for, highly recommend a visit here . On the last day I decided to go horseriding . Megan has an amazing ranch where she looks after all the rescued horses - what a life they now have and you can tell how much she loves all her animals. Horseriding is also a must thing to do, I was given the most adorable horse "Whisky" She would go as fast or slow as I wanted it was completely upto me - we went through a village past a church where they were singing, up through a farm and past a beautiful blue hole and then out onto the beach in front of Lope Lope - awesome experience! Whether you want to lie in your own hammock on the deck , or go for a kayak to find yourself a secluded beach , or even have a snorkel this place has everything.

We truly did have the most amazing time and have been already discussing our return , we would love to bring our kids back to experience Santo way of life.

It is often hard to find good quality service with a smile thesedays and this place has just that - the staff seem happy to work at Lope Lope which is very refreshing.

We will miss everything about Lope Lope - I often find myself daydreaming about this place now I am back to work .....

Megan - a huge thanks for everything ,you were an amazing host and we will spread the word about this beautiful place.

We hope to see you all soon

Nicole and Mark XXXX

Room Tip: Each of the 3 bungalows are great - all have private beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi Nicole & Mark

Thanks guys for the fantastic review - as you know our staff see the reviews as well - wish you could have seen the smiles... you made their day!

I am happy you enjoyed your honeymoon that much - it is always a special time to remeber. After so many years of not being on a horse Nicole, it meant a lot to me that you felt completely at ease on your trail with Whisky.

I have pasted on your feedback to Phillip and Greg from Oyster Island regarding the Island tours and Mount Hope, whom both were over the moon that they are still delivering a “one off experience “.....” with our guests.

I look forward to seeing the “whole family” next time you are in Santo. Now stop day dreaming and get back to work! Lol...

Cheers

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

My partner and i travelled to Santo with intention of finally getting engaged. We booked our accomodation well in advance with an offer over the internet. We were anticipating a fantastic stay at a boutique resort (NOT Lope Lope).
Upon arrival we were greeted with a credit card form instead of a smile or introduction and immediately thought 'Oh no!' We endured our wind swept 8 night stay at our 'boutique resort' only because we had met such fantastic people down the road at Lope Lope. We enjoyed our time spent at Lope Lope so much that we postponed our flights just to stay there for three nights.
The moment we arrived at Lope we could not believe that we had only travelled a short distance from our 'boutique resort', we were greeted with a smile and kindness by the staff and management who instantly started organizing all the activities that our 'boutique resort' manager seemed to be resistant in doing so. We rode the on location horses at Lope from the lodge past a blue hole and then out on the sand bank out the front of the Lodge(a fantastic experience even for a first timer), went on fishing charters and island hopping with Island Fishing Santo - filled with much insight into true Santo life with Fabrice. Not to mention the amazing millenium cave tour we experieced with the new tour guide company set up by a local family...an unforgettable day!!
Through Lope Lope we were blessed by meeting more and more wonderful people who we grew very fond of. The accomodation was complete water front accomodation in a beautiful roomy bungalow over looking the sand banks and crystal clear waters, complete with a spacious bathroom and a to die for out door shower set in your own private tropical garden. Lope Lope has the best of both worlds, there is somewhere to socialize and get to know the other guests, staff and regulars, play pool, watch rugby,recover at the bar after a fun filled day, fill your belly or let your hair down and dance your butt off, OR, you can wonder off to your bungalow and forget the world and just relax.
On the last day of our stay we were whisked off to Ais or Aese island where my partner finally popped the question, all organized through Lope Lope and Island Fishing Santo- and yes it was everything and more than we anticipated!
There is a whole community of people that we grew to love at Lope Lope who went out of their way to make everything perfect for our engagement, they really made up for the terrible accomodation we had endured before we got to Lope. The worst part of the trip was leaving this magical place and such beautiful people. The best thing our 'boutique resort' did for us was send us down the road looking for Megan at Lope Lope Lodge.
Thankyou to everyone at Lope for making our engagement and our whole Santo holiday more than we could have dreamt of...I WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK!!
Thanks again to management Megan, Colin and Ritana xo
We are still beaming a week later!
Pieta

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swetta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Hey Guys

WOW what a review Mate! To be able to make your marriage proposal so special was our pleasure, one our staff take great pride in going the extra mile for special occasions such as this... I was personally very impressed with the heart they made with local flowers in your bungalow - that was a special touch from our caring staff :)

I am glad that, after a bit of a rough start to your holiday , Lope Lope Adventure Lodge ticked all your boxes and managed to make it a time you two will never forget (it will be even more special to get you guys married here)!

I wish you both all the best for your future together and hope that your dream to buy land here can become a reality!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
0.7 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
#5 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lope Lope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lope Lope Lodge

Property: Lope Lope Lodge
Address: East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lope Lope Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lope Lope Lodge is Santo's finest new absolute waterfront resort boasting probably one of the best locations on the island. It is a lodge built to 5-star quality standards with the same reflected in our accommodation, service, food, drinks and activities - without the price tag! Situated 15 mins from the international airport and only 11 km out of town on the newly tar sealed East Coast road, we have fast become one the most popular places in Santo to visit, whether staying with us or not. Set on 8.5 Hectares of lush tropical forest, a natural blue hole and an ice cold fresh water creek forms our northern boundary, whilst the warm crystal clear, aquamarine colored Pacific Ocean meets our white sandy beaches with nothing more than a soothing sound that is bound to lull you to sleep in your luxury bungalow...The Slipway Sports Bar & Grill combination of natural & modern design, the Slipway Sports Bar & Grill is well known for its variety of drinks and food, and has fast become the "Place to be in Santo," since our opening in April 2010. Offering free pool tables and darts on our mezzanine level, live big screen TV, free internet and comfortable couches to relax away the day. Our Accommodation design mixture of Modern and Melanesian, our upmarket bungalows are absolute waterfront with most top class amenities and finishes that will make you feel at home, especially when stepping off the deck onto your own white sandy private beach! Our 132 square meter luxury bungalows are one of a kind and designed to meet your highest expectation without losing the true island style feeling you can enjoy while staying with us! All bungalows are built to 5-star quality with a unique feeling of living in your own home - but in paradise & right on a tropical Pacific beach...* Private entrance* Thatch deck, hammock, 4 seat settee* Spacious open plan design* King Size bed (or a twin King Single)* iPod dock* HD TV* A comfortable 3-seat lounge set, Laptop desk, Walk through wardrobe* Bar fridge* Laptop safe* Twin vanities* Luxury Bath* Outside shower in tropical garden. All linen, towels & beach towels are provided. Your room is made up every day & full service every third day!Activities We offer a wide variety of activities with, horse riding trails, Hobie cat sailing, kayaks, game fishing, island hopping, sightseeing, cultural tours, blue holes etc... All at your fingertips! Lope Lope is truly "The Place to be in Vanuatu!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lope Lope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope Lope Adventure Hotel Espiritu Santo
Lope Lope Lodge Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing