We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights on a private island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3 nights on a private island”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as the first part of a first trip to Vanuatu. I travelled with my wife and 2 adult children. We stayed in 2 separate bures right near the ocean (11 & 13). A great spot to relax and snorkel or use a sea kayak. We took the Malo Island trip and visited a blue hole there which was fun and relaxed.

Room Tip: Odd numbers are nearest the beach (5, 7, 9, 11, 13). 15 is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    42
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
31
135
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just returned from an amazing honeymoon at Bokissa Island Resort. It was everything we wanted in a honeymoon and a great break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
We spent 5 nights there, and would have loved to stay longer but we opted for 5 nights so that we could have direct flights from Brisbane to Santo with Air Vanuatu. This cut down the travelling time considerably and meant we weren't exhausted when we got there and when we got home. I would definitely recommend this over stop overs in Port Vila which all the other guests had to do.
Our room (fare) was very comfortable - not flash, but clean and had everything we needed, and plenty of space. We had number 11 - I would recommend asking for an odd number so that you are in the front row.
The food was amazing, plentiful and delicious, special mention must be made of the Lobster Mornay and the Steak. We enjoyed eating with the other guests - there was 10 at most and 2 at least while we were there. This meant we could share stories of what we'd been doing and we also learnt a lot more about the Island.
The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing ever was any trouble. I can't thank them all enough.
The snorkelling was just fantastic, and the best bit was all you had to do was walk out of your room and 10 meters to the waters edge and off you go. We saw amazing coral, beautiful fish, turtles, a reef shark and a moray eel!
Loved the Malu River day trip, the kayaking up the river was magical.

I would definitely recommend Bokissa to all of my friends and family. Don't go expecting 5 star facilities, go expecting to be comfortable, relaxed and ready to enjoy everything that is available to you there.

Just paradise.

Room Tip: Front row fares are the odd numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJS572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner and I stayed on Bokissa for 8 nights recently and it was everything we'd hoped for. Diving was amazing, as was the snorkeling. You can do as much or as little as you want. I did a combination of both and came home totally relaxed and nicely tanned! Staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Accommodation was spotlessly clean and meals were great. Would definitely return and will recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Vanuatu.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a fare numbered from 5 up, as the lower numbered ones are closer to the bush with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaroche09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I just had a great 5 days here with my wife and we generally enjoyed the experience. Did some excellent dives with the Bokissa dive masters and particularly enjoyed the Henry Bonneaud wreck as both a day and a night dive. The island also offers an enjoyable bush walk around its perimeter and allow 45 minutes minimum to do it. Communal eating with other guests seems to be the norm here but really unless your with some interesting types is not such a great idea. Another thing worth mentioning is that the bar & minibar tab is tallied up by staff without the guest checking it and signing each day after confirming it's accuracy. I know we got stung at least once with a bar bill of 4,600 vt (approx $50 AUD) one night when I had had nothing from the bar & my wife only had 3 wines. The final bill was only given to us at the last second before our departure and with little time to check before leaving for our flight, this mistake was not noticed at the time. I suggest the guests sign for their bar bill each day and get their final account in a timely manner to correct any errors on the bill.
Apart from those minor gripes Bokissa was a great holiday particularly if you are into diving or fishing or just chilling out on a lovely tropical island. The staff were friendly & helpful and the food was of a good standard (although more vegetable content would improve it).

Room Tip: We stayed in 15 which was private & had a spa and despite the considerable extra cost felt it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmill204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travreps, Public Relations Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thanks for your response and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and diving - it really is a special, beautiful place isn't it?
Just to touch on your comments re checking out/your account etc. Bokissa does have a sign up and definately prefer if people who are leaving early check out and settle their account the day before departure - this helps avoid the very problems you have mentioned. The staff have time to go through the account with you and solve any discrepancies. Guests are also very welcome to check their account on a daily basis - we do take on board that this needs to be mentioned to all guests so they are aware they are able to do this. We sincerely apologise for any confusion with your account and your check out process.
We hope to welcome you back to Bokissa in the future.
Regards,
Julie Ingles (Bokissa Public Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wamberal, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wow, what an awesome little find this place was ! A great island paradise with plenty of time to relax, unwind and enjoy the sunshine and crystal clear water. My wife and I went to Bokissa last week for our 26th wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night get away.
The food was superb and plentiful, especially the 2 nights we enjoyed lobster for dinner. We also had a private dinner on the jetty to celebrate our anniversary which was a great treat!
Like others have stated, a day trip to Malo river is a must, kayaking up the river to the blue hole for a swim and then bbq lunch on a secluded beach, doesn't get much better than that. On the way back we snorkelled and were luck enough to see 5 sea turtles, a sting ray and reef shark.
The snorkelling overall at Bokissa was excellent with great coral and colourful fish.
The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A special shout out to Alan, Jonah, Brian and Skippy for their excellent service and looking after us. Also thanks again Skippy for bringing the coconut crab in for us to view :)
The last couple of days we were visited by a couple of Dugongs who made their way in close which was great to see.
Overall a very memorable experience, highly recommended and we met some great people while we were away who we enjoyed having breakfast, lunch and dinner with each day.

Room Tip: We upgraded and stayed in fare number 15 which was at the end of the island and had a spa, deck and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Fures are very comfortable , right on the beach. The snorkelling is amazing. The staff are very friendly and we even played them in a volleyball friendly!! Walk the Island, snorkel for hours, play games, do one of the many tours available or swing in the hammock and read a book, it's your choice. Meals are very well done, food always fresh. We will be back.

Room Tip: All Fures are beach front. Wi-Fi is available in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ge0ff54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed 6 nights last week. This is the place to go to get away from everything, very relaxing. The staff were all friendly and willing to help, nothing was too much trouble. Food was great, we had steak and lobster and really liked dining with other guests. You can snorkel straight off the beach or organise a boat to take you to one of the reefs and snorkel back to shore, there is always one of the staff in the water with you looking after your safety. The diving is tremendous, prices are similar to Australia. We dove the President Coolidge, Million Dollar Point and the North Reef. Thanks to Dive Master Rasu for looking after us so well on all dives, our safety was always paramount. Recommend the Malo river kayak trip, true wilderness experience. If conditions permit snorkel with the Turtles on the way back. Thanks Alan and all the team at Bokissa, We loved our island holiday and will be back again.

Room Tip: We had fare 14, a double but only used one side. Nice and roomy with a great deck and steps to the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
11.1 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
326 reviews
11.0 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
291 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
4.5 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
307 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aore Island Resort
Aore Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Aore Island
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bokissa Private Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bokissa Private Island Resort

Property: Bokissa Private Island Resort
Address: PO Box 261 | Bokissa Island, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#4 Spa Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bokissa Private Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bokissa Private Island Resort is a 30 minute fast boat ride from Luganville which is the main town in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. Bokissa is 16 absolute beachfront bungalows on a beautiful island of 175 acres of pristine beaches and tropical rainforest. Walk out of your bungalow onto the sand and into the water - straight off the beach snorkelling and just 10-20 minutes from world famous wreck and reef diving. Bokissa's tariff includes return airport transfers and all meals during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bokissa Private Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bokissa Eco Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Bokissa Eco Island Santo
Bokissa Private Island Resort Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing