We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAX IN FRANCISTOWN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cresta Thapama Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Francistown
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“RELAX IN FRANCISTOWN”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Once a month I visit our depot in Francistown. However this involves a very early start from Gaborone. After lunch I book a dayroom at the Thapama. The rooms are well appointed and surround a lovely garden and swimming pool. What I enjoy is the meal service round the pool which includes a fully equipped bar and pool table, and the pool itself. The hotel has a well equipped gymnasium and two squash courts. They also serve a buffet lunch above the recently upgraded casino. I leave to catch my flight back to Gaborone fully refreshed at 6pm.

Room Tip: ground floor but towards the front away from the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Thapama Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at Cresta Thapama Hotel and that you were able to take advantage of the lovely setting the pool, bar, and the surrounding gardens provide. Thank you for your recommendations; positive feedback from customers like yourself is encouraging and inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. Dass Bangar
GM, Cresta Thapama Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
3
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Thapama hotel offers good services and has reasonable prices. The hotel is situated right in the city centre. It has a big parking space with 24 hours security. The restaurant offers a wide range of cuisine. It also has a swimming pool and a casino. The rooms are comfortable and quiet at night.
I would certainly recommend it to any new traveller who is looking for a place to stay while in Francistown.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruzemvya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Thapama Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at Cresta Thapama Hotel and that you were able to take advantage of all the amenities and services that we offer at Cresta Thapama. We are particularly delighted that you found the cuisine varied and to your liking. Thank you for your recommendations; positive feedback from customers like yourself is encouraging and inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Thapama Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marondera, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay from 28April to 30 April 2012 with the family at this hotel and our dinner on 29 April was superb. The person who impressed me most was Orapetswe, every time I vist the hotel he is always handy and really helpful

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ila777Marondera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Thapama Hotel.

We are so pleased that you had such a nice stay at Cresta Thapama Hotel during your family’s visit in April. We are also pleased that your meal was “superb” and that Orapetswe was helpful. Positive feedback from customers like yourself is encouraging and inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Thapama Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

In transit to Bulawayo I stayed overnight t this hotel. It's right in the city centre. All malls are within walking distance. The parking is secure and ample. The reception area is modern and clean. The reception staff was professional.

The rooms are modern and roomy. Our room was air conditioned, a must in Botswana, had a mini bar. The carpets were clean and the decor tasteful. Our room was overlooking the pool area and was a bit noisy.

We did not get the opportunity to eat at their resturant as we left early
I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank impudzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Thapama Hotel.

We are so pleased that you had a satisfactory stay at Cresta Thapama Hotel during your recent visit to Francistown and enjoyed the central location and amenities of our hotel. We also appreciate your comments on the reception service. Helpful feedback from customers like yourself is encouraging and inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Thapama Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a night after i did a lecture for a drug company. Quite disappointed that after a long night, went to room to discover that the air conditioning unit was broken. Called recep and maintainance guy came to see it. Compressor problem apparently. Returned back to recep only to find out that there was NOT a single room available for them to transfer me! If feel sorry for the drug company that had to pay A LOT to have a conference there then their guests mistreated or disappointed. Recep people tried to help but nothing done.
Rooms are not sound proof - thus car passing maybe heard early morning, even the water sprinklers!
Get better accommodation somewhere else, especially during summer!

Room Tip: Make sure BASIC stuff are working prior to checking inn - air con, toilet flush etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabsGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Thapama.

We regret that you had such an unsatisfactory stay during the recent conference you attended at Cresta Thapama. We sincerely apologize for your discomfort in a room without air-conditioning. We will certainly look into all the areas you highlighted in your post. We do appreciate your comments and with your helpful feedback, we can work on problem areas and affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Thapama Hotel.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Thapama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Francistown hotels

Luanda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have stayed in this hotel back in 1996 and my experience was great back then and I have recently stayed there again in April 2012 and the all experience was just as great as I had experienced before.
The staff were very warm and welcoming from the security at the gate, the luggage porter to the reception staff, all were outstanding! I initially though of staying only one night as I was riding across southern Africa, but because the next day happened to be my birth date I decided to stay one more day, the staff were very helpful in extending my stay.
The hotel is nicely located, very convenient both for relaxing, a stop-over on your way to most of the national parks in Botswana. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and spot on clean!
The price is reasonable for the standard of accommodation and very quiet, which I did appreciate.
The cons on this hotel is that one have to go to the reception to be able to pick up the wireless internet connection, which was not available in the rooms (at least in the one I stayed).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling through Francis town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Cresta Thapama is well situated in the centre of Francistown. The staff are helpfull and the rooms are comfortable.The beer is cold and the food in the restuarant is adequate but no first prizes I am afraid. The swimming pool is lovely but why close it at six in the evening? If you are overnighting in Francistown you wont find better.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francistown
2.2 mi away
Cresta Marang And Residency
Cresta Marang And Residency
#1 of 5 in Francistown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diggers Inn
Diggers Inn
#2 of 5 in Francistown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adansonia Hotel
Adansonia Hotel
#3 of 5 in Francistown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cresta Mahalapye
Cresta Mahalapye
#1 of 1 in Mahalapye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Francistown
Peermont Metcourt Francistown
#3 of 17 in Francistown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
7.0 mi away
Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
#1 of 20 in Francistown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Thapama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Thapama Hotel

Property: Cresta Thapama Hotel
Address: A1 Highway, Francistown 00000, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-East District > Francistown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Francistown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Thapama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cresta Thapama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing