We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I just spent 7 days a the resort, and let me tell you it was great. The staff were realy good, nothing was a problem. The dive opetator did everything they could to help me out, I was diving with another operator not a problem they arranged transport for me and I then did a couple of dives with them as well. They are out of town about 10 mon's but thats note an issue. Food was great and he rooms were very good. Go there I have stayed in other resorts in Santo and this is as good if not better and there is no crowding.
Leigh

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

We are not really sure what this reviewer below is on about. But our stay was rather pleasant. We happily moved out off our Hotel Santo after one night stay and we were confronted with very friendly and knowledgeable Coral Quays local staff. So we decided to stay for 3 nights.

The dive instructor (Michael) straight away informed us what is on offer. Because we don't like boat dive so much, they were happy to put us onto another dive shop that does shore dives. Even as non divers, the resort has nice snorkeling at the front accross the street (which is not busy). There is even a little sandy beach especially on low tide with their own jetty.

We were there at the quiet time, but this did not stop them to provide us with a well presented continental breakfast which had all the condiments you could wish for (except filtered coffee). And if you whish, you can order cooked breakfast as well.

The 2 evening meals we had there were good with no complaints. The local staff must must be so well trained, they certainly look after you . They ask you if you would like another drink or dessert and they even clear your table promptly after you finish it without being overbearing.

You can clearly feel that the onsite managers & owners understand hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Unhappy. If you are looking for the true Vanuatu experience, then this is not the place to stay. This resort is owned and managed by offshore investors, not locals. Management are not professional and are unfriendly, which made for an unpleasant experience.

Prices charged for food and accommodation, is overpriced.. equivalent to what is charged in Australia.

Diving operation here is very basic. If you are looking to dive sites such as the Coolidge, this diving operator does not have permission to dive such sites. They only offer basic snorkelling and diving. People don't visit Santo to laze, more than likely they are diving the President Coolidge or the Henry Benneaud. You also have to pay double the price as you are theorically paying for two diving operators to take you out for a dive. Why spend the extra money and give it to offshore investors, why not just give it to the local people of Vanuatu where it is needed most.

Room Tip: look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Coral Quays is a short bus ride out of Luganville, and is right on the water with own private jetty. Have to say I LOVED it here. Very relaxed, clean simple rooms set in beautiful lush tropical gardens. A feature is the shade offered by huge jungle trees all around, which also attract lots of birds. The staff on reception are lovely, friendly, helpful, as is the owner Phil - a typically relaxed and low key expat Aussie. The food in the restaurant was fabulous too, a big thumbs up for the green curry chicken...mmm, delicious! No need to eat anywhere else for me (except maybe coffee and lunch at Victoria Cafe in town). Now, of course, the diving. Coral Keys was the perfect place for a rusty scuba diver like me to get back into it. The first dive was shallow and easy-Million Dollar Point which is amazing, see other reviews of the dive for info on this, followed by a number of great reef dives. Michael, the dive instructor was a wealth of local info about the diving, the environs, the culture, and has some great tales to tell about growing up on the nearby islands. Vuti, well what I can I say? A very patient, skilled and knowledgable dive guide, and very handsome as well. Some good viewing up on deck as well as below.!Thanks so much for showing me your wonderful reef home guys! Sonya

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My new wife and I honeymooned in Santo and we all we want to do now, is go back to Vanuatu!
Want to thank Phill, Charmaine and the rest of the crew at CQ's! - we were made so welcome over the new years period.
The diving was amazing and we quickly became friends with Vuti, our dive guide! Very friendly and professional.
Anyone who is wanting to visit Santo, should look at Coral Quays for accommodation. The island is not built up for commercial tourism, its lovely that it isn't to be honest!
Luganville contains local type markets, essential grocery needs, drug stores and local Kava bars!
So those who are looking for a large tourist resort type accommodation, potentially not the place for you.
Rooms are clean and well presented, possibly minor details such as dated bedding, curtains etc but over all, rooms that are clean, ceiling fan and air con was a welcome..! Our fridge did not get very cold and would have been good if our fridge produced ice.
Overall we loved our stay and would recommend Coral Quays!

Room Tip: Ask for aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

If you visit Vanuatu - Island hopping is the thing you should do. Anyways it goof to make pre arrangements when going to smaller Islands (confirm, bookings, flights etc). Santo is good place as a base camp in Vanuatu and Coral Quays is perfect base camp in Santo. The Staff are very helpful and they are keen for help you what ever you want to do. The owner is not pushing you to use their services - they are more than helpful to tell you about other options, places and possibilities in Santo. Dive shop, -gear and -instructor seems to be 1st class and super pro comparing for those that we used (because they were cheaper). If you want to take the diving course - this is the right place. Bungalows are clean, basic and ok value for couples and families. Food is not - the menu is too complicated that the cook just can't handle it. They should go back to basics because then it would work very well and going to city for a dinner wouldn't be the 1st option. There are nice places to stay in Santo but staying in Luganville and near services is a very good thing to do after you have arrived to Santo and before leaving the islands. Coral Quays is the best place in Luganville. And it's easy - you don't have to worried about the thing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranTourizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our second trip to Vanuatu and we decided to include Santo in our itinerary. On our last visit we stayed at a 5 star resort and a 3 star. We found the 5 star flash enough but quite impersonal and lacking in other ways so this time we decided to just stay with middle of the road. Coral Quays ticked all the boxes in terms of our requirements. The room was very comfortable, so was the bed and we had plenty of hot water! The staff were very friendly and attentive but not in your face and nothing was too much trouble. The food was great and we never had a bad dining experience (I highly recommend the the Fillet Mignon!) Phil and Charmaine were awesome hosts and good fun too.
The diving experience was great too and Michael the Divemaster was a mine of information. We dived on 2 really amazing reefs and as I'm not the most confident of divers I can say that I always felt safe and in good hands. All in all it was a very comfortable place to base ourselves for the many activities that are available on Santo.
What you have to realise here is that things work on Vanuatu time. There isn't the big city down the road to cater for your every need. It's just a lovely step back in time. A chance to escape the rat race and contemplate the importance of just being. We met a range of very cool people at CQR and we had an awesome time. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
2.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
126 reviews
8.3 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
0.0 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#10 of 10 in Luganville
12 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#4 of 10 in Luganville
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort

Address: Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range: £78 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Quays Fish And Dive Resort
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Hotel Espiritu Santo
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing