We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lope Lope Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Espiritu(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort(Espiritu Santo)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Village de Santo Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Santo(Luganville)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Aore Island Resort(Aore Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
149
28
11
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
28
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerprivate beachhorse ridingblue holechampagne beachpure luxurydeeper waterin room wifistunning scenerycruise shipabsolutely loved our staya wonderful staylocal tusker beerthe resort managerlovely eveningpaterooms are amazing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Lope Lope was a sensational place to stay with sweeping panoramic views of the sea and providing an experience which makes it the best pacific island stay near Australia ! we came in a family of four and hired 2 rooms which were absolutely fantastic ! Stayed in Santo for 4 days and 5 nights and it was the best ever time of the year to be there in the month of June with the lowest humidity and the best weather staying around 25 degrees ! Couldn't have asked for anything more...not to mention the friendliness of the staff including Donna, Christy, Jemina, Ronald who were extremely down to earth and helpful to cater to any needs that we have !.. really enjoyed doing sailing and kayaking which were a free amenity to use which staying in Lope which is a great bonus ! Waking upto the sunrays hitting your face and enjoying the sound of the sea waves raving the beach is music to the ears and a visual treat to the eyes in the morning ! Christy organised a friendly driver John for us who went out of his way to show us around Santo which was so very appreciable and fantastic ! Free laundry service and cleaning facilities are only some of the perks.There is even a shower fitted amongst a forest like enclave to take bath outside after coming straight from the beach. Food in the restaurant was good and it would be great to have more variety on a daily basis as specials. Santo is the best place to stay in vanuatu and Lope tops it all !! PERIOD ....IF you aint stayin in Lope, You are missing out BBBBBIG ! Thank you once again to all the staff and the crew behind the scenes for making our stay beyond FUNTABULOUS ! God Bless Lope Lope ! Three Cheers from Melbourne ;) and PS: WE WILL BE BACK SOON ! Ashwin Koshy

Room Tip: In winter months, rooms without AC are great.In summer its vice versa. The first lodge room is the best as its closest to the sea to wake upto in the morning and the sun rays hitting your face!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Hey Guys!

How refreshing when our guests post reviews like this... simply "heart felt"!

The staff loved you to bits - and i see by your review you guys loved them too - big Vanuatu smiles as usual this end!

We will certainly see you again... and... passports are always good to have in our safe, but forget them there before you fly out?? Ha ha - you guys were just looking for an excuse not to leave Lope Lope, right?? - LOL!

You guys were fantastic - staff gave you a DTU award... (double thumbs up)!

Enjoy your travels - hope Melbourne was not too cold when you got back?

Cheers - from the whole team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lope Lope was our answered prayer. We had booked at Ratua Private Island and decided that after spending 5 mins there that the Island was not for us. Late at night with little reception or Internet functions we sent an SOS txt to friend back home for help in finding accommodation in Santo for the 3 nights that we had left on out honeymoon. All 4 of them came back with Lope Lope. After some txt communication with the manager in the morning ( On her DAY OFF mind you) we were able to secure a room and transfers all at short notice. Thank you Donna, you saved our honeymoon.
After what was a pretty stressful experience getting to Lope Lope was a god sent. The staff are amazing, the food devine, the Of your coconut buckets lethal, and the view breathtaking.

Lope Lope is situated about a 15-20 drive out of town on a sealed road. The resort has 4 bunglows that have their own private entrance and private beach. I cried when we saw our rooms, as this was what we thought we were booking at Ratua. It was everything we could have hoped for and so so so much more.

The room was MASSIVE with a beautiful big living room. The king bed looks out to the ocean which is beautiful to wake up to. There is so much storage space for all your things. A safe and access to Wifi etc. The bathroom is also massive with a lovely bathroom and amazing outdoor shower. The best part is that the rooms at 100% mossie free!! BONUS!!

The deck out the front of the room leads straight onto you private beach. My husband and I took great delight in sitting of an evening and watching the crabs fight for territory. We called it crab hour and we laugh about it all the time.

Breakfast is given to you the night before and consists of toast, jams, spreads, OJ, Milk, coffee and fresh fruit with you can eat in your room and then if you choose hot brekkie is served in the bar from 10am. The girls will bring it in at night while you are at dinner and Susan ( house keeper) will come and tidy it all up for you in the morning. Thanks Susan :)

Bisend, Julie, Chrissy and Jenina ( the lovely and ever helpful bar staff) will help you organise and tours or transfer that you may wish to do. And im our cases most of the time at short notice. I MASSIVE thankyou to Beesy for all your help organinsg our Champagne beach tour, and our diving tour. You are truly amazing and you made our holiday so special. Something that we will never forget.

The Slipway inn is a local nightspot on Friday which goes off with Ex pats. Quite the place to be.
We loved the food that we ate. The kitchen staff were amazing. Thanks to the chef Rocky and cooks Lilian, Albertine and Lucy for the amazing food. Im pretty sure this is where I may have picked up the sneaky 5kgs I put on :)

Massive thanks to Megan for the amazing horse riding experience. Megan took me on a wonderful horse ride up the mountain and through the forest and onto the beach right in front of our room. Was unforgettable. Megan is such a lovely and warm person that we found ourselves chit chatting like old school buddies in no time! The horses live on the property and are allowed to roam around at will. On our very last day as we were laying in bed watching the sun rise they all ran past and played in the water in front of room, and we were in awe of the beautiful place that we were very privileged to have stayed.

The Team at Lope Lope certainly made Chris and I feel extremely welcome and nothing was EVER an trouble at all. We had the most amazing time and really felt that when we said goodbye that we were saying good by to family. We will absolutely be back.. and maybe next time with a little bambino ( beesy - that should make you laugh :))

Room Tip: Any ! They are all amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Hi Guys!

What a "true reflection" review you guys have posted... thanks a mill!

Reviews are what inform other travelers as to what expect, and yours was 10/10... lol - you should consider writing "critic reports" - well said!

Thanks for mentioning all the staff names in what they did and how they made your stay special... as I have said before - they absolutely thrive on it - in this country, their job at Lope Lope is their ultimate pride!

Donna has shown your guys review to them all, and you would have been bowled over by their responsive smiles and tears of joy - they have succeeded and because of your review, acknowledged online - something they so so so enjoy and love!

A special note on Bissy - "she is beaming!"

It was an absolute pleasure to make your honeymoon special... now can you get on with it and bring the bambino back for a visit?!

Cheers - safe and lovely travels to you two...

From all of us here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Thanks Megan for a wonderful horse riding experience. Loved every minute of it and would do it again. I came with my husband and 2 friends and we did the experienced track. And what a diverse track it was. From the farms, to the gorgeous views, through the trees and crystal clear stream, then out to the beach. I didn't want it to end and could have gone longer. My horse Whiskey was wonderful. I'd recommend doing this for everyone who wants to go horse riding on Santo. I'm not an experienced rider, but felt safe as Megan will give you a horse suited to you, so it's all good.

The only tip I'd give is to take cash as there is no credit card facility.

Thanks again Megan. Had a great time.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank pandagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Hi Christine,

Thank you for the fantastic review, it was a pleasure to have 4 confident horse riders for a change (even thou you guys under estimated your ability lol)!

It is always refreshing to hear feedback on my horse trails and know that all the boxes were ticked ,Thank you for that.... I hope you got the most out of the rest of your holiday in Santo ,and look forward to our paths crossing again....

Cheers
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Lope Lope Adventure Lodge very much. Especially the location of this lovely little resort is very beautiful. The horses coming to graze next to our bungalow were amazing and the proximity of the beautiful blue hole was also fantastic. The staff were very friendly with authentic Vanuatu smiles - thankyou for looking after us - we had a great time!

Room Tip: Bungalow on the edge of the resort, closest to the Blue Hole - quiet, peaceful and just lovely
Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank walkerbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Hi Guys

Was great having you... thanks a mill for the review!

As per usual we have shown our staff and it created many (as you put it) "Big Authentic Vanuatu Smiles" - they love the feedback from guests!

As per your room tip - yes that is a special bungalow... and for any other guests looking to book it, especially honeymooners, it is called the "Nakatambul"; a name derived from the beautiful local timber used in all our bungalows.

Safe travels and see you guys back some day!

Cheers

From all of us here in paradise - one we call our own!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I will start off by saying the staff here are really good and always happy to assist in anything you wish.and the rooms are beautiful. It's a great location even if a little bit out of town.
But this isn't the adventure lodge it's made out to be at all. It's more of an owners playground. More than half the stuff advertised on the website is no longer available. It's pretty much the horse riding and fishing still available. You will see advertised everywhere that they have everything still but they don't anymore.
I would not say that I would not stay here again it's just not what I was looking for on this holiday. And I felt a bit ripped off as the adventure lodge I was after was simply a nice place to stay.
They will also try and charge 5% on top for credit cards and will tell you all places charge it as its what the banks charge but after another 5 days i found it was 3% as an average not the 5 as they told me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clint R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Hey Mate

Thanks for the post as it will help clarify to future guests that we no longer have noisy quads & jet-ski's running around - we have moved away from that due to the type of guests we are attracting nowadays...

Our website has not shown the quads and jet-ski's as an activity for over a year now - see the "activities" tab on our site. I guess the misleading part is in the name and the photo gallery - we will update that in this week.

We are in the process of changing the name to take out the "Adventure" part, even though we still offer the rest - horse riding, fishing, paintball and all the non motorized water sports.

We encourage our guests to adventure out to places like the Millennium Caves, River Rafting, Diving, Champagne Beach, Blue Holes etc - all those activities are arranged by us through third party operators and is a great way to explore our beautiful island and add to the fun that can be enjoyed here.

Regarding the credit card surcharge - every business in Santo (and Vanuatu) has a different credit card rate as determined by the bank, type of business, turn over etc. The bank determines it; not us. Ours is actually 4.5% plus VAT, which makes it 5.07% to be exact. We have asked them to review our rate and await a positive response.

In saying that, we do offer all our guests the opportunity to save on those fees by doing a direct transfer to our Australian bank account - no costs there other than what the Australian Banks charge.

Anyway, thanks again for the post and enjoy your future travels - sorry we could not offer the quads for you.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews