We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are coming back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bokissa Private Island Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We are coming back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We went in Feb 2006 and again last April/May so this is well overdue. All the good things everyone else said + more. You end up forgetting what day it is. You are able to eat seperately or join your tables if you want to. Our previous trip we were all made to sit together which we weren't into so it is much better now. The food is great - lobster at 3 meals! Breakfast needs some tarting up. For my next trip I will pack some jams and my marmite. Drinks in the afternoon & evening. You can BYO at your rorm so don't forget your duty free. Take some extra pegs and washing powder etc if you want to wash your smalls. Kayaks are great, take steralising tablets for your snorkeling gear, in date sunscreen and reef shoes. We are planning our 3rd trip and if I could have my dream I would spend every holiday here. Sunday from Sydney you can get direct flights, Thursday goes via Melbourne so avoid that. No TV, no radio, no phones, no noise. BLISS! Jan, Dave, Alan and all their staff are great.

Room Tip: A room not too far from the main area. It gets very dark at night here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    41
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
31
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Spent 8 nights at Bokissa and was sad to leave. The place is sensational, very private with only a few other couples there. Fare was quite nice, nothing too special however had all that was needed. Location fantastic, only a few steps to the beach and then the most amazing snorkelling just off the beach, Food was amazing and very generous. Every meal was super delicious. Staff were lovely and very efficient. Would have been nice to see more Vanuatu culture as in tradditional meals and maybe entertainment/music instead of constant playing and replaying of the Eagles though! Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in paradise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smallbyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The snorkelling was good but not superb, the tracks around the island brought us to delightful spots, the staff were helpful and responsive. It's a quiet relaxing place, and I will probably go there again, even though, after a week, we knew the whole island. No restaurants, so you have to eat there, and the food wasn't brilliant, but there was enough and it was varied.

Make sure you do the "blue lagoon" kayaking trip, and take a book or two: they have a library, but it's a bit patchy.

You will enjoy it!

Room Tip: They were fairly equal,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I had been here approximately 15 years ago and want to take my wife somewhere i remembered to be special but within our budget. She lived on an island in Venezuela then Costa Rica, so now living in Melbourne she gets warm weather sickness. I remembered the beach set up (as explained further on) being fantastic, but was not sure how far the accommodation had come along or gone down. It was nothing special 15 years ago, but it exceeded all my expectations.
When you first get off of the boat you are met at the dock by the owners mother Jan. You are made special from the word go, i felt like i was in a old TV show called fantasy island. Your bags are taken to your room while you are have a lei placed on you and shown/ explained about the place.

To explain the the set up a bit, for all you Australians that know Queensland. imagine walking straight from your room onto (the beach Oprah Winfrey loved)white heaven beach, then putting your snorkel on to snorkel (all be it a lot smaller) the great barrier reef. My wife is not a good swimmer and up until recently did not venture out further than she could stand up especially on her own. Here she put a life jacket on and would start at one end of the island and just drift down with the current over the reefs with snorkel. To add to her fun she would get some old bread from the kitchen put that in an mesh bag that we kept our rock walking shoes in, and she was like the pipe piper to the fish. They would be all around her in the water.

The diver is world class having so many famous WW2 wrecks in the area. The dive teams as excellent as nothing is a problem for them. We even come back from a main island trip one night late and i had a night dive booked. I was the only one going on the dive and as it was late I told them not to bother. They made me go and get my things and they got out the tanks/gear that had all been put away and took me on one of the best dives in my entire life.
The food is just fantastic and as other reviews have stated nothing is a problem. I am a beef/chicken eater my wife seafood. We both walked away each night so, so happy from the table.

Pros: There are so many to list, this truly is a fantastic resort. The food, the diving, the laid back nature of the people running the place/owners, the setting, I could go on.

Con: There is no bad things, just something’s people may not like. Example, the air conditioner shuts down at certain times. I think it was at 7am to7pm it was off, where as I would run it for longer. There is no TV, videos, etc, while this is a good thing at first after a while there were a few nights I would have liked to watch a movie in bed with my wife. Dinner is at a set time which is around 7 (island time) each night. As it is dark, after dinner and you go straight to bed (no TV) I believe I gained about a kilo a night in weight eating late and going straight to bed. But again I am drawing a long bow to find something wrong. This place is truly fantastic and I can’t speak highly enough about it. I would recommend this to anyone/everyone.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kiskos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

myself and my sister spent 5 days at bokissa truly amazing, the island is beautiful, the food was great, the staff were the best, you can snorkel straight off the beach in a underwater garden cannot fault this beautiful place will go back again, cried when i left, make sure you visit the island church service on sunday morning very welcoming

Room Tip: room 13 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have just spent five nights at this wonderful resort and cannot praise it highly enough. The location, atmosphere, the people and the food and drink were all completely fabulous. If you want a perfect, low key escape Bokissa is the place to do it. The owners Dave and Jan make you feel at home right from the word go. I had a minor accident and hurt my back coming over and they were genuinely kind and concerned without being fussy or making me feel awkward.
Don't miss having happy hour drinks with them and their lovely family, it is a highlight of the day.
The snorkelling off the island is astounding and very very safe, the diving is great with friendly and very confident dive masters. And don't miss out on the Malo Island kayaking trip...a very specvial experience.
In the evening there are no organised activities, just wonderful cocktails, fabulous food, a friendly and social atmosphere, and good conversation, but if you prefer to be romantic and dine alone, you can. It is all about what the guest wants.
The rooms are simple but spotlessly clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and always happy. They can't do enough for you.
This is a very special place and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginni2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Actually, I don't know what Bokissa means in literal translation, but for me, it means beauty and peace. I spent 8 days in this tropical location unspoilt by the noise and intrusiveness of modern life. It truly was 'heaven on a stick' for me, healing and soul replenishing.
If you want the generic sterility of high end hotel chains having your every move watched over by fawning staff & tourists in their multitudes - this island is not for you. But if you want to float in aquamarine waters clear as crystal and marvel in the underwater mosaic of corals and fish 20 paces from your door, be lulled off to sleep by the gentle wash of waves, eat fresh unpretentious food served by a gentle, smiling people, wander through the forest, paddle a kayak out to the indigo deep water, join the local children with their soft brown eyes and wide, white smiles singing hymns in the little church on a Sunday, swing in your hammock reading a book or simply sit on the beach pondering the beauty surrounding you - then think about Bokissa. I'll be going back for a re-charge of the batteries as soon as I can. Don't go if noise, modern trappings, disco and theme nights attended by loads of tourist clones in aloha shirts or having servile staff hovering at your elbow every minute is more your thing.

Room Tip: Any of the fares have beach access and even though I was in one right next to the pool, noise was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espiritu Santo
0.0 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bokissa Private Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bokissa Private Island Resort

Property: Bokissa Private Island Resort
Address: PO Box 261 | Bokissa Island, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bokissa Private Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bokissa Private Island Resort is a 30 minute fast boat ride from Luganville which is the main town in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. Bokissa is 16 absolute beachfront bungalows on a beautiful island of 175 acres of pristine beaches and tropical rainforest. Walk out of your bungalow onto the sand and into the water - straight off the beach snorkelling and just 10-20 minutes from world famous wreck and reef diving. Bokissa's tariff includes return airport transfers and all meals during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bokissa Private Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bokissa Eco Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Bokissa Eco Island Santo
Bokissa Private Island Resort Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing