We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better for what you pay”
Review of Lope Lope Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lope Lope Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Could have been better for what you pay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a 10 day stay here and the natural surrounds are lovely. Beware that this is on a coral reef and depending on tides your beach could be some distance from your front door. The accommodation is good, could be more light for those that would rather not be in a dim room would be good. Housekeeping was a little slack with the bin not being emptied for days and no replenishment of soap, shampoo etc until we asked. For what you are paying this should just happen.

The breakfast was seriously boring. After day 2 vegemite on toast and the same 3 fruit mix was wearing thin. Surely the chef can bake banana bread, coconut bread, muffins and make fresh fruit salad with more than three different fruits. Invest in a toaster that can do 4 slices of toast at a time and change your cereal. Small changes would certainly help for guests who stay longer than a day or two.

Beware the website is out of date and doesn't reflect the what the resort now offers.

The biggest asset this place has are the staff that make you feel welcome and are wonderful hosts. Christie and Bissent you are just amazing and certainly do a fabulous job at being friendly and helpful at all time- thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi There

Thanks for the review and highlighting a few of your concerns. I will try to answer your points with a view to positive improvements and so that other future guests will not have the same issue.

Your first comment regarding the beach and it being on coral reef, I have no idea why you would make mention to this feature or what you mean by it. Every bungalow has its own beach that is no further than 2-3 meters away from the steps you walk down (see all pics and those of guests on Trip Advisor). Sure, when the tides are very low, then you have to walk out a bit to get to water deep enough to swim in. Most people love this aspect, as you can either walk around and explore all that is exposed during such low tides. Sitting on a sand bar with your partner, enjoying your favorite drink, only to see that same sand bar disappear later is something many guests have commented on.

Emmy did all your daily services, and has a check list of everything she must complete, which includes towels, bins, soaps, shampoo's, sweeping etc. Your room is fully serviced every third day with new sheets etc. The only concern we have is that there are times when the "Do not disturb sign" outside the bungalow remains on for a few days. She is not allowed into your bungalow when that sign is up. Either way, that calls for attention to this as well and our new managers have an alert system now so they know when this is happening. Emmy and Nellie (housekeeping) will be checked on, and we will now inform guests to please turn the sign around to "Make up my room" when they leave for the day. Housekeeping turn it back to "Do not disturb" when they are done with their service.

Breakfast is a mixture of organic, local seasonal fruit. We do not have the luxury of large varieties as in first world countries, and if we do want more variety, this will have to be air freighted in at an high cost. The same applies with the cereals - a visit to our local supermarket will help you understand. Speaking of which, the last month there has been unforeseen delays in our shipping, making it harder for resorts. Point taken on the banana bread and muffins - chef is onto that. We have six two slice toasters, but no real point in placing all six on the table when we only have two guests in.

We do have our chef available every morning for a variety of hot breakfasts that are really good.

In all, management have now taken the breakfast issue up and are turning it into the best we can possibly do with what we have - thanks for highlighting this point.

Website out of date? The only thing we know is out of date is the word "adventure" in our name; as we have taken away the quad bikes, motorized water sports, jet-ski's and paintball. We have done this as a vast majority of our guests come to Lope Lope Lodge to relax and enjoy peaceful surroundings. The rest; pictures, wording, activities etc is current as it can be, so once again a am a bit confused about your comment here.

When checking guests in, we usually highlight the fact that if anything is needed at any time during the stay, it requires a simple mention to our staff, and they will absolutely jump at sorting it out. Our staff and management are well known for going the extra mile to make your stay as pleasant, enjoyable and memorable as possible.

Anyway, our staff say thanks a million for the good comments on their work. You did create a beautiful smile on their faces, so thank you.

Enjoy your future travels.

The Lope Lope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    21
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights,the bungalows are really nice facing the beach but not a good place for swimming,the outside shower is a must and perfect for this area.
The food is really not what you are expecting:pizzas,pastas,sandwich...and almost impossible
to get some seafood if not frozen;the breakfast is really poor a mixed fruit salad and a piece of
bread and cereals on the corner of a table!
Regarding the price you pay it is a very poor value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laurent503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi There

Thanks for the review, and compliments on our accommodation.

Regarding your comments on the food, I do recall discussing it with you on the night before you checked out... I will repeat it here as other travelers also need to know this.

Our supply of seafood is limited to what the local fishermen bring us, and if the weather is not good they cannot go out and therefore we cannot get. In saying that we do stock up on fish, lobster, crab and oysters when we can - that is all we get locally. The rest like prawns, mussels, scallops, calamari etc has to be imported at a high margin; hence your comment on "frozen foods". In order to serve a decent seafood platter, we need to use these imported frozen products.

Your reference to "burgers, pizza's, pasta's and sandwiches"... yes that is on our day menu as that is what our clientele enjoy during the day. Our evening menu is a la carte with a great variety. Our Belgium Chef creates a variety of delectable international cuisine every few days.

Breakfast included is continental and does consist of a variety or local organic fruit, yogurts, cereals, bread, jam's etc. If that is not enough, our chef is on standby for a wide selection of hot breakfasts.

I do trust this answers you and all future guests to our lovely resort.

All the best with you future travels.

The Lope Lope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We enjoyed 5 days here recently and generally enjoyed the experience. It is a beautiful setting, the fares are really nice & private and the staff were helpful & friendly. Really loved the outdoor shower & private balcony in the fares (bungalows).
A couple of negatives though, the tap water is barely drinkable due to very high mineral content & really for what you pay to stay here it wouldn't hurt management to supply a couple of free bottles of water each day. Also having to pay an extra fee to use the scabby old Hobbie Cats was a bit rich as that sort of thing should be included for guests to use free of charge (as the kayaks are) if they wish and is really just the owner being a bit greedy in my view.
The food was of a high standard but I recommend prospective guests stock up on any drinks & snacks in Luganville to minimise the usual minibar ripoff.

Room Tip: There's only 4 to chose from & they're all absolute waterfront & private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmill204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi There

Thanks for the review, compliments and of course the "negative points". We have taken this on board as "positive criticism" and have taken action in our continuous effort of improving and remaining the best available in Santo.

The hobie cats are now free to our guests. No they are not "scabby", one of them simply needs a new trampoline (which is on order out of Australia).

The water does have a high mineral content as per all our islands (natural filtration); but it is safe to drink as mentioned in our compendium. We have however decided to add two bottles of water a day at no charge for those who may dislike the taste of the tap water... something not many hotels or resorts do around the world.

With the prices in the mini-bar, there is not much we can do about it, as the import duties in Vanuatu is very high. Remember it is a tax haven so the Government has to make money somewhere; even if it is at the cost of profit margins of resorts & restaurants. In saying that, we do offer all our guests free ice to enjoy their duty free drinks in their rooms ;)

Anyway, thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. It is always much appreciated, as it is feedback like this that we use to help us achieve even higher standards of service and quality.

Happy travels!

The "Always Smiling" Lope Lope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Had the most amazing week at Lope Lope, can't fault a thing! From lovely Helen and Ross the managers greeting us to dropping us back to go back to 'reality' it was just PERFECT! The staff were all lovely, genuine and helpful (I'll let you win at pool next time I promise Bisend! Lol;)) It really was the holiday of a lifetime. The people, food, stunning scenery and gorgeous cabin was much more than what we could have ever expected! Leaving this 'heaven on earth' was VERY hard and we are already planning our return! Thank you to all at Lope Lope for a holiday we will never forget.

Glen and Samantha:)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hey Guys

A fantastic review - staff gave you a double thumbs up :) Thank you from all of us here!

Also great pics you put up - guest pictures always tell the full truth... it is what it is - simply spectacular. Thanks for posting it.

Oh, and Bissend says you have "no chance" next time with pool, so best you keep practicing. I also heard from Ross & Helen that you did some great snorkeling whilst here - awesome to hear!

Anyway, we know you will be back, so until next time, 'er keep practicing your pool lol!

A Happy and Appreciative Lope Lope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had the privilege of staying at Lope Lope for three weeks. The location was absolutely perfect, as was the accommodation – loved the outdoor shower, the private beach, a perfect place to relax, do as little or as much as you want. Thank you Colin, Helen and Ross for your kindness and friendship. The food was divine – thank you Steve. The staff were amazing, so lovely, friendly and professional. A special thanks to Christie, Jeannot, Jenina, Susan and the very cute Tony! A big thank you to Bissent - you are a very special lady! It was so hard to leave.
If you’re looking for a perfect holiday go to Lope Lope!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmaP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi you two!

Your favorite table and our special staff are waiting for your return!!

Thank you for such a great review - as usual the staff really appreciated it when they were shown. Due to the length of your stay, staff & management alike feel you have become more than just guests! They all mentioned how easy and relaxed you were; something that is great to see and have at Lope Lope.

So my friends... until we get to spoil you again on your return, happy travelling!

Your Lope Lope Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Turtle Bay Resort and wanted to do horse riding at Lope Lope. All phone lines were down but resort managers Emma and Trent drove is to Lope Lope and we organised horse riding for the next day (fences being mended from cyclone that day). Instead we hired a hobie-cat and sailed round the bay for an hour. It was magical and we saw green turtles and a family of dugongs. Lunch afterwards was delicious and the service was great. We returned the next day for horse riding with Megan. She was so wonderful with our children aged 10 and 8, and also with myself and my husband, as none of us were experienced horse riders. It was a beautiful day, and we rode up the hill behind the resort, along the ridge with beautiful views and then down the hill and onto the beach. We finished with another great lunch at the resort. I recommend Lope Lope to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Grettaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi There

Thanks a mill for the review!

Awesome that you saw our resident dugongs... that is always very special to see them in the wild! There are about 17 of them in the pod - cute little babies!

Megan asked me to thank you guys for the review on our lovely horses, and you are right, the trip up onto the hill and down through the crystal clear ocean is always a highlight for our guests :)

Thanks from our smiling staff too... Steve the chef is doing a great job in the kitchen and loves to get feedback like this. Only problem is that he may want to force us into a pay rise for his good food !? LOL

Enjoy your travels, and see you back soon!

The Lope Lope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue mtns NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Where to start
1. Location- amazing.
2. Staff - amazing.
3. Service - amazing.
4. Chrissy - beautiful, Biswan amazing
5. Tony - so cute.
6. Nellie - beautiful kept our room spotless
7. Slipway Bar - fabulous a real haven for fun.
8. Rooms - huge, private, all the creature comforts.
9. Activities- plenty, or nothing to do but hang in your private beach and count the hermit crabs.
10. Tutsti, the best local tour guide and a man of his word.
11. Restaurant - fresh local produce, excellent.
12. Overall 10 out of 10.

Thanks Colin and Ritana.
Ps- please send our member card.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shazpr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hey you two!

Was great meeting you and spending time (and a few beers) with you guys!

Thanks for simply a GREAT review... man did you have the staff on their feet when we read this review out to them - you got a "double thumbs up" and a standing applause :)

Send us your mailing address and we will get the membership card out to you... you deserve it!

All the best and keep in touch - see you next time.

Cheers

A Happy Lope Lope Team on a stunning sunny day in our beautiful bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
0.7 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
168 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
113 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lope Lope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lope Lope Lodge

Property: Lope Lope Lodge
Address: East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lope Lope Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lope Lope Lodge is Santo's finest new absolute waterfront resort boasting probably one of the best locations on the island. It is a lodge built to 5-star quality standards with the same reflected in our accommodation, service, food, drinks and activities - without the price tag! Situated 15 mins from the international airport and only 11 km out of town on the newly tar sealed East Coast road, we have fast become one the most popular places in Santo to visit, whether staying with us or not. Set on 8.5 Hectares of lush tropical forest, a natural blue hole and an ice cold fresh water creek forms our northern boundary, whilst the warm crystal clear, aquamarine colored Pacific Ocean meets our white sandy beaches with nothing more than a soothing sound that is bound to lull you to sleep in your luxury bungalow...The Slipway Sports Bar & Grill combination of natural & modern design, the Slipway Sports Bar & Grill is well known for its variety of drinks and food, and has fast become the "Place to be in Santo," since our opening in April 2010. Offering free pool tables and darts on our mezzanine level, live big screen TV, free internet and comfortable couches to relax away the day. Our Accommodation design mixture of Modern and Melanesian, our upmarket bungalows are absolute waterfront with most top class amenities and finishes that will make you feel at home, especially when stepping off the deck onto your own white sandy private beach! Our 132 square meter luxury bungalows are one of a kind and designed to meet your highest expectation without losing the true island style feeling you can enjoy while staying with us! All bungalows are built to 5-star quality with a unique feeling of living in your own home - but in paradise & right on a tropical Pacific beach...* Private entrance* Thatch deck, hammock, 4 seat settee* Spacious open plan design* King Size bed (or a twin King Single)* iPod dock* HD TV* A comfortable 3-seat lounge set, Laptop desk, Walk through wardrobe* Bar fridge* Laptop safe* Twin vanities* Luxury Bath* Outside shower in tropical garden. All linen, towels & beach towels are provided. Your room is made up every day & full service every third day!Activities We offer a wide variety of activities with, horse riding trails, Hobie cat sailing, kayaks, game fishing, island hopping, sightseeing, cultural tours, blue holes etc... All at your fingertips! Lope Lope is truly "The Place to be in Vanuatu!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lope Lope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope Lope Adventure Hotel Espiritu Santo
Lope Lope Lodge Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing