We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed her for 7 days. The staff were lovely and helpful, if a bit shy. The rooms are basic and clean, although in 7 days we didn't get a change of sheets and the supply of towels was strange, some days we got 2 towels, 2 facecloths - no bath mat others bath mat no hand towels. Breakfast was included in our price and it was very poor for what we paid, the dinners were average - on an island like this there should be more local fare on the menu not Asian food - if I had wanted that I would have gone to Asia. The owners - in 7 days we talked to Phil once - and there were only 3 other couples there at the same time, one of the couples had all their cameras and cash stolen out of their bungalow - Phil couldn't have cared less and didn't even let the other guests know. the pool was small, you couldn't relax around it as there was only 2 loungers the beach was small but the snorkling was good. It was completely over sold on the websites we looked at and wouldn't recommend it or go back

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank justhiskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    39
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
50
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have recently returned from 2 weeks in Vanuatu with the first week staying at the Coral Quays resort in Santo. Within 48hrs of our arrival we had all of our cameras stolen, and equipment, also cash clothing & various other items watch etc from our room.
We have insurance but thats not the point. We informed Phill the owner of the establishment & he was to say the least not really concerned about our loss. We spoke to the guides from Paradise tours the next day as they were the ones we were with the day before & had concerns that they may have had something to do with it as they had our cameras with them that day whilst we were on the Millenium Cave trip, I must point out quiet clearly here that I was wrong in my initial concerns about the guys at Paradise tours, they are outstanding & the cave trek is the best & the guys are fantastic, please do the Millenium tour with them. I spoke to Luke, the owner of Paradise Tours telling my initial concerns about the theft of our gear he was understanding & patient with us & I thank him & Daniel very much, I could not apologise enough to them.

As for Phil, the owner, well It was Luke who helped us with the police report, interpreting for us, taking us to the police station & just being soooo cool about it all. Phil just walked off & left us standing in the dark the night it happened, we didnt see him for days & when I did he waffled on about a reward he had offered for the return of our stuff, ( apparently he,s done it before then doesnt pay, which means the locals dont want to help him anymore) which of course means we wont get our stuff back.
When we left Phill didnt even have the common decency to come & see us or let us know what was going on, he apparently was more concerned whether we had paid our account or not, which we had.
I have since emailed him regarding my concerns but he seems to think he can bully me & suggested I wasnt mature enough to deal with the situation & I was expecting him to hold my hand, the guys just a selfish man. I have the email if anybody wants to see it.
I have the locals helping me even though we are now home, they know more than anybody & even though it was a local that stole our gear I have to say overall the people there are so nice we liked Santo. Coral Quays is a nice place till something goes wrong, Phill said the theft was the first, WRONG we found out it happens a lot, so he lied as well as showed his paying guests no respect nor did provide a proper duty of care. Im demanding a refund but we,ll see what happens. BE AWARE!!!!

Room Tip: no tv,s the rooms are o.k. nothing to rave on about. Dont bother with the place there,s better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bradley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We Stayed at Coral Quays for 2 Weeks. What an amazing experience, did not want to leave but felt very realxed after our stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, serviced every day. The staff are just awesome, they can never do enough for you and always with a smile and friendly attitude. Charmaine and Phil are the perfect hosts which is hard to come by these days with a personal touch. Tours were very easy to organise with the Staff suggestions very welcome. Location is great, just a quick $5.00 AU into Luganville and taxis coming past frequently. Kava Bar located within walking distance with Ocean Views and well worth the visit (or two). The Diving offered by Coral Quays on the Reefs and USS Tucker are well worth experiencing with Michael (the Dive Master) especially for Novice Divers before tackling the Coolidge and other wreck dives. The Fishing with Michael & Jack is a great day out and they certainly make an effort for it to be an enjoyable experience, especially when you get the BIG one. All and All an amazing Holiday where you can just kick back and laze on the beach or by the pool with the most amazing gardens or get out and do all the diving, fishing, kayaking, snorkelling and tours that you want. Joe the Chef is certainly very funny and excellent at what he does...Cook.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We really enjoyed our time at the Coral Quays. The reality is for some of the other reviewers is that you have to factor in a couple of things.
1. You are in a remote Island setting that does not have a huge amount of tourist infrastructure - this is what we loved - though I could see some people not 'getting it'.
2. Things run on Island time and really if you want a five star resort, this is not for you.
If you want a comfortable place to stay, out of town (VERY quiet!) and with lovely hosts and incredible staff, this is definitely worth a look. Yes you cross the road to the jetty - not a hassle for us as lets be honest - it wasn't down town Bangkok - the traffic is almost non existent and most will flick their lights and slow down to say Hello! Getting into town was a breeze, flag down a little cab and for a couple of AUD you were there in minutes - a bus is even cheaper. A cab/short walk the other way and you find a local little Kava bar - a must see place - try the grilled Flying Fox if you are game!
The bungalows are set amongst immaculate gardens and we ate there most of the nights and had excellent food each meal. The organic Santo Beef is delicious.
The included breakfast was basic but you could order hot food if you liked - which again was good.
We found that Charmaine and Phil and their kids were great hosts and enjoyed such day trips as spending a morning on 'our own' tropical Island, War History tours and round island tours including Champagne Beach and the Blue hole.
We can't wait until we are back in Santo - the people are so beautiful as is the location itself.
If you are looking for a 'resort' though - head to dirty Port Villa and surround yourself with the other 3000 Aussie tourists, if you want a relaxing, comfortable and friendly place - definitely this is one to check out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HAPPYAUSSIE_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel is old and needs a facelift. The bungalows are basic and clean, but nothing to write home about. We were hoping to relax on the property, but this is not possible. There are no lounge chairs. The food is average, but had too much of an Asian slant on the cooking which got tiring. The bed was uncomfortable with terrible pillows and economy bedding. In addition, the manager(s) hardly acknowledged us or spoke to us, very strange. The staff, however, are great and very friendly as well as knowledgeable.The property is situated off the main road, and to get to the "beach" you have to cross the road It's a coral beach and not the place to swim. The bus passes frequently to go into town and it's also easy to hail a taxi. If you are looking for basic accommodations and figure you are off the property most of the day, then this will suit you. But if you want to relax on site, enjoy the beautiful Santo waters on site, and be centrally located, I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank monterrey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Sadly, our week long holiday was cut short by a cycling accident involving my wife. But we have nothing but praise for Coral Quays resort. Charmaine was very happy to ferry us to the hospital and wait around for most of the morning until we got a result and advice from the doctor. The doc said we should get back to Brisbane asap to get a full diagnosis on a broken elbow. Phil and Charmaine spoke to the manager of the airport to help secure us tickets on the next flight which was the same evening. And they even took us to the airport. This is the sort of friendly and personal assistance you would only find in a small family run place. The one dinner we had there was excellent indeed and lunch and breakfast were ok too. I missed out on my fishing trips and my wife missed her scuba dives... so we will definitely be back to stay here again; probably mid next year. Don't be put off by comments that the place is a little way out of town. It's not too far away and the taxi/bus fares are cheap as chips. The only advice I'd pass to Charmaine and Phil is to probably invest in some new bicycles! They were a bit worse for wear (their condition was in no way to blame for Sonya's accident though). This resort is very much recommended if you're considering a holiday in Vanuatu.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandSonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Coral Quays is just a short bus or taxi to town which is perfect as it's quiet. The bungalows were a nice surprise, they were very roomy inside and very clean. Tucked away in tropical gardens you could be very private or spend your time on the beautiful deck overlooking the water and enjoy the company of owners Charmaine and Phill and the other guests. We had absolutely lovely meals at Coral Quays and the staff were so friendly. My husband went fishing with Phill and his catch was on the menu the next day, so that was a treat. The resort has a really nice feel, it's intimate and friendly and everything you need can be found there or can be organised by the staff. I'm glad we didn't stay right in town as the resorts were not as nice as this one. We will definately be coming back and this time we are bringing the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
8.3 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aore Island Resort
Aore Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Aore Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#4 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort

Property: Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort
Address: Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Hotel Espiritu Santo
Coral Quays Fish And Dive Resort
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing