We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adam was a great guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nxamaseri Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nxamaseri Lodge
Ranked #7 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Maun
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Adam was a great guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were travelling as a family with two small children and enjoyed our stay and the chance to go fishing. Our 5 year old caught a smal tiger fish
Lodge looking a little tired in places
Good sights of crocs hippos and bird life
Certainly very secluded and beautiful setting. Go if u can.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a noisy night from the hippoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
503 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The trip from the tar road to the camp is in itself scenic and interesting. We liked to have a personal guide for the 3 days we spent here. No big animals, but plenty of birds, crocs and fish. Communal dining makes it easy to talk to other guests, however the lodge owner does not live on site, so you have to interact with managers who tend to have somewhat of a "commercial" attitude. The day trip to the Tsodilo hills was expensive and disappointing: the rock paintings are not as good as in e.g. Namibia, the bushman village is a disaster and the drive takes forever... Nxamaseri is still an excellent place to get a feel for the Okavango delta while easily accessible by car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetrottingSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Lovely lodge. Great hospitality, service and food. The bird life is fantastic. Very relaxing.
Would be even better if it was fully inclusive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teksas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is a great, simple and away-from-it-all lodge. We were there when the water was still quite high, so most of our trips were by boat. And they were great! Drifting through the reedy channels of the lagoon and through drifts of water lilies. Tried our hand at tiger fishing and also took the long and bumpy ride the sacred Tsodilo Hills. It is really worth making the trip to see the fantastic bushman art there - amazing rock paintings over 3,000 years old. Socks was a very fine guide and all the staff at the lodge were kind and helpful. The food was simple and very good. The rooms have open fronts and each one is very private with its own view of the river. They could do with a bit of updating but we understand that is underway. The communal eating/drinking/camp fire area is lovely and the simplicity of the place is what makes it special. We had it all to ourselves for 3 nights!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baobabgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

If you are a Avid birder, this is the plac 2 be.... We spotted 115 species in just 9 days. We could not do as much walking, cause of the very high water levels. But take the boat with a guide... Adam, Sox or Mr P, they have the most amazing knowledge. You can spot... Lesser Jacana, African Jacana (by the dozens) Fish Eagles, Squacco Herron, Bee-eaters, Copperytailed Coucal,Lesser Moorhen, Hornbills, Most of the Kingfishers and many, many more !!
The fishing is Superb, and the sunsets just take your breath away !!
The staff and Managent excellent, and not 2 mention the amazing home cooked meals, and home made Bread and bread rolls.
Tsodilo hills just 45 min drive, lovely outing !!
If you a nature lover and you like the outdoors...Nxamaseri Lodge is your next destination.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMazz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

We enjoyed our time immensely at this lodge but our view on the location was slightly mixed. The lodge is obviously geared toward tiger fishing in season and our time there in mid November saw us as the only visitors at the lodge. The lodge has seen better days although its location and mild quirkiness made up for this. We came to watch birds and to that end we were very pleased. Our guide during the stay was Adam who looked after us royally. Mornings and evening we took to the river either birding or fishing (unsuccessfully) and walked ashore on the islands enjoying some excellent birding particularly for waders, storks and herons of all sizes and hues. Adam took time during the day to seek out birds for us to see later on, and won our admiration by finding a rare Pels Fishing Owl for our delight.
Accommodation might not suit all. The rooms were open at the front allowing air to move freely through but requiring vigilance for both insects and monkeys. This was the end of season and it showed – perhaps a winter overhaul is needed. We had four nights here, probably one too many.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noetzielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
400 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

I stayed here for three nights to do some scuba diving in the Okavango Delta (very difficult to organize and can only be done when a film crew is around). This is the only lodge where the water is deep enough to do this and it can only be done in June/July. There are lot sof crocodiles! I had one small one leap off my porch into the river as I approached!

This is not a game lodge but they specializing in fishing and birding. It's a very welcoming comfortable lodge with non of the uber bling of some of the other lodges like Jao and Mombo. The guides are super and will do whatever you want. You can also see artifacts from the San people. Great to recharge your batteries for a few days in a peaceful setting with just sky, papryus, water, crocs, hippos and bird song. All costs and charters are included in your trip costs. The managers are super friendly and welcoming.

It's an hour's flight north west by private plane from Maun. Food is good without being fancy. I'm a vegetarian and was very happy with the healthy wholesome meals cooked.

I paid a lot (about $5000 for 3 nights), but was diving which was very hard to arrange so this probably added to the cost. I thought what I paid was a lot for what I got, but if you are fishing or birding only you will probably pay a lot less.

One of the part owners, Debbie, is an American who also runs horseback trips in Botswana if this is of interest, but the horseback trips are not run from this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maun hotels
0.0 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#4 of 44 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Island Safari Lodge
Island Safari Lodge
#10 of 44 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#23 of 44 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maun Lodge
Maun Lodge
#12 of 44 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nxamaseri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nxamaseri Lodge

Property: Nxamaseri Lodge
Address: Private Bag 23, Maun, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Maun
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing