We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find if you overlook some less savoury bits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Okavango River Lodge
Ranked #16 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Maun
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“great find if you overlook some less savoury bits”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Sandwiched between the river and the road this campsite regularly sees cows trying to sneak their way through to the water. The trees attract a range of birds, but especially the hornbills and the painted tree frogs sound like a thousand wind chimes tinkling of an evening.

There are no markings for the pitches, grab the best space you can.

The brick built ablution blocks are old and decrepit. The showers and toilets are cleaned regularly but the walls seem to get missed and there are plenty of mozzies and other creatures in the main blocks. Best bet is to find the canvas ablution blocks to the left of the main ones, where the bugs don't congregate and the gas heating for the showers works better.

Signage is poor with only a couple of not easily found signs pointing to reception in the bar.

The water is river water, a little brown and a sediment does form (as another reviewer pointed out). However if you get tap water from the bar fridge that is also discoloured but is drinkable.

Electricity is included for all camping pitches. WiFi is available at the bar but extremely slow - don't depend on it.

The couple who run the camp are aware of the problems with some of the buildings but they rent the property in order to run the business and have no control over the repairs to the buildings.

The couple themselves are very friendly but the bar staff rarely smile although service is reasonable. Meals are well presented and good value.

The camping price is relatively inexpensive and good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingOverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okavango River ... M, Manager at Okavango River Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review. As previously mentioned new signage is underway. Campsite is being fully serviced next week. Power is not actually included and does cost extra. Wifi has been upgraded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    46
    30
    11
    18
See reviews for
21
45
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We arrived late Saturday afternoon and paid for a campsite for two nights,
For starters the signage was poor, faded out and we found it difficult to find "reception in the Bar".
After picking a campsite, not properly demarcated, the only watering point ( tap) we could find was in a filthy and disgusting clothing tub at the ablutions. The water offered was brown and quickly left a sediment in the container, clearly not suited for human consumption. (Apparently they use water directly pumped from the river). When complaining about this we were told to buy bottled water from the bar !)
The ablutions were disgusting, old and ran down with no hot water and at least 5 years past
due date for renovation.We stayed for one night, knowing that even on safari, we are used to better facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpjsteyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okavango River ... M, General Manager at Okavango River Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We have one large campsite and campers can select where they want to camp. We do not have demarcated camp sites. Our water comes from a bore hole and is clear.... I cannot explain why on this day it was dirty. New signage and more water points are in the process of being installed.
Hot water is run by gas geysers. Ablution blocks maybe old but are cleaned daily. Client was fully refunded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maun hotels

Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Sited right on the river, this is a great place if you only care about location.
The campsite has everything you need - electricity, water, wifi, ablutions. Also a bar/restaurant and pool. We've seen the accomodations and were glad we were on the campsite as the tents were old, saggy and filthy. Same for ablutions.
Management lady only interested in beer at the bar. Bar is also famous hangout for local deaf alcoholics... Reception personnel will barely speak above a whisper, and give you confused and contrasting or erroneous information.
Luckily their math is also substandard so the bill was way off - in our advantage...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mischa_zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If you want luxury then this is not for you. If however you are happy in a small chalet or a lovely tent then this is the place to be! The food is good, hearty, zero frills fine dining, if that makes sense! Service delivery cannot be faulted and it's wonderfully clean. You can do a lovely boat trip on the river and it's Maun's social hot spot. A great place to meet local people as well as tourists travelling through. I have been back twice since last November and I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auriole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streatley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

..which does not compromise on quality or atmosphere. Comfortable rooms,really good food cooked up by a super-friendly chef ( great fish and chips) and a lively and convivial bar. The setting accompanied by the jungle sounds at night is magnificent on the river bank. We enjoyed a day trip jetting up the river and being poled through the delta,magnificent vistas and lots of wildlife.
Our room was fine for the price but it could be that the bathroom facilities may need a little attention and upgrading.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Lets start with the good stuff. The bar is located on a great spot overlooking the river. Its usually busy and it is a great spot to meet people and have a good time. They serve really tasty and good food for a good price. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed there in what i called "mini" meru tents, which is in itself a perfect place to sleep. Comfortable beds though a bit short for me at least.
So far so good. For the rest the place is completely rundown. The ablution blocks (though clean) are falling apart, the doors don't close so as it happens when using the toilet someone is actually next to you doing his teeth. There is hardly any water coming from the showers as the shower heads are completely clogged (which is easily fixed and doesn't cost anything). It seems the owners have no real interest in maintaining the place which is a shame as it potentially can be a really nice place being in this location and all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hekstman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is indeed and for sure a great place. The small houses that are offered are really worth a stay. The service from the staff is nothing to complain at. Dont ever miss the organized tour in the Okavango delta. If you want more, well just catch a minibus to Maun. The evenings here are great with meals and all the sounds from the delta

http://maluti.webs.com/maune.htm
http://youtu.be/MuIoSCyhWd0
http://youtu.be/ymaHjcgrfeQ
http://youtu.be/8-LdoY65R1Y
http://youtu.be/-8tBElzHhtg

Room Tip: dont miss the tour in the delta. Try to find a chalet/house to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maun hotels
6.9 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
111 reviews
11.1 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#5 of 44 in Maun
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Safari Lodge
Island Safari Lodge
#10 of 44 in Maun
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mochaba Crossing Lodge
Mochaba Crossing Lodge
#15 of 44 in Maun
3 reviews
7.6 mi away
Maun Lodge
Maun Lodge
#9 of 44 in Maun
178 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okavango River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okavango River Lodge

Property: Okavango River Lodge
Address: on the river, Maun, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Maun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Okavango River Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low budget lodging with chalets and bedded tents with shared ablutions. Large campsite. Located on the river. Bar and Kitchen serving meals all day. Mokoro and boating excursions and Moremi day trips also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Okavango River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing