We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the best, the host is very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Oasis Bungalow
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location is the best, the host is very nice”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have stayed at the bungalow for 2 nights. The location is great, it's close to the volcano by walking 5 minutes.

The meal here is very good. The size the more than you paid.

The Jungle Tour is amazing, everyone here should join.

However, everything here in Tanna Island is very basic, don't expect too much in the accommodation.

Room Tip: The location is great, all things in Tanna is basic, the host is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming Ho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    20
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
9
17
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights, but a few more would have been better to see all the attractions. Its strengths are the proximity to the volcano (you can see the glow at night and hear the booms), which you can walk up yourself, surrounding remotish villages and your not far from the harbour. Jungle Bungalows offers basic accommodation. It is not a resort. However we were comfortable, felt safe and enjoyed what was on offer. Shower is cold, toilet clean, bungalows had a mosquito net and bed. We didnt expect to much else so was happy enough. Breakfast included, but not lunch and dinner. ALL Prices should be confirmed prior. We paid $35 for a night not inc additional food. We also paid 5000V for the pre-arranged lift to the place and out of the place. Seemed to high to me, but didnt explore other options. Kelson's tree house has a view of the mountain and is also 5000/night. There are other accommodation options nearby as well. Some owned by Kelson's family.

Room Tip: We liked the blue coloured bungalows and tree house (no toilet or bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at Jungle Oasis for 2 nights and it was exactly what i expected, a friendly home base by the amazing rumbling volcano from where to explore the island.
Consider how remote this accomodation is and that you are in the middle of the jungle, dont compare it with the western standards, the bungalows are "extremely" basic and not completely closed but clean and with mosquito net (there s even a tree house option). The toilet could be cleaner, the shower works and food is eatable and enough.You probably have all u need to enjoy your stay in the middle of nowhere.
I didnt talk that much with Kelson (the owner) but i had been always with Phillip (the guide) and he really made my experience unforgettable.
Go to the pristine beach in Port Resolution (9KM walking, 2.5 hs), do the cultural tour, visit the villages around and ask Phillip for any other option and things to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anderos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The accommodation is pretty basic but the key thing about this place is that it is right at the base of the volcano, which means greater freedom! We went up the volcano after the big tour groups from the main resorts on the other side of the island had left and it was amazing. Just us an our guide. The staff were really friendly and arranged for us to go ash boarding (snowboarding down the side if the volcano) the next morning. The rooms are clean and comfortable but basic and there is a shared toilet and shower. Don't be expecting luxury. Food was also good and hearty.

We went to sleep listening to the volcano erupting throughout the night Great for the experience.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jezzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Definitely the best location for a trip to the volcano. The huts are basic, with shared toilet and a very hit and miss cold shower, but that becomes insignificant when you can hear the volcano erupting and feel the vibrations throughout the village.
We arranged a 4am trip up to the volcano, we were on the rim of the volcano by 4.15am, the volcano gave us a personal firework display at sunrise, just 2 of us and the driver.
I wished we had arranged a packed breakfast from the guesthouse so that we could have sat and watched the volcano over breakfast.
Watching the volcano was such an amazing experience that we decided to go again in the evening. It was cold at the rim and the rest of the tourists on our truck wanted to leave before sunset. As Jungle Oasis is so close to the volcano we stayed behind and walked down after dark. It's an easy route down, and took less than 45 minutes.
Recommendation: check what type of vehicle you will be travelling in. You may end up in the back of a pick up truck with the locals, which we found really interesting, but it makes for a very bumpy and dusty ride! There are tours which offer fully enclosed Landcruisers, but they are more expensive. Expect to pay around 10000vt per person for the trip across the island and up the volcano in the back of a pick up truck.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayakingAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The lodge is located at the entrance of the volcano. The whole night we could hear and feel the rumbling of the volcano eruptions which was great experience.

We were late for the sunrise visit and therefore went for early morning 4am visit and was a unforgettable experience of the volcano lava bursting out.

The lodge has all the basic facilities and the Kelson is very friendly and helpful.

The toilet is a common for all the people.

Will recommend everyone who would like to spend a night at the foot of volcano.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devdutt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Jungle Oasis Bungalows will stay an unforgettable human experience thanks to Kelson, Philippe and Patrick, who permitted us to live our first active volcano discover with pleasure. The perfect place of bungalows, just close to entry for Mont Yasur is one the best advantage. Meals are delicious and our bungalow located in a tree was very warmly and original for correct prices. Philippe is also a professional guide and Patrick a very good driver. Kelson, him, is a generous man. Come to discover them and enjoy your first unforgettable volcanic experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peype A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanna Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours
0.0 mi away
Tanna Yasur View Bungalows
Tanna Yasur View Bungalows
#1 of 6 in Tanna Island
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanna Adventures - Accommodation
Tanna Adventures - Accommodation
#1 of 28 in Tanna Island
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Volcanic Village Vista
Volcanic Village Vista
#8 of 28 in Tanna Island
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Grass Ocean Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tanna Lodge
Tanna Lodge
#3 of 4 in Tanna Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Oasis Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Oasis Bungalow

Property: Jungle Oasis Bungalow
Address: P.O. Box 858, Tanna Island, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Tanna Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tanna Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jungle Oasis Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing