We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I found my stay here to be really nice, Phill went out of his way for me to ensure my stay and diving were top rate. I will be coming back and recommending my friends to stay here as well. This resort is a fully featured dive resort that caters for all level of divers and is expanding it capabilities to support technical divers as well. I have tried other dive operators in Santo and I was not as impressed as I was here. Safety is always a key concern especially when diving the Coolidge.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    39
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
50
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

A group of 8 guys on a fishing trip from Australia decided to get a day's diving in on Santo before the fishing leg. We were recommended to check out Michael's dive op at Coral Quays. All intro-level divers, Michael, Ian and Vuti were great - they came up with a day's diving that included a dive from the jetty across the road then another dive at Million Dollar Point - all gear supplied, great dive instructors and personal attention was outstanding. We'd recommend Michael and his team to anyone (even the experienced divers, doing two dives to 60m each day on the Coolidge were impressed). Accommodation was lovely. We requested, and got, all rooms with air-con. Food was good, local kava bar has a view to die for and Charmaine was a great host. As with all resorts, the cost of food and drink can be a little more, but after a day's diving it was easy to get back, have a swim and relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charm66, Manager at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Hi Arron
thank you for your great comments . Great to meet you all and everyone had a great stay at Coral Quays Resort and diving experience, maybe a few future divers Hope to see you all again for diving fishing and having fun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Coral Quays for 9 days in January 2014. We had the best time. All the staff , and the owners, at the resort were very friendly and made us feel at home! The dive company was great and very safe which is a must when diving overseas. The food was delicious and very diversified. Nonetheless, the cocktails were very yummy ;)! We have nothing negative to mention about our experience. We just loved every second of it. To Charmaine, Phil, Therese, Dorris, Mike and everybody else at Coral Quays, thank you so much for the best relaxing getaway! Nathan & Edith :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charm66, Owner at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you Edith for your great comments and for stay with us, we really enjoyed meeting you both.
we have just fininished refurbishing the swimming pool, looks great especailly with one of our Pinacolda in hand relaxing under the shade of the rain trees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed as a family of four. There is much we could say and most of it, sadly negative. Some good points are the very friendly and helpful staff and great snorkeling across the road.

Bad points need a little more time. We found the accomodation very average. Only one of our rooms had a/c and ceiling fans were either full on or off. Agree food portions below average, stale weekbix, very limited buffet breaky choice and you had to be quick if you wanted fruit with one small platter to service all guests. I would say the prices are the same as upmarket Aussie resort prices and this was definately not upmarket. Everything was overpriced, much more that the other resorts in town. This did encourage us to shop around and as a result we had some great meals at other establishments around town for much less cost.

Definately much cheaper to hire a taxi to explore the island. Coray Quays charged approx $100 p/h to do a trip to Champagne Beach. We hired a car with driver for $60 and the four of us spent a great day exploring the island and its offerings at our leisure. Add in lunch, beers and entry fees to blue hole and we saved ourselves heaps with the added pleasure of meeting Obud, a very friendly and informative local taxi driver.

Our New Years Eve was spent in our bungalows listening to the band - this was because we had eaten a late lunch and didn't want to pay the 6500 vatu per head (approx $70) - A$280 to eat and listen to a local band?. We were advised if we wanted to stay in the communal area (excuse me, but hadn't we already paid to stay there) we would only be charged 2000 vatu per head (approx A$100) for the privilage of listening to the band. What a joke !

Almost came to blows at check out - added to our bill were some extra charges we didn't expect. $50 for the privelage of me sitting on a spare seat on the boat out to the reef. I had done the same with two other dive companies on the island and neither charged a cent and they went out of their way to make sure I had lunch catered for. One even sent a dive instructor snorkeling with me (unasked for) so I would have company. Definately can recommend Alan Power and Dive Santo for excellent service and much better prices for similar diving. They also charged my husband for diving gear hire and he had used his own. Phil got quite agressive and we decided it was best to pay and get the hell away. We left Coral Quays feeling ripped off and would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charm66, Owner at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Lets get some facts straight Our New Year Eve party was Vt 4500 per head including BBQ, live reggae band and fire waorks at 12 midnight . Purchasing your own fireworks and wanting to set them off on our beach in front of our boats was not ideal.
Coral Quays does not have a tour company we work with Paradise Tours which is a owned and operated by a local ni-vanuatu family, the tour to champagne beach, lonnoc beach & blue hole along with million dollare point is Vt 4500 per preson for 4 (not $100 p/h ), this also includes all custom fees.
The dive equipment hire by your husband was a BCD & Regulator, bit hard to go diving without this gear. With regards to the Vt 5000 for the snorkling, the cost was made fully aware to you at the time of booking the diving charter
The charge added to your invoice is the 5% merchant fee that the bank charges, which we have full information at reception and in the info file in the bungalows. As far as the owner being agressive, being threatned to write a derogative blog on social media as a way to not paying the full invoice amount is not acceptable
1 x bungalow fan cooled and 1 x air con was the booking requested and confirmed
If the was any issues with the meals served while at Coral Quays why was nothing mentioned at the time of your stay
I feel this is an unfair review Helen G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Lovely location under a series of rainforest trees and well kept gardens. Location pleasant and convenient enough but a way out of town. Bungalows passable but not that great, our flyscreen door didn't shut quite flush and the fan had 2 speeds, off and flat out. Pool colour varied from aqua to off-green. Food portions below average, slow serice and truly Australian prices, tried the swordfish one night and chewed by way through the overcooked piece. So much great local produce but not really taken advantage of. Drink prices ok. The fishing tour prices were wild, you can do better in town. The local tour companies all rip you off blind so get a hire car or a taxi/van if you can to see the island. 5% credit card fee a bit steep to end it all off. Passable but I'll check out somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philbert83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charm66, Manager at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
This was a group of 12 persons travelling as a dive group along with non divers, our bungalows for a group booking include triple share single beds which are a different price point to our air conditioned bungalows. Noted the fan and screen door. The pool was closed at 9pm for cleaning process and the group swam in the pool once resort was closed on that night hence cleaning process did not work so the next day the pool did turn green until we could do the process again the follwoing night. For the meal prices are same as most cost at resorts in Vanuatu, are menu includes the local organic produce available in Santo. The tour operator are local run companies cost of overheads are be high on the islands, Our fishing charters are fully run with new and well maintained proffesional equipment, Shimano gear and we have a half day or fully day charters, and 2 different size vessels to catering for different groups sizes, thank ypu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

One of the four places we stayed at on Santo. Bungalows are small and below-average standard, food was average too. They organize diving trips but charge significantly more than diving companies in town (at least the one that we ended up using). All in all, would not recommend for the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charm66, Manager at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Our diving is more expensive to go to exclusive reefs or for boat dives and our shiore dives to Coolidge and million dollare point are the same cost as the other operators in town, The bungalows are standard size for a double / twin share . Our resturant has a good reputation for food and service not sure what happened here thank you for your commenta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a very comfortable place to stay in individual cottages with no TV but everything else you might want. Diving is very well catered for as is fishing. General tourism will get you out and about. People are friendly and interesting. Vanuatu is a rapidly developing country. Santos has so far escaped the concrete 'resorts' which mar places nearer to the international airport. Half an hour in a smallish plane will get you to Santos. The food is great and often the latest catch from a fishing trip. We loved it and will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwideva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charm66, Manager at Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with Coral Quays Resort, fresh fish ,ocean to plate the best if your catch of the day , hope to see you back again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Espiritu Santo hotels
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#8 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
8.3 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aore Island Resort
Aore Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Aore Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#4 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort

Property: Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort
Address: Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Hotel Espiritu Santo
Coral Quays Fish And Dive Resort
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing