We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour operator”

Gondwana Tours & Safaris
Ranked #2 of 44 Outdoor Activities in Maun
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We specialize in comprehensive African safaris in Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Zambia, South Africa, Mozambique and Tanzania. For the more active traveller who does not want to discover Africa just from the back of a Jeep we also offer guided kayak, horse riding, walking and fishing, as well as specialist photographic safaris lead by highly experienced photographic guides.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Mark Hathaway of Gondwana tours was recommended by a friend who said he had put together an excellent safari for her. He did the same for us. We were a party of 11 (family and friends) looking for a safari adventure in June 2018. We were a little late in the game, giving him only 2-3 months to organize it for our large party, but he pulled it off. He was quick with responses to our MANY questions via email, and offered several different options in order to find what would work for us. We decided on a 3 night stay at a bush camp in the O Delta which was absolutely fabulous, followed by a 2 night stay in Chobe Natl Park, and then 2 nights in Victoria Falls. All of it was truly amazing, but I do have to say that staying at Rra Dinare bush camp in the O Delta was the highlight of our trip. We could have ended after that first 3 nights and been satisfied. It was that good.
Thanks Mark for helping us plan a trip of a lifetime. I will be calling you in the near future to plan our next adventure..... Tanzania/Kenya

1  Thank kovachmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gondwana_2704, Owner at Gondwana Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Mike and Co :-)

Thanks a mill for the review and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us. We love to hear from you again and have you discover other amazing parts of Africa.

Gondwana Tours & Safaris team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"every step"
in 2 reviews
"maun airport"
in 2 reviews
"southern africa"
in 2 reviews
"victoria falls"
in 5 reviews
"okavango delta"
in 4 reviews
"mark"
in 13 reviews
"hitch"
in 2 reviews
"tanzania"
in 4 reviews
"agent"
in 3 reviews
"communication"
in 2 reviews
"photos"
in 2 reviews
"itinerary"
in 3 reviews
"flight"
in 2 reviews
"safari"
in 5 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

We just returned home after a great adventure. we had a terrific time.
We are a group of 10 friends, hired 5 4x4 fully equipped safari jeeps
Gondwana planning and support all the way were fantastic.
we are very happy to have done business with you, and hope to return again.

Thank zvikah_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gondwana_2704, Owner at Gondwana Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Hi guys, thanks so much for your great feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the trip and made it home safe and sound. We hope to welcome you in Africa again soon.

Gondwana Tours & Safaris team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Mark Hathaway at Gondwana helped us decide and organise 6 days of the most amazing safari in Botswana. Because of the expense of Botswana we obviously wanted to make the best decisions, and Mark helped us at every step with this, even though we were slotting these 6 days into 6 more days of independent travel. This could have made for complications but Mark organised flights and pickups from and back to Victoria Falls. He answered all my questions promptly and when I did have a concern during the trip, he was there to ensure all was well. As the other reviews have stated, this is a company to be trusted with your very special holiday

1  Thank schwier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gondwana_2704, Owner at Gondwana Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thanks so much for the kind words and great review. We much appreciate your feedback and are happy that you had a memorable safari. We love to see you again.

The Gondwana Tours & Safaris team on behalf of Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I made several inquiries via safari.com website. And different tour operators responded ( sooner a latter) , but it was something absolutely different how Steffi responded. She started to talk so that I felt very very welcomed. We continued planning of our trip over long period of time, so that all my questions were answered . All the faraway lands are strange and most of the things there not so obvious as people living there may think. So it is such a big thing that the person you are talking to is patient with you and never minds to answer every single and even stupid or repeated questions. In my mind extra step is to answer the questions in the style „if You were me…..what would you do?“ And Steffi did all that, she was patient, explained and answered all the questions, gave advice and all in a very short time, if not immediately.

Our trip to Botswana was marvelous and we owe million thanks to Steffi and Gondwana Tours and Safaris

And of course, it goes without saying, I recommend them to help you for Your unforgettable safari in Africa!

Thank SveaTalinnast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gondwana_2704, Owner at Gondwana Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Svea

Many thanks for your lovely review and I really appreciate your kind words. It is great that after all the planning we did, the trip was exactly as you wanted and much more! We hope to welcome you again in the near future. All the best!

Steffi Presske-Gondwana Tours & Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

I contacted multiple agents to put together our family’s first ever trip to Africa and Mark of Gondwana Tours took the time to ask us questions and really understand our needs before putting together an amazing itinerary for us, really just head & shoulders above what other agents had given us.

Throughout the process he was beyond patient with my many questions. The trip itself was more than we had ever hoped for - I would say it was the trip of a lifetime, but we are already planning to return in 2019 and will be using Gondwana Tours & Safari again.

One note: I had to select families with teenagers as our demographic for this review because there was no option for families with college students. :-)

Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gondwana_2704, Owner at Gondwana Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Lisa

Thank you very much for your review and I really appreciate this. I am so glad you had such a special trip and love to hear from you again in the near future.

Regards,

Mark Hathaway-Gondwana Tours & Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gondwana Tours & Safaris also viewed

 
Maun, Ngamiland East
Maun, Ngamiland East
 

Been to Gondwana Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing